We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best location in Rotorua”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Absolutely the best location for a stay in Rotorua, the Novotel is steps to downtown and lakeside. Only one side has lake views, but there's so much to do in and around Rotorua that we weren't in our room much anyway.

Rooms and lobby were nice, pool a bit lacking. Free internet in lobby.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    1,061
    454
    125
    37
See reviews for
691
1,092
117
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Very nice hotel. Close to lake, park, and restaurants. Most of the front staff was very helpful. Internet is free in the front lobby (two computers to use) but if you have your own computer and want to use it in the lobby (or in your room) the cost is steep.

The hotel itself was very very nice. Comparable (IMHO) to a Marriot or Hilton.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GoingSolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Our room was like any other Novotel room, so no surprises there, but we managed to book our room for NZD$99 per night - bargain! We particularly liked the free carparking, free internet access via hotel computer in the lobby and laundry facilities. The location is also very good - close to lots of restaurants and shops. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

right at the lake fron, within walking distance of major attractions

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. california
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I had a wonderful one-night stay at this hotel. The evening manager in charge was very helpful. I lost my wallet and he has gone the extra miles to help me to call the bus, and the credit card companies. Thank you Dan.
They also have 2 free internet stations, but you cannot access any bank or secure websites.
On another note, do not go to the Maori dinner/show next to the hotel. The actors on the ads are not the ones in the show. They are much older and the show is so boring. This is such a waste of 60 NZ Dollars.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruise603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Decided to stay in a hotel (due to its reasonable pricing) instead of a motel (although many motels top the list of Rotorua's accommodation).

The hotel is near eateries and facing the lake. The room was of modern design and rather spacious. The only unpleasant part of it was the dirt & hair that was stuck on the shower curtain. I couldn't get rid of it with water, so I just had to avoid touching it while bathing. Housekeeping may not be as thorough as it should be as the same dirt & hair was still there on the 2nd night.

Otherwise, it was an OK, average stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icequeenvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The Novotels location is second to none , located by the lake and next to a pedestrian street of restaurants we found walking around Rotorua easy.

We stayed in room 118 with no views to speak of but had two queen beds in a modern and clean room.

The swimming pool was small but functional and the gym was useful if you wanted to do cardio but the weights and equipment were average.

Clarkes bar was good with a pool table that kept my 2 teenagers occupied . Prices were not too high and they had a good range of hot bar snacks.

We had breakfast at 9.40 and found it average to be blunt. The bacon was cold and the selection of hot food was not what you would expect at a 4 star hotel.

They did have lots of fresh fruit and also has Miso soup and rice to cater for asian people

We paid $89.40 for the room which was a September special and found it to be excellant value at that price.

The hotel attracts lots of groups but it was run professionally and i would reccomend it to all types of travellers

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing