We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the Rotorua Novotel, all in all a great experience. Room was decently nice and despite what other posters have commented, I didnt think the Hotel was tired, just that there was nothing spectacular and felt a little bit clincal. The bed was comfy, you had a choice of different kinds of pillows even(contour, non allergenic etc) and it was nice having a couch in the room also. The blackout curtains were excellent and there was no noise at all.

We had breakfast the 2nd morning and considering we got it free with one of the nights stay, it was pretty good. My only complaint is that they did not have bagels with cream cheese!

Overall a great experience and would definately go again when we next head to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquaribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,337 - 2,343 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

We should have known better. It's a Novotel. Everything is clean, efficient, practical. But for a "lakeside" hotel, you might have expected perhaps a balcony with a lake view room, or at least windows you could open. The windows here are not designed to be opened, even when they look over the lake. Rotorua is charming and picturesque, but this hotel is neither. There is a buffet breakfast so awful, that, even though breakfast was included in our room rate, we went to a local cafe the second morning (the Lime Caffeteria - very good). Go somewhere else.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

The Novotel in Rotorua is situated in the best possible site in the City. It is walking distance from the lake and the main shopping and dining area of Tutanekai Street.

I was shown to the wrong room and walked in on another guest - he was very understanding! The reception staff were very apologetic and sent a bottle of wine to my room by way of apology. This was unnecessary but a very nice touch.

The common areas of the hotel are fine. The rooms on the other hand could benefit from a little more attention. The rooms are a little tired. The bathroom was not that clean with hair in the bath and a dirty toilet. I advised housekeeping of this and they were quick to rectify it but all in all, not a polished performance. The windows are locked (even on the first floor) and it would be lovely to be able to open these for some fresh air. The linen is old and needs to be replaced. The windows needed cleaning. On the positive side, the carpets were clean and the surfaces in the rest of the room were spotless. Additionally, it is easy to turn the refridgerator off at the wall so it doesn't keep you awake at night! The air con is quiet and can be easily adjusted.

I always dine out in Rotorua so I cannot comment on the dinner. Breakfast is a buffet and is nothing to write home about. The bread was stale and the bacon had been stewing in a serving dish. Coffee is available from an automated machine but I think it would be nice if they offered a barrista service. The hotel seems to cook buffet breakfast food in bulk, rather than serving smaller quantities more regularly. This would be a great advantage in that the food would be fresh and much more appealing. The cold choices seemed limited as well although there was a good range of cereals. For the price (NZ$26), this did NOT represent value for money. I would advise a short walk to Tutanekai Street to eat at one of the several cafes there.

The location of the Hotel is the key advantage of the Novotel and is perfect for any visitor to the City. In short, more attention to detail and some judicious changes would really increase the appeal of this property. They are resting on their laurels!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

nice location for a hotel. Rotorua is a small community. The hotel is right across the street from the water. Beautiful views. The room is basic, bed, bathroom, closet, coffee pot etc. We only stayed one night, and served the purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alb76ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

The Novotel is absolutely central to everything in downtown Rotorua - you can walk to almost anything. Check-in was easy and the rooms are well appointed, including a minibar, on-demand movies, and a very comfortable bed. The bar and restaurant seem to be popular and the front-desk was helpful to us every time we needed something. The geothermal spa looked like a great idea, but we'd both forgotten swimwear so we didn't get to use. Free parking, but no free Internet.

(FYI, there seems to be a $99 NZD Monday night deal which is worth asking about if you need to extend your stay).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JamesBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This is a typical, well functioning Novotel in a great position, close to the lake and a playground, very close to a street lined with restaurant (we tried a great Indian restaurant, excellent food and very child friendly). The pool area is small but adequate for a small child. The room and bathroom was fine, comfortable and plain, just as we like it. There was only one major drawback for us: the windows didn't open.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

An excellent value resort - school holidays & we were impressed with the little extras for the children - giveaway pack & soft toy, treasure hunt, free drink, vouchers, colouring competition... It made for a great start to our stay. With some overcast weather the indoor heated pool got a lot of use, & the lovely hot spa pool was much appreciated too - the pool complex is well laid out, with fresh fluffy towels, & private pool rooms too. Buffet breakfast was fine - good selection. The location is excellent - a 5min walk into town or to the lakefront. The Matariki hangi & concert next door at the special holiday price available through the Novotel of NZ$100 (for 2 adults & 2 children) was excellent value. Two doors down from the Novotel is a Pizza Hut (which do yummy takeaway pizzas), & there are loads of other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $137 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing