We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip Stayed 2 Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jack452014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,495)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Novotel and found the overall experience quite good. The room was quite large, we had a view of the lake and park across the road which was nice. Right near eat street for food options which was very good. On our third day we spent it mostly walking around Rotorua and checking out the lake which is so close to the hotel. The hot spring in the hotel pool area is great. The only let down we had was housekeeping. The first day we came back to our room it was made up, coffee/milk, towels refeshed,bed made etc, the second day nothing, the third day by 4pm I had to ask at reception if housekeeping would be making up our room and changing towels, coffee/milk etc. After a long day of sight seeing it is a small thing that i like to have done when i come back to the room, it is why we chose a hotel, not a motel to stay in. Apart from that, had a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear miah1978

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. I do aplogise on behalf of the housekeeping team, this is certainly not standard that we expect and will be addressed with the team.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a very mediocre hotel so I was surprised at the high ratings it got on trip advisor. The room was good sized but the bathroom fittings were old and the vents etc. were all rusty and the 2nd day the sink was all jammed. We stayed here for only 2 nights and were hardly in the hotel so it was ok but if you are staying longer I would NOT recommend this place. The only pros for this place -- an amazing friendly and knowledgeble staff (especially Lawrence who works at the front desk), right across (a few steps away) is a huge eating plaza so at night you don't have to go hunting for food and they have a self serve laundry for $2 which is open till 10 pm.

Room Tip: We did not choose a lakeview room - but the hotel is right on the lake so that may be a good idea...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Dianne P

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. At the Novotel Rotorua we strive for superior service and will be looking at the issue you have raised.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Good clean rooms. Toilets are alrite with a large wash basin. We stayed in rm 310 facing the road not the lake. Ample car park below free of charge (unlike aus). Very well located right next to 'eat street' for all the foodies and then cross over to the shopping side. The lake is on the other side just 100m away. Breakfast is a very good spread however does not change on a daily basis. Probably the large spread was to get away with having to change food on a daily basis. Recommend taking the breakfast package ($30 each without the package) if your there not for more than 3-4 days otherwise it would get boring! Free wifi in the lounge. Overall a comfortable happy experience!! Recommended to all

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NikhilPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear NikhilPat

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us at the Novotel Rotorua, your comments are most appreciated and will be passed on to the team concerned.

Regards
Ian shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 92 in Rotorua
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $124 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing