We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quite place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and quite place”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days and enjoyed this place. It is just beside the sea or lake and pizzahut. Nice, big and clean room. No free wifi :( Another downside is that the tower rack and clothes hanger on the door are rusty. Please replace them as it is disgusting to have our towers placed on the rusty tower rack. Breakfast was good with quite good variety. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Bob G

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was as memorable.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    1,061
    454
    125
    37
See reviews for
691
1,092
117
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights and have no complaints at all. The location is excellent - close to cafes and restaurants and the lake. The room was exactly what you expect from this chain of hotels, comfortable bed, large screen TV, fridge, tea and coffee (here is my only complaint - please change to filter coffee instead of instant), good shower, clean and well maintained. The staff on the front desk were very helpful and efficient, even the girl who stated that it was her first day and we would have to wait for someone else to help us made polite conversation while we waited. We did not eat in the hotel. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel room as opposed to a motel style room with cooking facilities you would not regret staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Julia T

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was as memorable.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location. Convenient for everything. Breakfast is good, the rooms are clean and roomy, but a little tired, (refurbishment is due soon), the lobby area has recently been refurbished. Only downside is the free wifi is too slow and too restricted. Like most NZ hotels they need to catch up with their client's needs with respect to wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, (odd number rooms), and 5th floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Chris P

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was as memorable.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I has a small suite was very nice. Amazing bed and wonderful pillows but there were no opening windows which I found very claustrophobic. The air con works well although was pretty noisy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was really good. Would stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmolly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Msmolly58

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, with regards to the windows we find that due to the sulphurous smell that is prevalent at times in Rotorua due to the geothermal activity, the most comfortable option for our guests is to seal the windows and rely on air conditioning for ventilation.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent location and friendly. service. The rooms where very clean. The buffet breakfast had a good food selection and was open early to accomodate groups. However the public areas amenities are in need of repair. Lobby seatings are worn and shaby. Carpets need replacement and public wi-fi is not up to demand.

Room Tip: look for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Julian S

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, we will however look into the aspect of your review that you mentioned in order to improve our product offering.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location! The lake and area restaurants are an easy walk from the hotel. I paid to upgrade to a "lake view" room and feel it was worth the extra expense. If you are on a budget, the Ibis Hotel is directly next door, so you get the same great location for less. That said, the Novotel's hallway carpet outside the rooms needs shampooing and the pool area is dark, smelly and unappealing. It needs sliding windows or an openable roof structure to get some light and fresh air in there. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Rotorua.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lake-view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Julian S

Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us, guest feedback both the good and the bad is a vital aspect of our business. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, we will however look into the aspect of your review that you mentioned in order to improve our product offering.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here with 3 of my friends. Hotel has got really nice views and excellent location. A minute walk to best eateries in rotorua. But such a big hotel doesn't have valet parking? Even the air conditioning in the room wasn't good enough. But overall good experience.

If you decide to stay here please make sure u don't go for breakfast in hotel. It was one of the most terrible breakfast buffet I have seen.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Likhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Likhil,

Thank you for your review. While as a 4.5 star Hotel we don't offer valet parking, we do offer free parking for our guests. I have passed your comments on to the Chef as we have been working hard on improving the breakfast, including adding a full Asian breakfast and gluten free range of items, as well as the standard Egg Chef - cook to order omelettes, poached or fried eggs.

Thank you for your comments

Fraser McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing