We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Nearby Hotels
$132
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollo Hotel Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$743
$530
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,676)
Filter reviews
2,677 results
Traveler rating
828
1,159
504
137
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
1,159
504
137
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseat streetgreat locationatlas restaurantlake viewjunior suitebuffet dinnerrestaurants and barsthermal poolsfree internetnew zealandcomfortable staypolynesian spaaccorlakesidegymlakeviewcomputers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,408 - 1,413 of 2,677 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here with a works do and very happy with the room and facilities available, bar stayed open late after our works do had finished so it was good to catch up with other staff before off to bed, good breakfast available and included in the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

It’s so great to read how our guests can enjoy the amenities and benefits during their time with us – whether for business or leisure.

Thank you so much for your kind review!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Rotorua.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Love it when you rock up to the reception to check-in and are told we been upgraded to an executive suite. Finally my Accor membership paid dividends. The suite itself was great - on the top floor over two levels with the best views out onto the lake. Very spacious rooms, Bath fit for royalty and excellent amenities. Room service was prompt and the food was great.
The only downside to our visit was finding a place to park as there happened to be a convention at that time. Had to park on the streets the second day of our stay.
Having said that, we tremendously enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again if we are to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Wow, we certainly appreciate your 10/10 review!

Thank you for mentioning your Accor membership and privileges. I am so glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. Fantastic.

Thanks again very much and kind regards to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel and Novotels frequently .Like so many properties in Rotorua, there is a desperate need for refurbishment with aging ,tiring plant. The Novotel has kept up maintenance but the service has slipped considerably.Front desk is v good. No Sky movies on the tv as they want you to buy the movies. There is a paucity of information about hotel facilities and PRICES.
They have on screen info instead of an in room compendium.
The room toiletries are limited..no shower hats,sewing kit,vanity kit or shoe shine
The food at the restaurant was a bit bland but when I spied Tattinger on the wine list at $89 I was in!
Alas, various stories..was out of stock,we've got it but it's not cold...10 mins in a nice bucket would have fixed that. The probably truth...it was misprinted so withdrawn and would I like Brancott at $45 ...I don't think so
Then a trip to the bar for a consolation cocktail which took 12 min in a pretty empty bar as 3 staff dealt with an complaint over a bill
It's a real pity to see what was an excellent hotel falling into slackness
The staff are nice so it is clearly a problem of management and staff training and expectation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to convey your comments and detailed review.

There is never an excuse for providing anything less than a perfect stay.
Please be assured that we continually work hard to ensure each stay meets our guest’s expectations.

I am very sorry and disappointed to read that we let you down and sincerely apologise for this.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was lakeside, and I was not disappointed. Staff are very friendly, great range of services provided. I found the staff very helpful with regards to attractions and to be able to get the most out of my visit. Massage service was excellent. Room service was brilliant. Great attention to detail

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with lakeside view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and for taking your time to review us.

We appreciate you commenting on our friendly team and amenities.

Your recommendation is very valuable and we are grateful – thank you!

I hope you manage to visit us again.

Thanks and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Don't judge this hotel by its lobby. When you get to your room you will be happy. They are nicely decorated and highly functional. Best bed ever, clean and spacious bathroom, safe, desk, nice size closet and if you want a lake view.
Don't hesitate to order rooms service. It comes from the restaurant next door and the food was great. The tomato soup, pork tenderloin and cheesecake are all delicious.
Front desk is very helpful. Both Ricky and Scott took care of all our needs.
Book here if you want a great location, nice room, comfy bed, nice indoor pool and great service.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lsarrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks for letting everyone know that we are a comfortable and clean property in a great location with great service!

Your feedback is very important to us.

I am so glad we managed to tick all the boxes and that we contributed to making your stay a memorable one!

Thank you very much and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews