We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but bathroom looking tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed a night here a few weekends back. The location is great - close to a strip with some lovely restaurants and it's also close to the lake with large grounds and play areas too. Our room was perfectly fine - the bed was comfy and the decor nice. The bathroom is the only thing that jutted out as being in need of an update. But overall, good place to stay!

Room Tip: If you pay little more you can get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heresmythoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

We are so glad you too found our location convenient.

I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nmurdoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hooch81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We'd stayed at the Novotel before as a family and it had been fine so I decided to book again with my son for a 3 night school holiday treat. The BIG bonus they had for me was their location, being easy walking distance to Eat Street where all the restaurants are and also being on the right side of Rotoura for the activities we wanted to do during our stay. My son is also ASD so copes better away from home in places he has been before.

Things started out OK when a mix up with my booking was quickly sorted when I phoned on the day of our scheduled check-in.

However, it was only at arrival that it was noted I'd requested a room on the upper floors & away from the lifts (my son is a light sleeper) despite booking a good month ahead. The lady on reception spent a bit of time seeing what was available & was just about to hand me keycards for a room on the 4th floor when, what I can only assume was a senior member of staff, came out of the back office to tell her that she had already allocated the room. It took a while to get the computer systems to unbook us from that room and re-allocate us a room on the 1st floor. Up to the room we go and we find the door propped open, a member of staff wearing a face mask with a vacuum doing I think what he said was a 'deep clean'. He quickly vacated and we got settled in. However it wasn't exactly far from the lift lobby and was only a few doors away from the guest laundry. None of this was major as I'm fairly easy going, but, it wasn't a good first impression either.

Later in the evening when I went to turn down my bed I discovered there was a sheet missing between the mattress & the duvet. I tried ringing both housekeeping & reception with no answer so had to physically go down to reception. The issue was resolved quickly as somebody from housekeeping brought me a sheet within minutes of me returning to our room. However, I then ended up having to basically re-make my bed. Housekeeping would have done it but my son was getting ready for bed and I didn't want to upset him prior to sleep.

As kids ate free with adults I'd decided to breakfast in the hotel despite the cost (still don't understand why Fri morning was $34.50 but Sat & Sun $30?). On the plus side the chef cooking the eggs was friendly & efficient on each of the 3 mornings we were there & my poached eggs were cooked to perfection. We also didn't have any issues getting a table despite the hotel being full. On the down side the sausages & bacon are poor quality given the cost of the full breakfast. Also, on the 1st morning the flat white I ordered (for an additional $4.00) did not turn up and I had to go back to the dining room reception to chase it up. By the time it got to me it was far from hot but I wasn't prepared to wait for another one.

On each evening of our stay I spent some time in the bar, on each occasion the bar staff were friendly & efficient. They happily put the big screen up with the Warriors game on too. The bar menu looked to have a good variety of choices and although I didn't try it personally several other guests did and appeared to enjoy it.

My son & I also spent time in the swimming pool each evening. Its fine for relaxing & to keep kids entertained but don't expect to be able to do laps as its a kidney shaped and not very big. The two free hot pools next to the swimming pool were lovely but not very big so when the pool was busy it was often hard to get a turn. I did consider having a massage but at $80 for 30mins it was too expensive!

Wifi - there is free Wifi access in the lobby and plenty of comfy seats to sit on BUT its limited to 30mins or 8MB. For a days access I think it cost something like $30.00 There are also two complimentary Mac computers with internet access available to guests in the lobby area however during our stay there were often occupied by children playing games.

All in all the Novotel is a perfectly adequate hotel the rooms are a bit old fashioned but have always been clean. I also find the aircon/heating systems in the rooms somewhat noisy. Unfortunately I just can't help comparing it with the Stamford Plaza in Auckland where I have also recently stayed for the same rate (but got free unlimited Wifi, late checkout and full breakfast including. They also have a much better pool & fitness area), the Novotel is sadly lacking in comparison.

Room Tip: If you can AVOID rooms #124 - 120 as they are very close to the guest laundry which can be quite noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1970AJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear 1970AJB,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Hotel. I apologise that you encountered the issues reported. I am understandably concerned that your bed was not made properly - this would be a base expectation - and will investigate this with the Housekeeper and room attendants.

We would welcome your return to the Hotel, and are pleased that it is a place that your son can feel welcome.

Thank you
Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Relaxedagain_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Boozy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JagmanV8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $133 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing