We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Mangawhai, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The restaurant”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were very pleased with the service and the location of this hotel however we were extremely disappointed in the restaurant for the dinner and breakfast. It just was not up to scratch with the other accor hotels we have stayed at. The meal was less than satisfactory and really needs to be looked at seriously.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank keke3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I apologise that you had a disappointing experience in the restaurant.

We are glad to announce the appointment of our new Restaurant & Bar Manager. He will focus on staff training and the introduction of our new and exciting menu options, for which we have already received great feedback.

I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    1,068
    458
    126
    38
See reviews for
698
1,098
117
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We love Rotorua for a getaway from Auckland and stay at Novotel to soak in the thermal pools in the hotel.Everything is so handy,restaurant, pools,parking, the Lake and just up the street to go shopping Novotel is always our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank trish2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
I am so glad to hear your stay with us never disappoints.

Looking forward having you back when visiting Rotorua next.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Negatives of our stay:

- biggest annoyance was hotel not honouring the advertised offer of 'stay for 3 nights - only pay for 2'. We had to pay the full 3 nights, even though I booked through a TripAdvisor offer that indicated that we'd only need to pay for 2 nights. That offer also appears widespread on any Google search and on the Accor website! I queried the staff at checkout about having to pay for 3 nights, but they were understaffed and had long queues of customers also waiting to check out, so the staff just put on their best 'confused face' as if they were unfamiliar with the offer, and said someone from reservations would follow up. One week later there has been no follow up. Come on Accor/Novotel - if you are going to advertise pricing of 'Stay 3 nights, pay for 2' then please honour it.

- The room was $269 a night. For that price, I didn't like having a shower over the bath, with a wet, clingy shower curtain as part of the deal.

- An old chestnut...the room was too hot - in June! - , and the air conditioning didn't seem to cool the room down. Naturally it was far too hot all night, and made for three nights of disturbed sleep.

- some of the furnishings in the room are old and tired

- housekeeping didn't stock up on tea/coffee

- tv reception poor, and limited range of tv channels. Seems quaint in this day of HD broadcasts, and hundreds of tv channels.
- didn't eat in the hotel - it didn't look very appealing. Instead at at Lime cafe/caffeteria for breakfasts, and Bistro 1284/Regent hotel for dinner. And of course Okere Falls Store for lunches.

- Didn't use the pools - too dirty; probably because of heavy use over the weekend. Instead made use of the much more pleasant Blue Baths nearby.
Positives:

- I liked having a larger corner room that had great views out over the lake. A huge positive.

- the was an Nespresso espresso machine in the room that was nice to be able to make coffee from. However housekeeping weren't familiar with them, so we had to chase up getting extra coffee 'pods/capsules', as housekeeping didn't stock them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kzw4nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear KZW4NC,

Please contact me directly - sorry your TA name doesn't tell us whom you are - and if we have failed to honour a confirmed 3 for 2 booking I will refund your entire stay. At Accor & Novotel, we stand behind our offers and desire for our guests to enjoy their stays at our Hotels. From the rate mentioned, you strayed in one of our Corner king suites. I'm glad you enjoyed the nespresso machine, a recent addition to the suites.

Perhaps try the breakfast on your next visit - all full price breakfasts include espresso coffees - as I believe you'll find that not only do we offer a superior selection, but also after your omelette cooked to order, fresh fruit, juices and perhaps a fresh baked muffin, we represent great value for our guests and casual diners.

Thank you
Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary in Rotorua and stayed at Novotel. It was also Queen birthday weekend therefore a lot of tourists around this area. Location of this hotel is very convenience to any tourist attractions, and it's very central.

One thing we were a bit dissapointed this time while stayed at this hotel (we came to Rotorua on March this year as well and stayed at Novotel) was short staffs during this long weekend. We decided to have dinner at the hotel's restaurant (Atlas Restaurant) and four of us were really hungry (after a 1 1/2 hr swimming at hotel's indoor swimming pool). We waited for our dishes to come after a long 1 hr wait.. Kids were starving and kept asking when our meals was going to come. We saw not just our table hasn't got dishes out, but other table who came way earlier than us who still waiting for their dishes. We wondered what was going on to the kitchen. I saw waitress were serving not just restaurant's customers, as well as bar's customers, and I assumed that there were in room service as well. I saw the waitress just running in and out the restaurant, to the bar side.. And no staff at the front counter to serve incoming customers or someone who wanted to settle their dinner of that night. Obviously the restaurant side was lacking staffs.
After we waited a long hour, kids' dishes and our garlic bread finally out. And then, we waited for another 1 hour before our 2 main courses to be arrived. My duck was overcooked and my husband's beef was underseasoned. I didn't bother to ask to replace another new dish because of overcooked duck, I just didn't want to wait any longer to finish my dinner of that night.
Overall, not a pleasant stay this time, if compare to our last stay when was in March. The mid winter buffet was not a pleasant buffet, I was quite dissapointed, if compare to normal international buffet (we tasted it on our first stay)
The beds are soft, and one side already bended side down, must be seating too much on it. But the hotel's indoor swimming pool and thermal spa pool is one reason to keep us coming back next time if coming to Rotorua again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AngelaLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would really appreciate if you copuld let me know what room you stayed in, as the beds have recently been replaced, so there must be an issue with the room you stayed in for the bed to dip like that, and I would like to replace it. My apology that you should have encountered this issue - Housekeeping would not have picked it up, as while they service the rooms & beds, they don't sit on them so would not notice it!

I do apologise for your dining experience over the long weekend. I was not made aware of any issues at the time, but have subsequently been informed that we did have sick-calls over this period - we normally staff up over long weekends due to demand. It is certainly not an excuse and should not affect our guests interaction and service levels. My apology for this drop in service standard. We have reviewed this and I am now confident that the team are aware and confident that they can call any number of the team to assist, should this happen again - this is why we have 24hr management presence at the Hotel.

Thank you for your review and comments.

Fraser McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is located in heart of town, nothing is far from there. Everything you need is at walking distance. They also have every facility you can imagine of like spa, swimming pool extra. I highly recommend staying here. Awesome food options available 24hrs at room service. Sleep nightover menu is something you can order throughout the night if you feel hungry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hash_Sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Kia ora and thank you for sharing your experience.

It is fantastic to receive such lovely feedback.
I was delighted to read that our facilities and location were excellent.

Thank you also for highlighting our 24 hour room service food options.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our airconditioning was not working correctly and it was fixed immediately we informed them. The restaurant was fantastic the food and service excellent. The only minor complaint would be that the tea and coffee making facilities were insufficient for a family with children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jwinspear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your compliments are appreciated – thank you very much.

Please feel free to let us know if you have any special requests or need any replenishments for your room. Our helpful team would have been more than happy to assist.

I am so glad to see you enjoyed our Atlas Restaurant too!

Thank you for your support.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

budget hotel. gud and clean one. vry peaceful. 50 metres away from lake. morning and evening wallks r highly recmnded.food at the hotel was just ok.pizza hut and bunch of other good eatreys r near by.brake fast was wide spread buffet. not much for vegetarins.not many things to do at hotel. spa and pool r fine.

Room Tip: lake facing r surely btter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punu_jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are delighted that you found our location convenient.
Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing