We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long weekend in Rotorua”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Novotel Rotorua Lakeside was perfect for a weekend away.
On check-in, we were upgraded to a lake view room which proved to be a corner room on the second floor giving great view over the nearby reserve and Lake Rotorua.
The hotel is close to the 'restaurant end' of town where a walk of no more than 100 metres sees you in the midst of at least a dozen eateries.
We returned to the hotel late on Saturday night for dessert and coffee and despite the full dinner buffet being on offer at $52 in the main Atlas Restaurant, we were offered just the dessert buffet at $15 per person. Brilliant.
On another day, we returned to the hotel mid afternoon and had tapas at Clarke's Bar. Great choices and the scallops dish and the squid dish were superb.
Happy hour in Clarke's Bar "5 at 5" - $5 house drinks from 5pm - 6pm (or $10 cocktails).
Buffet breakfast could not be faulted when compared to similar experiences at similar hotels.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are what they say but the facilities on the other side are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1W1couple12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read your positive comments.

It is always pleasing to hear how our guest’s get to enjoy and experience our Atlas Restaurant and Clarke's Bar - fantastic!

We are proud to offer great service and comfortable rooms - it was good to read we succeeded.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks again and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    1,057
    451
    125
    37
See reviews for
690
1,089
115
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and the bed was great however breakfast was $30 per head and much of the cooked food was cold and we needed to pay $20 to have a thermal spa. The location is great - our room had views over the lake and the reception staff were very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank WagenerHolidayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review KiwiKeith15.

I was disappointed to read that some of your breakfast was cold - my apologies. To help in this area we have the egg chef stationed on the buffet at all times during breakfast, so it is disappointing to read this.

The private pools are $20 per half hour (for up to four bathers), however the geothermal pool in the public swimming area is free of charge, as are the sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool.

Thank you for your review and comments.

Fraser McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, from the moment I walked into the hotel I was welcomed by staff. Normally I am a picky traveller , but I cannot fault this hotel. My room was great, I had a view of the park area. The bed was fantastic, I normally struggle to sleep in strange beds. The guest facilities great also, one of the rare hotels that has laundry facilities where you can wash and dry your clothes. Really affordable at $2nz per load and that included the wash powder. The thermal spa was delightful, they also had an inside pool, spa and saunas complimentary for you to relax in. Best hotel stay I have had for a long time. Well done Novotel , and so close to main centre less than 200metres. Nice places to eat, lovely park / lake to walk around

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank FortuneofWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your fantastic review.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our ‘Gem’ in Rotorua!

Thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Novotel Lakeside in Rotorua had excellent service right from check in through to checking out. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The beds are extremely comfortable ensuring a great night sleep.
Being at the hotel for a conference, staff were attentive and kept clearing which was appreciate.
The venue is a very good location for conferences as it is walking distance to the central business district.
Well done Novotel Lakeside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Happygeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments.

The team at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside enjoyed reading your feedback as they take great pride in their individual contributions to hosting a great guest stay.

Your review and appreciation of our conferencing facilities and service is appreciated.

Thanks and regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay with family. An ideal place to meet up with family from around the North Island. Excellent hotel for families as central to playgrounds restaurants hot pools and other tourist attractions in Rotorua.
We come here to the Novetel quite regularly for this reason. Maybe the only comment would be my daughter arrived on her own with two small children and a lot of luggage and could have done with some help from staff with her luggage otherwise staff very polite and helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sally_519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your continued support for our Hotel.
I am glad your family enjoyed our convenient location.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,NZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really enjoyed the facilities, great hot pool and hot tubs, excellent food, 3 lifts makes it quick to get to your room, excellent location, close to the city nightspots. It was ideal for our company conference.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake instead of the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience.

I am so glad we had an opportunity to host your company’s conference in Rotorua.
Your appreciation of our facilities and excellent location is very pleasing to read.

Thank you very much.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a gift voucher to use in any Accor hotel in NZ, so we used some credit to stay at the Mercure Rotorua but used the balance to dine at the Novotel in their restaurants.
The staff at the Novotel could not be faulted on their attention to us day after day. Anna (on front desk), Ryan (Atlas restaurant), Darian and David (Clarke's bar) were all exceptional in their service and an absolute pleasure to dine with. The food was delicious and the freedom of choice between dining venues (bar/restaurant) was a great idea and helped us immensely.

Room Tip: The buffet breakfast is well worth the cost - best selection we have ever seen! Glueten free options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your positive review.

It is nice to know that the genuine positive behaviour of our team is noticed.
Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with everyone.

We hope to see you back at the Novotel Rotorua very soon.
Thanks for your support!

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing