We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for the Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Last minute booking so more expensive than an advance booking which was annoying. However, good location and parking and a cut above most Rotorua accomodation; friendly staff and good gym/spa/thermal pool complex. Quiet and a good night's sleep. Popular with tour groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us.

A good night’s sleep is very important and I am glad we were able to deliver on this occasion.

Thanks again and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    1,028
    443
    122
    35
See reviews for
671
1,070
114
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff and check-in/out was stress free. The room and bed extremely comfortable. Perfect location close to everything. Only downside is lack of parking. You can end up parking streets away. We will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 19Gaz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for highlighting our friendly and helpful staff.
We are proud of our team and glad they contributed to making your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Close to everything. Good service. Pool area a bit small. Rooms have good view and confortable. Restaurant and bar area good. Food pricing about average. Although it was nice to eat at the very good local restaurants and support them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Karyn2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I hope you enjoyed the popular Rotorua Marathon - What a fantastic event!

I hope we get to welcome you and your family back to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location and mineral pools to soak aching bones and muscles after and event
which are held regularly in Rotorua.
Love the new African buffet theme dinner on Friday and Saturday nights.
Staff very helpful and willing to please your every need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 112Rockshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Your review is truly appreciated.

Thank you for mentioning our themed buffet dinner and how you enjoyed it.

We are now offering a Mid Winter Christmas Buffet which has also proven to be a popular choice for our guests and local diners.

Kind regards to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good hotel in good location right by lake and restaurants with plenty of parking. Enjoyed the spa and swimming pool. The reason I scored the hotel average was that the breakfast was poor. We paid $30 each for a cooked breakfast. The chef did cook a poached egg for me which was good, but the bacon was tough and dry; we both chose the only muffin available which was dry and neither of us could eat; no fresh fruit available. I think if we hadn't paid $30 we would have found the rest of what was available acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sharon W,

I do apologise for your breakfast experience. I am concerned that you did not get fresh fruit on the buffet for your breakfast, as our expectation is a minimum of 3 cut fruit platters on the buffet at any one time, and a full selection of stewed and preserved fruits - as well as two yoghurt and the gluten/dairy free selection. Coupled with the Danish, breads and eggs to order from our egg cook, we have seen a huge improvement in the quality and breakfast experience. Obviously on this morning we did not follow-through on our service promise and I apologise for this. I will personally follow up with the Chef and the Restaurant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff at the front desk were all very welcoming and professional as were the staff in the restaurant. Great breakfast wasnt hundry all day and enjoyed the happy hour each evening. The view isnt half bad either, lots to see and do around Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ExEltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is fantastic to read that you all started your day with a 'great breakfast'.
You are right - Rotorua has a lot to enjoy, see and do!

We look forward to welcoming your family back to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

As we have family in Rotorua we fly in from Australia two or three times each year, We always stay at the Novotel for several nights each visit. We have been so many times that the management, desk staff, restaurant supevisors, waiters and chefs welcome us and take care of us. The hotel folk never disappoint us. the location is handy to the lake, the Gardens, shops and eateries. The rooms have varied from good to wonderful, meals likewise. Its a happy place, from management down. We'll be back later this year. That says it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lyngrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Guest Relations at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your support and taking the time to share your comments.

We are very pleased to hear that you again enjoyed your stay at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.
Glad to hear your stay with us never disappoints.

Looking forward having you back later this year!

Warm regards from your Kiwi friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#8 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing