We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Lakeside is a quiet, comfortable hotel. It is located conveniently to the lake and all the shops and attractions in central Rotorua. The hotel provides good facilities and I recommend it totally.
There is good, safe parking and though the lobby is not sumptuous it is welcoming and there is plenty of space when arriving and leaving. Check-out is a breeze.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DekPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hotel!

Regards
Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

had a great time as usual great service with a friendly staff. great pools as part of the hotel and a wonderful restaurant. We had the extra fun of a free concert and fireworks display on the Saturday night would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank koshlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor readers!

Regards
Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a good place to stay because of the proximity to Eat Street, the large car park and the decent sized room. The one thing that lets it down in my opinion is the pokey swimming pool. In virtually every other Novotel I have stayed in, the pool is excellent and ideal when you have a young family and you have just driven a long way. The pool here is really just a big bath and a few hot pools. The concept of "Family and Novotel" is lacking here. The buffet breakfast is excellent as usual but seemed to cater too much for oriental tastes - fine because this seems to be the hotel's main clientele with large bus loads of people being accommodated in the hotel. For a more authentic Kiwi experience, you may need to look elsewhere

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robg721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Robg721,

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay, and endorsement of Novotel Rotorua as a great place to stay with a family. Yes - we would love to have a larger pool, but one can only assume that when building the hotel, the decision to incorporate 5 geothermal pools (unique to Rotorua in NZ) and a Jacuzzi along with the swimming pool probably limited the size.

As a Hotel providing for international clients such as yourself, we are proud to be able to provide breakfast to cater for all nationalities - from the traditional bacon and eggs (any way you like) with sausages, hash browns/potatoes and mushrooms, to pancakes, fresh fruits, mueslis, continental meats & cheeses, Danish and breads, as well as 4 breakfast items for our Asian guests. We have also more recently included a more comprehensive gluten free area as we see the expectation to provide this option increase.

We are always open to suggestions to increase our offering or amend it as our clientele expectation or desires change.

Thank you for your comments.

Fraser McKenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with hubby on a short driving holiday around North Island NZ. Fantastic location in city centre. Convenient free guest parking, walk 200 metres to lake edge in one direction or stroll past restaurants and shops in the other direction.
Stayed in a king suite with lake views. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Buffet breakfast included in our room rate. Good hot and cold choices with omelette/egg station for individual orders. Dinner choice in same restaurant is buffet or a-la-carte. Buffet includes good hot and cold choices, chef on standby to cook steak or fish plus great range of desserts.
Good relaxation and fitness facilities - gym, small pool plus public or private thermal hot baths/spas. We were thrilled with this as we were planning on driving to a thermal bath/spa during our time here.
We were just lucky that there was a concert in the park across the road on this particular weekend with some excellent local talent and amazing fireworks.
Only negative comment is that this hotel does not have any written information about the hotel in the room. Upon contacting reception we were told that this information was available on our TV. One of the first things I usually do is read about each hotel's facilities when we first check in. I am very much in favour of moving with the times but I believe hard copy reading of information about the hotel is a must.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in a king suite. I would suggest that a high floor with lake view would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. We have worked hard - and continue to - on our breakfast as the first meal of the day, and often the last for guests in the Hotel.

The decision to move to soft-copy of our in-house facilities and room service menu was one we agonised over. The decision clincher was our commitment to the environment - with our menus changing every quarter and update of facilities, there was an inordinate amount of waste to be recycled every couple of month. Having the information on the screen allows us to update in real time which is also a benefit.

We have also looked at where we position the notice that the information is on the TV now, as we had found a number of guests didn't see it on first glance - this is a work in progress!

Thank you for your comments, I'm sure the Trip Advisor followers will find them enlightening.

Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Within easy walk to many points of interest.
Good cafe's a short walk away.
Staff very friendly and quick with registration and check out.
The woman in the Beauty Clinic went out of her way to be helpful, and phoned back to our room with extra information.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deadfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Deadfox,

Thank you for your comments and great review of the spa attended - I shall make sure that the comment is passed to them directly, although I know they read the reviews as often as I do myself!

Regards
Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great place to stay. We stopped in here for the night on our way to Tauranga. The hotel is near the waterfront and right at the foot of the city center. The room was fresh and modern with two beds (both double) and good air-con. We tried the lovely heated pool with the added bonus of (I think) 5 mineral spas. We tried one and it was divine. Unfortunately we didn't dine here we chose to venture out and ended up having a poor experience at Ambrosia just a few meters up from the hotel, so we can't really comment on the food. However, we did have a few drinks at the bar before heading out to town and they were reasonably priced drinks for Rotorua. For families, well the hotel is very spacious so I'd say it is child friendly although, if my memory serves me right I'm pretty sure the sign on the pool said no children/adults only because of the spa facility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Arihia M,

Thank you for your feedback and great comments. Yes, we are known as a Family Friendly Hotel and have many visitors over the vacation periods! The pool sign indicates that all children must be accompanied and supervised by an adult at all times - for their safety and the comfort of other guests - at Novotel, we welcome children and families!

Try Atlas Restaurant on your next visit - I know that you will be really happy with your dining experience!

With regards
Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this very ordinary hotel with view of the parking lot. Only hotel on our 3 week tour that did not have a view! Hotel was in need of repair. Carpet was dirty and it just looked like it needed to be upgraded throughout. It is a good location near a walking area with lots of restaurants and shops and after seeing the looks of other hotels in Rotorua, this may be one of the best. Rotorua needs a better hotel!!!!

Breakfast was good. Buffet plus chef cooked items. They had some items we had not come across before: rice pudding, kiwi juice, but the selection of fruits was slim. Compared with other hotels on our tour....this was ordinary.

Others on tripadvisor note that they had views. If you stay here, make sure you get one. The parking lot was not exciting to look at.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Hawxylady,

I appreciate your taking the time to write your review. I understand that your room was selected as part of a group tour, which specify certain room types, include those that overlook the central Rotorua district, rather than the lake view rooms.

We understand that this is not always preferred by our guests, so more often than not we are able to offer an upgrade on request to the high demand view rooms for a small fee. This is a great option for those whom are staying for an extended period.

Thank you for your review.

Fraser McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
275 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $134 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing