We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed one night on an 11-night tour of the North Island, booking a Junior Suite King Bed Lake View on an Accor Member Super Sale plus breakfast. The room was a decent size on the top floor with a great view over the lake, fairly quiet and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed wasn't as comfy for a Junior Suite as we'd been expecting and the pillows could be improved, but we slept well enough. Breakfast was fine, no problems or complaints. On the afternoon of arrival we raced up Te Puia Maori cultural centre and thermal valley and paid for entry fee, guided tour and a Cultural Evening and Hangi, all of which we really enjoyed, and the Hangi buffet was just great! Rotorua has plenty to see and we wished we'd allowed more time. The nearby Government Gardens are worth a visit and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longplannedholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. As an Advantage Plus member, the card rates represent fantastic value and do prompt many of the members to upgrading to our suite room types. As a keen supporter of Rotorua, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our geothermal wonderland!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The room was adequate and clean. The staff was pleasant. We were there for New Year's Eve and had a room with a view of the lake. It was great to watch the fireworks in our pajamas. The swimming pool was small but there was a jacuzzi with thermal water which was nice. Also two saunas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatima58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Fatima58,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel over New Years' Eve. The double fireworks display (9pm & midnight) was quite spectacular - we are fortunate to be the only Hotel on the waterfront to take advantage of it!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was our third stay at this hotel after two stays here in 2008 and 2009. We stayed for 4 nights this time in a standard room.

Right upon arrival, we changed the room twice: the first room we were given was unbearably noisy due to small children in the adjacent room, the second one had a smell like cigarette smoking. After all, we got a room on the 1st floor which was fine and very clean.

We did the Saturday evening buffet at the restaurant –lots of seafood (not for us, we are vegetarians), but also a quite good variety of cold and warm vegetarian dishes and an amazing dessert buffet including coffee. Unfortunately, the large restaurant hall lacked ambience as it was obviously re-designed a bit in comparison to our last stays and we felt it to be too cold in there (air-conditioning). But all in all, we really enjoyed our evening due to the buffet.

There is a bar next to the restaurant where you can order smaller dishes like potato wedges or fries, but also dishes from the restaurant menu (not the buffet, but the normal menu), but we never did as we felt the bar area to be run-down and not very clean. The lobby is also not inviting for sitting, nor are other parts of the public areas in the ground floor.

Taken together: the room was good (windows cannot be opened!), the buffet at the restaurant was great, but other public areas are a bit run-down and uninviting. If you can cope with the latter, a good place for a stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. I will admit that the comments are a bit disconcerting as the lobby and public areas have just completed (Jan'13) a thorough renovation, with new carpets, feature lighting, window covering and a more intimate style seating areas. Should have, and possibly this was the case, your review be generated by a stay late last year I would agree with your synopsis, as this was the reason for our change of 'look' and 'feel' in the public areas, of which we are very proud.

I look forward to your return and for you to experience our new environment!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Location is good, service was great, staff was coordial and helpfull. My room had a great view of the lake, but the room felt cramped up and very small for a superior room. Breakfast was good. Concierge desk was not resourcefull. Overall it was an average experience whilst my stay in rotorua novotel. Didnt get the feeling of this hotel being a good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoghRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear AmoghRM,

We have had a renewed focus on our Guest experience around the role of concierge and assisting guests with the local attractions, so your comments from your January stay were very topical and take to heart by myself and the team. I apologise that there appeared to be a disjoint in our concierge service, and trust that you will see a turnaround on your next visit to Novotel Rotorua.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had no expectations. I had rung from Auckland and the night manager (a lovely mature woman)was so helpful in making our reservation and giving tips for our drive down. We were greeted warmly and the car lot was easily assessable. Our room, though not plush, was very clean and comfortable. Sure some want everything to be updated as soon as it begins to show age, but realistically every hotel can't be updated to keep up with new hotels. The bar had a happy hour and the cheerful manager had a few special bottles of wine he was clearing from the cellar. I had the most beautiful Pinot Grigio-still remember it. The hotel is very close to the main eat street, and during our visit there was love music and the street was closed to traffic to accommodate more tables. A great evening. Oh, talk about service. I called to ask for a firmer pillow, and within 5 minutes the lovely night deskman was at my door. So don't worry about appearances; enjoy the lovely staff and the location!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaKayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear LindaKay,

Thank you for a wonderful review of the teams service, and your enjoyment of the Hotel.
I trust you enjoyed the rest of your NZ break.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in the junior suite with a lovely lake view. Sadly, that was the only good thing about the room. The 1st thing we noticed was that our air conditioner was not working and instead of offering a far more comfortable room, the gave us a fan which was falling apart. They tried to 'fix' it but the room was still disgustingly hot with the air conditioner at full blast. Ended up with 2 fans. Then comes the bed, the fold out bed had springs falling off it and with 2 children under 3, I believe that is a health hazard and should have failed its safety inspection. Upon closer inspection, we found corners of the windows covered with spiders, with dusty window sills. Disappointing. Wait there's more. The shower had no consistency. I nearly burnt myself when the warm shower just turned boiling hot suddenly, then icy cold. We initially decided to forget our awful stay at this hotel until we found out that the hotel had charged our credit card for no reason at all. We are still chasing up for answers and a refund but the staff had no knowledge on how to resolve this. Incompetent!

Novotel Rotorua, you should be ashamed of yourself. Your star status should be stripped completely as you have not kept up to the Novotel standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WP337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear WP337,

I do apologise for the issues you experienced, some of which were beyond the ability of the team to satisfy at the time, but other areas that should have been attended to during your stay, which have now been addressed. Both the a/c and the sofa bed issues have been actioned in the room you stayed, with new sofa beds being placed throughout the Hotel.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location was great -- near a fun street for embibing and eating. The hotel lobby and rooms were stark and lacking in warmth.

The staff was very professional, very pleasant but when asked for advice, they directed me to a wall of brochures.

Internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank striderforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Striderforth,

Thank you for your review. I have used your comments with the team to demonstrate opportunities to engaged our guests - I do apologise they did not take this opportunity, but believe that when you return, you'll note quite a difference!

Thank you
Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $137 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing