We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Great service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. It's across the street from a park and the lake. We didn't pay for a "lake view" room but yet we did have a nice view of the lake so that was a nice surprise. Marie, the booking agent we spoke with at the hotel was very kind and accommodating in switching the date of our reservation to accommodate us. Lovely, clean, quiet facilities. Just across the road from restaurant row so we didn't need a designated driver to go out for meals/pubs which was nice. The pillows could have been a higher quality though and my partner found the bed to be too firm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianKeyesFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our swimming pool and the breakfast buffet.
We hope to see you again on your next travels to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,061
    452
    125
    37
See reviews for
691
1,090
117
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June last year while travelling around North Island and had a wonderful time. We were only going to stay for 2 nights but loved it so much extended our stay to 3. The staff were helpful, beds comfortable, breakfast nice and the price was fantastic.

We were close to all the interesting things, walking distance to the town shops and across the park from a fantastic day spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprila070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I really appreciate the time you have taken to write this positive review.
It is always a pleasure to read reviews from our returning guests.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and our facilities.
Thank you so much for sharing this with all your fellow travellers.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed a night in the Novotel in Rotorua. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel has a small spa pool and sauna that we enjoyed. The locaton is perfect, walking distance to downtown where most restaurants and cafes are.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.
So glad you were able to experience our spa and pool facilities.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed a night in late December 2012.
Up on 1st floor with room that looked to lake area - a bonus when good weather.
Big gripe was no information pack as usually found in most hotels, so no idea of places to go, places to eat etc - maybe we just never fould it!
Noise came from the Maori hangi just next door, drums banging away until after 11pm. Realise a tourist spot but is that necessary.
Stay a Friday or Saturday and you must do the buffet - the choice was fantastic, service excellent and a real must, while about $52 PP well worth it as non stop food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We try our best to accommodate all our guests’ needs and requests and I’m so glad you enjoyed the buffet in our Atlas Restaurant.
Your recommendation is much appreciated.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked Novotel for our stay in Rotorua because it just seemed like the perfect place for a holiday there. It sits in the heart of town but next to Lake Rotorua which provided a tranquil setting. So what you get is easy access to shops and restaurants and also to tourist attractions.

There is always ample parking for those who rent a car, and you really should be doing so if you're holidaying there. Service is always top quality, the staff throughout the hotel are friendly and efficient, and that really helps elevate the status of this simple hotel.

We stayed in a Superior room with a queen bed, but the bed sure felt extremely small for a queen. My wife and I had slept in queen beds before and this one was more like a double bed. We aren't large people either. Nonetheless the bed was very comfortable despite its size and we managed to sleep well. Controlling the temperature in the room was easy too. The bathroom was a bit old, and didn't come equipped with some of the typical amenities. I had left my toothbrush behind by accident but found that Novotel Rotorua did not stock toothbrushes so I had to go out and buy a new one.

I usually like to have internet access, but since the in-room WiFi was expensive I had to look for other options. In this area the hotel sorely disappoints. You can use the WiFi in the lobby but its terribly slow and you only get a 1/2 hour per day to access it. They have one computer which you can use, but of course if someone else is using it and you really need to check something you just have to wait.

Breakfast was nice, a fairly decent variety and once again efficient and friendly service all around despite the unfortunate presence of large tour groups swarming the restaurant almost every day we were there. I sure hate tour groups.

Wanted to give the spa a try but the massages were really overpriced, so we just relaxed in one of the private mineral pools. Sadly the water was merely lukewarm that day. You'll probably have a better experience at one of the mineral spas outside of town like Waikite Valley.

All in all, it was a pleasant experience. I would only rate this as a 3 star hotel based on the room and amenities but I'm bumping them up because of the excellent location and service. Four stars for Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view room, otherwise you'll be staring out at the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I appreciate the time you have taken to write this detailed review.
It was great to read all the positives about our hotel.
I am pleased you had a pleasant experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location was excellent. It is very close to the lake and the restaurants. The room was large enough, clean and comfortable. Check in and check out was quick and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The pool and the gym are a trifle small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.
We strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your positive feedback is much appreciated.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing