We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some flaws, otherwise fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quite awesome how there's a five-floor hotel in Rotorua.

Service:
Check-in/concierge (do they even have one?)/front desk staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Our room had a serious issue, which was dealt promptly and efficiently. Good service. Plenty of brochures on the bottom floor to help you with activity planning around Rotorua.

Value:
The lake view room was worth it. Not because of the lake, but because the view in that direction is a less "busier" and more comfortable to look at. The fact that there is complimentary newspaper and parking is always a good bonus.

However, the hotel charges you for some trivial items. For example, slippers are $5 per pair (you would expect complimentary ones in your hotel room closet) and toothpaste is $2.

Sleep quality:
No problems with that.

Cleanliness:
At worst, disappointing; at best, adequate. Bath tub was stained. Carpet was stained. Some dust on the magazines.

Location:
Best location in Rotorua - just by the lake! If you don't have a lake view room, then go outside - it's about five minutes walk maximum - and enjoy the lake there! Man restaurants within walking distance (e.g. Pizza Hut) so eating will not be a problem.

Rooms:
Apart from what I have said above, everything else is fantastic.

Kids activities:
Warm swimming pool...?

Spa:
Very relaxing.

Overall, it is a very good hotel, and it just has some areas in which it needs to improve to get a be a perfect hotel, especially how it is already advantageously situated near the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms that a higher and/or end with "01-11" (odd numbers only) have better lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinblocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. With the remodelling of the lobby just completed, the concierge desk now forms part of the reception desk pods. The second step to the lobby development will include new brochure racks. We do find the heated pool complex to be one of the favourite activities, I'm pleased your family enjoyed them.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreydon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Booked with Novotel because we use them a lot in Europe and always very reliable, clean and modern however this hotel is very shabby. The spa is nice but changing facilities in spa are disgusting and it ruins the whole experience of the spa. Hotel quite dirty. Advertised as a 4.5 star but just about a 3 star in reality. Location good

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holywood300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.

While the Day Spa treatment rooms have been upgraded recently, I acknowledge that (whist functional), the changing facilities need to modernised, and am pleased to report that we have plans to do just that early next year.

I note that your stay was in November. Since your stay, the Hotel public area - lobby, conferencing facility and restaurant - have all been renovated (in line with our upgrade programme) with a modern take on the natural wonders of Rotorua and the beautiful Bay of Plenty regions.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Rotorua to see the fantastic changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's is not a luxury hotel. The staff looked like they were almost all new hires with nobody but one person who knew how to operate the hotel and how to interact with the guests. They gave us a wrong room. It was not what we booked. The rooms are not that clean. There are stains on the furniture and the carpets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am concerned to note the shortfall you encountered during check-in. From the very outset, please accept my apologies for any miscommunication.

I certainly hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed overnight on our way back to Auckland from Hawkes Bay. Have stayed here in the past. Felt that the hotel is getting very tired and could do with refurbishing. Carpet in the hall ways and rooms is very stained. We had water stains on the ceiling of our room and what looked like oil or dirty water stains on the back of the door of our room. Furnishings in the room were very marked and tired looking. Had a very nice dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. However, even the chairs in the restaurant were very stained. Had spent a night at the Hilton in Taupo for similar money but very different and far superior accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

Your comments are very important to us.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back, re-instilling your confidence in our Product and Brand.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recently celebrated my 60th birthday and booked 48 rooms at this hotel. our guests were from various parts of the world. Nicole and her team excelled!! Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to ensure we all had a memorable weekend. We had breakfast both days, the selection and quality was with the best hotels anywhere in the world. Being centrallt located was an added bonus. The hotel was having a major upgrade of the reception area, Nicole kept us update on progress to ensure there was no surprises! Well done!

Room Tip: I visited many rooms and all were up to a high standard. We had the suite and that is just the BEST...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Congratulations and Happy Birthday!

Thank you very much for your review.

All departments and staff are committed to delivering a comfortable stay, warm hospitality and excellent guest service - it was great to read we succeeded.
Your appreciation of our rooms and services is motivating.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

You can tell this is an older property by the decor, but it's well-maintained. The staff, however, is what made this a great place to stay. They were friendly and welcoming. They went above and beyond to make sure our concerns were addressed quickly and to our satisfaction. The hotel is across the street from the lake and downtown area. You can walk to plenty of restaurants, bars, spas, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoWhatsNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments!

The staff at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside will enjoy reading your feedback as they too take great pride in their individual contributions to hosting a great guest stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $137 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing