We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing business accomodation close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing business accomodation close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very helpful staff. Nice atmosphere. Good view to the lake. Handy bar and restaurant. Easy walk to town and the lake facilities. Joined the Le Club loyalty program on the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAS350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am so glad to hear that you too will enjoy the many benefits of Accor’s Le Club programme.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    1,038
    449
    125
    36
See reviews for
682
1,079
114
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The room very good, the service also excellent and cleanliness great. Had a drink at the bar, the tonic water was not good, man\inly Soda, told the staff but nothing changed. The food in the retsaurant was OK, medium rare steak was definately rare and rather than send back to the kitchen, ate it but did not enjoy. Servie at the bar around 5:30 was not great, the young lady did not know here drinks at all, but very pleasant.
Other than the bar and restaurant the stay was extremely comfortable and all the staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony2101-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback and take all comments seriously.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location with a sea view.

A bit of noise in our room from the lobby, also cobwebs and thick dust behind the desk in the room.

Staff were nice, we gave breakfast a miss - plenty of cheaper options within walking distance (Nandos do a good breakfast).

Free carparking and a small amount of free wifi in the lobby was handy - although in my opinion wifi should be unlimited!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Your feedback provides an opportunity to ensure continuous improvements for which we are grateful.

Thank you and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We picked it for the price and location. It was ok for couple of nights. We sat in one of the spa pool but got out quickly due to to many unidentify particles floating. Not sure when was the last time it was cleaned or filtered. Location is great, we can walk or drive a short distance to attractions.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank angster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments.

We are very fortunate to have geothermal water in our spa pools and enjoy its unique benefits.
Please be assured that we are committed to providing excellent service and amenities for each and every stay.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The best things about this hotel are the helpful staff and the convenient location. There is a decent pool and sulfer springs spa, with onsite services (though we did not try those). Rotorua is a nice little town that's convenient for exploring the different nearby attractions by car. Otherwise, the room and hotel itself feels a little dated and could use a good renovation... but, for the price and its many conveniences, this Novotel is a decent option when traveling around the North Island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haroutioun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.
As you have highlighted, our Hotel offers the most convenient of locations for both leisure and business guests as it is very handy to a number of popular local attractions Rotorua has to offer.

We certainly appreciate your feedback.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nicely renovated and in a great spot - staff were helpful and friendly and a fantastic value for money accommodation.
It is directly opposite QE health which I spent 3 hours getting massaged and pampered for a small fee..
Easy walk to the main street and the pubs

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprila070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Greetings from Rotorua

We truly appreciate your compliments and are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside.

Thanks and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hi the Hotel is great however the fridge did not work and appeared to have been off for somtime on checking if it was switched on at the back we discovered huge amounts of filth and articles undeneath and behind the fridge which could have caused a health hazard.
Other than this the position, comfort, food, service, and friendleness where all great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpsmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I sincerely apologise for the fridge and the unclean state you found it in - I was disappointed to read this and am sorry.

I thank you for your kind words about our location, food and service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#32 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing