We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful stopover”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Good place for us to stopover as we return from catching up with family further North. We upgraded to the larger suite which was very comfortable and spacious, the bed was superb. Had all our meals in the restaurant and received friendly service from staff.
We are planning another trip in February 2012 and will most certainly stay here

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your comments.

The staff here at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside take great pride in their individual contributions to hosting a great stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in February.

Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    1,068
    458
    126
    38
See reviews for
698
1,098
117
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Travelling with my partner we were both pleasantly surprised at the friendly staff at every location we visited. With our mobility being less than desireable we also particularly appreciated the proximity of the car parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your review and kind words.

Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Hotel is in a great location however the rooms are not well maintained. We were first put in a room above the Dance Floor where a band was playing very loudly til midnight. Having just driven 5 hrs it wasnt well received by us. When we complained we were told there were no other rooms available however after demanding the manager, The Hotel staff were friendly and quickly arranged a replacement room. The rooms are in desperate need of updating. Our mirror in ensuite had a large crack in it and the tiles were in need of replacing. The shower is of poor quality and design. The rooms are not cleaned properly. Overall the Hotel is of poor standard. The windows look like they are not cleaned regularly. I will not be staying here again, instead i would opt for the newer Ibis next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for your reported room condition. I believe the room you were moved to was not in service for the reasons provided, but the desire for a quieter environment was obviously paramount, and this should have been communicated to you at the time. I will look onto this as I am disappointed we accommodated guests in a room that is not to our normal high standards.

Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I attended a conference at the Hotel, and found the accommodation very comfortable. The staff were helpful and the food was excellent.
Look out for the special package deals offered, as they are great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for posting this review of your stay.

Our team members are our greatest asset and I am pleased that they could contribute towards making your stay comfortable. We are delighted that you were happy with the accommodation and the meals.

Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Your beds were very comfortable and loved the pillows. would suggest getting rid of the baths I mean who uses a bath these days with the water shortage. Plus the traveling population is getting older stepping into the bath is problematic. the buffet breakfast was cold and the sausages had no taste. but your lunches were good. Staff were friendly and the place was clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your balanced review. I believe we have already actioned your breakfast comments made direct to the Hotel. Thank you.

Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My aunt lives in Rotorua and as it was her 96th birthday, the overnight stay ( once again) at the Rotorua Novatel was the icing on the cake. Friendly service, an excellent meal. Thank you. We will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMcKenzie, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Wow, congratulations to your Aunt on her 96th birthday celebration.

Our team members are our greatest asset and I am pleased that they could contribute
towards making your stay memorable. I have shared your comments with them and your generous appreciation is a source of motivation.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Fraser McKenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have stayed here several times before, all good experiences, but unfortunately this stay was not up to previous encounters. The hotel is tired, the room needs refurbishing, the pillows were soft and lumpy, and there was dust around the ledges and behind the TV. Overall quite diappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Property: Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing