We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic in it's day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Millennium Hotel Rotorua would have been a majestic hotel back in the day. It is still well maintained but showing its age and could use to be updated. The rooms are clean and it is close to the lake as well as the conference center and the botanic gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Val
I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to advise our rooms refurbishment is now underway, offering our guests a fresh, modern room to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well located across the lake and the Polynesian Spa
Sufficient fee parking on and around the hotel site
Friendly, helpful and polite staff
Good restaurant with a choice of food and beverages
Room sizes are good for a couple but too small for a family of 3 adults
Width of the beds were too less for two adults to sleep comfortably
No racks for placing the bags and the cupboard / storage was also very small.
The bathroom and amenities in the bathroom were very good.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are of the same size. The entire place was quite quiet and peaceful but a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurzinDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Burzin DN
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us recently. I'm delighted you enjoyed the location, friendly helpful staff, and the restaurant choices.
For future information we are about to replace double beds with queen beds, offering more room for families and triple room users.
I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Millennium in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a large hotel, well located in Rotorua and right next to the Polynesian Spa. We had a superior lake view room which was spacious, well equipped and of course had a lake view. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment. The pool was closed while we were there but in all honesty we probably wouldn't have had time to use it. Staff were generally very friendly with the exception of the porter who was miserable.
From the hotel you can walk to the lake and then facing the lake turn to your left and follow a great walk along the lake which will take you all the way to St Faith's church and beyond - well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Angel 57. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My sister and I were staying one night in Rotoroa and secured a great online rate for a Superior Double room, earlier that evening.
On arrival, the staff were very welcoming and pleasant. They informed us that due to renovations, the spa and pool were out of action which could have been very disappointing but we were offered complimentary passes to the Polynesian Spa (valued at $25 each) which more than made up for this and made for a great evening, especially with it being right across the road.
Whilst the reception and lobby area appears quite high end, unfortunately the room was a bit of a let down, looking and feeling rather dated (although I believe room refits are part of the current renovation plan). That said, the beds were very comfortable and I slept well.
Suggestion for the refit - bed lamps wouldn't go amiss. The overhead lights to be used for this purpose were super bright and in the end up gave up on reading as the glare was too much.
A different type of shower head would be good too - both my sister and I were laughing about how there seemed to be plenty of water coming out but it was quite hard to actually get wet.
We didn't have a view although didn't really expect one given the rate we got.
One gripe - WIFI - although this is not exclusive to the Millenium. Be great to see NZ hotels getting with the programme and not charging exorbitant fees for in-room access.
All in all however a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeripateticT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hi, thank you so much for your positive feedback following your stay with us. I'm pleased you had a very pleasant stay.
I'm happy to advise our rooms refurbishment is well under way. Thank you for your suggestions which have been noted - especially your comment regarding the shower head.
We are about to launch a new price structure for wifi usage which will see a significantly reduced all day rate for wifi.
I do hope that the next time you return to Rotorua you will choose to return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights but don't wanted to stay here even for a single night. this was the old hotel which was not up to the mark. we wanted to swim but the pool was under maintenance. no great view no great location. the breakfast was bad with little variety. was very much disappointing with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 365aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

I was very disappointed to read your feedback following your stay with us.
I do apologise you were not able to use the swimming pool due to its recent refurbishment. Unfortunately it is necessary on occasion to empty the pool, repaint and refresh our product, and on this occasion we also refurbished the entire pool area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay!
Location: convenient as it is near to the lake, spa, as well as several shops such as Pak n Save.
Room: clean and comfy. Though there was a bit of wear-and-tear on the tv console, however it did not spoil the cosy ambience of the room. As it was autumn during the stay, the room was nicely warmed up. Perhaps a heated bed would be even better.
Service: staff are friendly.
Breakfast spread: there was not many variety.
Overall: recommended for stay during visit to rotorua =)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PF-funnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear PF-funnie
Thanks for your wonderful feedback. I'm pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for only one night but the hotel has lovely decor and the room was comfy. The staff were great especially when I managed to lock myself out of my room!! The restaurant has a good selection and the service was tip top

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKKI86206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the hotel.
I'm delighted we were able to provide you with a great nights sleep! and the staff that helped you get into your room.
If you are returning to Rotorua we hope you will choose to return to the Millennium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
791 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
864 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 91 in Rotorua
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 91 in Rotorua
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: 1270 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $133 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the city beside mystical Lake Rotorua, this welcoming, international class hotel is adjacent to Polynesian Spa and just a brief stroll from the Rotorua Museum and Convention Centre. The hotel offers 227 air-conditioned rooms with a wide range of accommodation styles, including the Club floor rooms with complimentary use of the exclusive Club Lounge. Rooms feature marble bathrooms and residential-style décor, with heating provided by harnessing the hotel's natural geothermal resource. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing