We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveler rating
352
651
395
113
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
651
395
113
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room polynesian spa lake view large hotel buffet breakfast per day duty manager lobby area new zealand government gardens central location hotel restaurant comfortable stay sulphur smell town centre hot pools eat street
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well located across the lake and the Polynesian Spa
Sufficient fee parking on and around the hotel site
Friendly, helpful and polite staff
Good restaurant with a choice of food and beverages
Room sizes are good for a couple but too small for a family of 3 adults
Width of the beds were too less for two adults to sleep comfortably
No racks for placing the bags and the cupboard / storage was also very small.
The bathroom and amenities in the bathroom were very good.

Room tip: I believe all the rooms are of the same size. The entire place was quite quiet and peaceful but a room facing the lake is more pleasant.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurzinDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Burzin DN
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us recently. I'm delighted you enjoyed the location, friendly helpful staff, and the restaurant choices.
For future information we are about to replace double beds with queen beds, offering more room for families and triple room users.
I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Millennium in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a large hotel, well located in Rotorua and right next to the Polynesian Spa. We had a superior lake view room which was spacious, well equipped and of course had a lake view. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment. The pool was closed while we were there but in all honesty we probably wouldn't have had time to use it. Staff were generally very friendly with the exception of the porter who was miserable.
From the hotel you can walk to the lake and then facing the lake turn to your left and follow a great walk along the lake which will take you all the way to St Faith's church and beyond - well worthwhile.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Angel 57. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My sister and I were staying one night in Rotoroa and secured a great online rate for a Superior Double room, earlier that evening.
On arrival, the staff were very welcoming and pleasant. They informed us that due to renovations, the spa and pool were out of action which could have been very disappointing but we were offered complimentary passes to the Polynesian Spa (valued at $25 each) which more than made up for this and made for a great evening, especially with it being right across the road.
Whilst the reception and lobby area appears quite high end, unfortunately the room was a bit of a let down, looking and feeling rather dated (although I believe room refits are part of the current renovation plan). That said, the beds were very comfortable and I slept well.
Suggestion for the refit - bed lamps wouldn't go amiss. The overhead lights to be used for this purpose were super bright and in the end up gave up on reading as the glare was too much.
A different type of shower head would be good too - both my sister and I were laughing about how there seemed to be plenty of water coming out but it was quite hard to actually get wet.
We didn't have a view although didn't really expect one given the rate we got.
One gripe - WIFI - although this is not exclusive to the Millenium. Be great to see NZ hotels getting with the programme and not charging exorbitant fees for in-room access.
All in all however a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeripateticT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Hi, thank you so much for your positive feedback following your stay with us. I'm pleased you had a very pleasant stay.
I'm happy to advise our rooms refurbishment is well under way. Thank you for your suggestions which have been noted - especially your comment regarding the shower head.
We are about to launch a new price structure for wifi usage which will see a significantly reduced all day rate for wifi.
I do hope that the next time you return to Rotorua you will choose to return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights but don't wanted to stay here even for a single night. this was the old hotel which was not up to the mark. we wanted to swim but the pool was under maintenance. no great view no great location. the breakfast was bad with little variety. was very much disappointing with this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 365aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

I was very disappointed to read your feedback following your stay with us.
I do apologise you were not able to use the swimming pool due to its recent refurbishment. Unfortunately it is necessary on occasion to empty the pool, repaint and refresh our product, and on this occasion we also refurbished the entire pool area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay!
Location: convenient as it is near to the lake, spa, as well as several shops such as Pak n Save.
Room: clean and comfy. Though there was a bit of wear-and-tear on the tv console, however it did not spoil the cosy ambience of the room. As it was autumn during the stay, the room was nicely warmed up. Perhaps a heated bed would be even better.
Service: staff are friendly.
Breakfast spread: there was not many variety.
Overall: recommended for stay during visit to rotorua =)

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PF-funnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear PF-funnie
Thanks for your wonderful feedback. I'm pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews