We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable for the rate given we walked in off the street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
elimbah, qld
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“reasonable for the rate given we walked in off the street”
Reviewed September 13, 2008

i was touring around on my motorcycle with my son and felt he needed a break from the cold and rain and a comfy bed. We walked in off the street soaking wet in all our gear and managed to barter a room with buffet breakfast for $159 NZ so not bad for the area as some caravan parks in the area charge the same. the room was small but clean, twin queen beds very comfy bathroom clean with plenty of towels, air con worked a treat to dry all our motorcycle gear. Courtyard view only but it was pissing down anyway. TV ancient little thing. Breakfast more than adequate. Hotel itself was fairly empty and staff seemed not all there, a bit vacant i suppose but considering what the average NZer earns the poor blighters where probably been paid a pittance. Non the less the pool looked o.k undercover and the desk staff helpful although the look on his face was priceless when we crawled out of the gutter dripping wet on his foyer. Cash is king folks use your batering skills and flash the dosh it does wonders. I,ve stayed in all types before so this is nothing new but probably the better chain hotel in Rotorua. Not a pinch on the Millenium in Kuala Lumpur though

  • Liked — the bed( when you,ve been riding motorcycle for weeks any bed is good) breakfast
  • Disliked — no ice again in the mini bar, every hotel i,ve ever stayed? TV sucked
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seanqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    534
    299
    94
    38
See reviews for
256
555
64
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at the Mellennium Rotorua for one night and found the hotel to be pleasant enough. It was a good location and we were upgraded to a lake view room at no cost. The rooms themselves did look worn, but it did the job as we arrived late and left early. They were very helpful at the front desk and the breakfast we pretty good. The internet usage was quite expensive and they charged us extra for extra data usage, so watch that carefully. I would possibly consider staying here again, but would examine other options also.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet usage
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ilive2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent three days here on a whistle-stop tour of New Zealand and were very happy with our experience. Since it was the middle of winter, we were able to get an excellent rate, which made the stay very good value. The staff were efficient if not the friendliest on the planet and the room was absolutely fine. Decent bed, spacious, nice clean bathroom... just the job. There was even a machine in the lobby for copying camera memory cards onto a CD - nice touch!

The hotel is pretty functional and does not score highly on the character stakes, but there again we didn't want it to be a destination in itself, just a convenient place to visit the multitude of fascinating things to see in the Rotorua area. It is also across the road from the Polynesian Spa, which is very handy.

In terms of the location in Rotorua, it is not so great and it is about 10 minutes walk into town. There again there isn't a huge amount to see or do in the centre of Rotorua so that was no great hardship.

They do hold a Maori experience here every night it would seem, but for us this didn't cause any issues.

On balance definitely recommended as a great base for exploring the area.

  • Liked — Good value in off-peak season
  • Disliked — Slightly lacking in character
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Unlike others, we had no problem with front desk. Room overlooked lake and was reasonable though I agree with others that it needs an update.

There's a pool, quite good, with a brasserie though that didn't seem to be open. But pool cannot be used from late afternoon because of Maori show every evening on the area beside the pool, and the preparations for that. It's a cacophany of banging and clattering as trestle tables and stacks of chairs are set up from mid-afternoon onwards. So when you return from a day's sightseeing you can't swim because either the pool area is crashingly noisy with the setting-up or it's closed altogether.

Buffet breakfast (reasonable but not a patch on the same hotel group's Copthorne Waitangi) is served at the poolside brasserie where, guess what, they are clattering and banging again removing those same trestle tables and masses of chairs.

Not what one expects from an allegedly 4 star hotel. The disruption and racket is really unacceptable.

Restaurant meals are OK but it's a trendy "look we're cooking here in the room" kitchen so masses of heat, windows have to be left open and the local insect-life floods in after dark.

Better to eat at Stone Grill restaurant in Rotorua and for a wonderful Maori experience, don't miss Te Puia - far better concert, much more to see and it's only a few minutes down the road.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The noise and disruption at the pool and at breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Zelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Cardiff, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Spent two nights here in very cold, inclement weather in July. Check in procedure was painful as the check in staff seemed dead behind the eyes and their faces were totally expressionless . We arrived at 3.30pm and were told that the rooms were not ready. The check in automatron looked rather blankly at us and said defensively it was sunday and they had been busy. Obviously our fault! Grudgingly they agreed to put our luggage in storage until 4pm and the bell boys were very polite but lacked confidence especially when we were then accosted by a delusional mental health patient as we were checking in our luggage. I assume he was a guest but as we never saw him again so I'm beginning to think we imagined the whole episode! Not a good start and not one member of staff made an attempt to come to our aid which had the potential to be unpleasant.

The room was adequate but the general atmosphere was rather seedy and sad. It seemed to cater more to the corporate business meetings of the back slapping and getting wasted in the bar type than tourist and travellers like ourselves. They must have a high turnover of guests as the automatons could never remember us. We didn't bother with breakfast as there are plenty of excellent places for breakfast especialy "Relish". Stonegrill for dinner is good too. I didn't warm to Rotarua itself as it seemed empty most of the time and it didn't have much of a spark but there is lots to do in the area so it is a good base.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The staff and atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aranwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

I stayed at the Millenium Rotorua from 12~15th June 2008. We had a free upgrade to the Lake View. Rooms were nice and spacious, except for that old TV that was quite disappointing.

The only bad experience was the loss of my Sony PSP game console and accessories. The whole bag containing the stuff went missing from my room and the response from the Hotel was quite dissappointing.

I have written to their Corporate HQ, but still have not received any reply. All I can say is that it was handled quite unprofessionally.

  • Liked — Lake View Rooms with Balcony
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Hotel located centrally to Rotorua where my room was clean and tidy. Tea making facilities, Internet connection and room safe provided, along with air-conditioning. My room was in a quadrangle layout, which overlooked a very pleasant rose garden. Service levels were satisfactory and the hotel was complemented by a good size swimming pool where Maori shows took place. A good place to stay as a centre for sightseeing.

  • Liked — Ideally Located
  • Disliked — Nothing of note
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Serialglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing