We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
270 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Always stay here every few months when on business. Quality of restaurant very good Club Lounge package is the best. Great view of lake , comfortable and good standard.
Wifi in room makes it easy for business but you can only sign up one device otherwise you need to buy another pass.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us on your business visits to Rotorua and I'm pleased you enjoy the quality of the restaurant and the Club facilities and services. We hope to see you again in the New Year and all the best for the festive season. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    500
    284
    87
    36
See reviews for
237
523
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

After a busy day enjoying Rotorua, the geysers, steaming hot springs and mud pools we decided to go to the comfort of a hotel rather than a B&B or motel. The Millenium met what we were looking for but was no more than acceptable. A welcoming lobby, pleasant lounge and room reasonably well fitted, were its good points; the not-so-good points were its wifi – we could not connect, the room backed-on to the bus park and was noisy and breakfast, after being hit by coach loads of visitors was poor. Overall, we might give it a poor Recommend but our tip would be to drive on to Mt Manganui where the real quality is.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side where the coaches park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I apologise if you were interrupted by coaches on the street. There are bus parks further down the road, so they should not have been parking across what are actually carparks, we will monitor this more closely from now on. We do have wifi through all areas and rooms within the hotel and I was not aware there had been any connection problems over this period. Nothing has been logged in the system to indicate there were issues so I am unsure as to why this occurred. I am pleased you enjoyed the lobby and lounge areas and likewise your room, so do hope we see you return. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

To those of you who don't appreciate the team spirit, the professionalism, the dedication of the teams behind the teams....move on.

What if the hotel need TLC? What if it took 20 mns to check in? The millenium hotel is like a great dinner. Appreciate it, feel it. We have been using the Millenium for 4 or 5 years 3 or 4 time a year. This is not a B&B. This is IT. This is the Millenium Spirit.
So enjoy it or move on.
JPE Hvd
Auckland

Room Tip: Just enjoy the spirit and the Great Team
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A3803XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for commenting on our great team and the spirit of the hotel, it is appreciated and I will certainly share your comments with all the staff. We thank you for choosing to stay at Millennium when travelling to Rotorua and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights - I thought it was excellent - clean and spacious and the rooms are nicely laid out. It's not particularly dated like many reviews state - those people must be very fussy as I thought it was neat and clean. It's not my taste stylistically but just your typical hotel - perfectly functional! We got a great price for bed and breakfast on the hotel's own website - in my opinion still the cheapest way to book a hotel (unless you have the entertainment book). My one criticism is that it was far too HOT in there. I had to throw open the balcony door - it was sweltering. A small thing as well: the hotel knew we were two adults and two kids yet they only provided three towels. I find that annoying as they obviously accept that kids stay free - why not provide enough towels without me having to chase them up. I can't be bothered having to ring housekeeping. Apart from that, top marks.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms nice if you can get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for giving us top marks and for your feedback on your three night stay here with the family. I have passed on your comment regarding the extra towel to Housekeeping and with the change of season can also advise our air-conditioing systems are now set on summer mode. We hope we see you return again for a break in the near future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at and found the overall experience very good apart from the glaringly poor service in the small bar(Zazu?) on the 2 occasions we ate/drank there.
Bar staff completely ignored us on both occasions for several minutes and when we were finally served, the woman serving was humourless and clearly didn't want to be there. The second night we tried to get service, the young barman who was actually off duty at the time and having a quiet drink with a friend, took pity on us, took our order and we finally were served. My friend waiting beside me to be served, said she felt 'invisible' and had to ask the 2 servers for attention as they fiddled with the cash register and wouldn't look up. Needless to say, we didn't patronise the bar a third time!
Location is great - opposite Polynesian Pools and a short stroll to attractions and eateries.
However, the rooms were comfortable and clean with a large TV, adequate bathroom and more room than many hotels with a similar tariff. The inclusive breakfast is a bonus and although a little tired in places, the hotel was clean and well maintained and staff were lovely to deal with in every area except the bar.
We would stay again but would definitely avoid the bar !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I'm pleased you found the overall experience of your recent stay very good but was however dissapointed to read your comments regarding the bar service you encountered. I have discussed your feedback with the bar staff and have re-iterated our normal level of service delivery which were obviously not extended on both occasions you were in there and for this I apologise. It was heartening to read you found the rest of the staff lovely to deal with and that you would stay again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight. The hotel itself is in a good location. Overall the hotel and rooms are looking dated and need refurbishing. The pillows were average and quite thin. From looking around rotorura there are much better accommodation options and we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenant143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I'm sorry to hear you wouldn't stay again but do wish to advise we have a rooms refurbishment planned shortly which will also include new beds & bedding with new pillows. I hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand went well and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great place, Helpful and friendly staff. We loved the warm 29 degrees pool. Delicious breakfast. Nicely fitted rooms. Nice price. Good central location, yet very close to the lakeside, where there are walking paths. We will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard double, but had everything there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are happy that you "loved it" too and that it was a great place to stay with helpful & friendly staff. Do come back again, I'm sure there are many more interesting walking paths to try out.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing