We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Food, Average Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked a night as part of a weekend in Rotorua.

The Millennium has a great location in the center of town and close to the lake and polynesian Spa. The restaurant has a great menu and my pork belly was excellent; perfectly cooked and well presented.

For me the disappointment was the room. While it was clean and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had the shower over the bath. Having a bath was a bonus but the shower was so low you couldn't wash you hair. I'm 5'7" so this is LOW.

I would stay here again, but ask for a different room, perhaps in the newer wing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing, or at least one where the shoewr id at a useable height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Our central location is great for a weekend stay and enables you to enjoy the city and its sights. Thank for your comment in regard to our great restaurant and the meal you enjoyed. I have noted your feedback regarding the shower, but hope we see you return again. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a king size room. The room itself was nice enough and was individually temperature controlled so we had it cranked up as there was a cold draught coming from the windows. It wasn't until the morning that I realised one of the small windows had been open upon arrival and I hadn't noticed it - hence the draught, but the heating did keep us warm enough considering. The bathroom was tired, we've stayed at many hotels and for a Millennium Hotel, I did expect better; the bathtub's enamel was chipped and the bath plug didn't hold the water in the bath. We didn't have a chance to use any of the other facilities but they did look good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandlover39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback and I have noted your comments from your recent stay. I hope you stay again when next down this way and have a chance to sample some of the facilities on offer in the hotel. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a family night in this hotel. The first thing my mother said when I'd told her where we'd booked was she had stayed there once and it was too hot. Boy, she wasn't kidding.

I'll start with the bad cos everyone wants the first. We had a twin room with double beds.

The room is small, but that was okay, you would be hard pushed to put two queen beds in there anyway. It was stinking hot, we had to turn the aircon on cold to cool it down. In the end we turned it off as it was right next to the bed and noises. We opted to open the window all night, the person sleeping next to the window was cold. The bed were sadly too small, we though we could survive, we were wrong.
The pool is awesome... If you can get in it. We arrived right on the dinner seating and found he pool closed until 8.30pm so the kids missed out on swimming and were bummed.
Drunk guests wandering the hall but this not the hotels fault.

So the good, service, cleanliness, pool and spa ( when you can get in the pool, we went at breakfast time and felt a little weird swimming whilst everyone else watched us as they ate breakfast). The location is very central.

We paid $120 a night, with hind site, I should have paid the extra $30 and gone to somewhere with bigger and better beds. The ridges or Novotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you like a good bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mean_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments. While our rooms have individually controlled air-conditioning, our public areas of the hotel have geothermal heating which is normally set to provide a constant temperature throughout the hotel. Sometimes at the change of seasons and particularly with temperatures warming outside on particular days, this can also add to the overall warmth of the hotel. We are currently awaiting delivery of new beds for the hotel and will be changing all twin rooms with double beds, to queen for extra comfort. I'm glad you found the service and cleanliness of the hotel good & that you spent time enjoying the pools. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We got what were perhaps the last rooms in Rotorua on this particular Saturday night. The whole town was packed because it was the middle of the school holidays. Because we were after a triple room i guess the options were limited. It was clean and serviceable but very tired and lacked any charm. The only window looked into a forlorn little courtyard. The hotel had a hot pool but it wasn't hot enough to tempt us in. The breakfast was expansive and generous and served to redeem the hotel somewhat, pushing it to 3.5 stars

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback and I have noted your comments regarding the triple room. I am please you found the breakfast expansive and generous and the hotel service excellent.Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is very clean and pleasant, with good location. Nice rooms overlooking the thermal lake. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Surprisingly lousy shower head though (sitting on top of world-famous hot springs, I'd expect the hotel to have superb showers and shower-heads). Comfortable beds and nice linens and towels. Nice amenities. Good big flat-screenTV. Friendly and cozy bar, open late. I really don't appreciate the (very high) added cost for wireless; suggest the hotel stop gouging customers and just provide a real service by giving wireless internet for free). Nice breakfast choices. Overall, a very nice hotel, but far from inexpensive.

Room Tip: Nice to have a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

I'm please you enjoyed your stay and that you found the rooms clean and our staff friendly. I'm sorry that you had a problem with the shower, we currently have a maintenance programme underway and many of the showerheads are beign refitted. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were given great walk in deal by duty manager David Chetty. Clean quiet room with huge very comfy bed in fantastic location with lake view and 30 seconds walk from Polynesian Spa. Our 2nd time here and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Having John arrange a good walk in deal and likewise a great lakeview room I'm sure, made for a pleasant night. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights during the middle school holiday weekend. I thought it was good value for money as our deal included breakfast for 2 adults and the children were free. It was a fantastic breakfast too, mixture of hot and cold options, plus fruit and pancakes, pastries etc a great way to start the day, and lasted us right through to a late lunch. The kids ate up a storm, especially the bacon! The joinery in the hallways etc betrays the fact that the hotel is getting old, but our room was perfectly tidy, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern. We had 2 adjoining rooms, one king and one with two doubles as we are a family with 3 children. The rooms faced the lake and had a nice view. We had guests to our rooms for a drink one night and the staff happily brought us a dinner plate and knife so we could cut up and serve nibbles. The kids also loved the pool, despite its temperature, which was too cold for me, (the adults stuck to the spas) and happily switched between the spa and main pool to warm up/cool down. My only comment would be for the hotel to consider having two porters available at check out time as the one porter who was working was overwhelmed with the number of guests needing help with their bags and needing to retrieve mountain bikes from storage etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I'm pleased the family had a great weekend break over the school holidays and especially with a good hearty breakfast to start the days. We have raised the pool temperature, which normally sits at 29 degrees, to 31, to allow for the colder air temperature as we have had similar comments recently. We also do try to have additional Porter assistance at peak times over holiday periods in particular, so will follow this up with our Front Desk team. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $120 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing