We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Value and Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

What can we say- a great hotel . The place was very clean, rooms were spacious and well maintained. Staff was friendly and efficient - overall this is the best hotel we stayed in this holiday trip.

We wanted to explore the thermal city and John Chetty - Manager on duty on our arrival, checked us in and when enqurired about attractions and eating places he gave a snap shot of what we can do in our li8mited 2 days stay.

The experience we had certainly we are taking home a memorable memories to share with others, we thank John Chetty for the assistance.

Its been a fabulous time in Millinnium and Rotorua in general

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
What can we say, what a fabulous review. We thank you for your comments about being the best hotel on your trip. Having you leave with memorable experiences of your stay here and in our great city is just what we like to hear and I will be sure to also pass your comments on to John who was so helpful. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    500
    284
    87
    36
See reviews for
237
523
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We Stayed for three nights, the hotel has obviously been recently renovated as everything pretty new . The hotel stay was very pleasant, and the staff were great in attending to your queries and needs, especially we found Mr. John Chetty - Duty Manager is amazing, nothing was too difficult or hard for him and he does it with a smile.The dining & drinking options were good. Especially good that a take out, coffee shop and convenience store is located within the hotel was very nice to have. The King size room was good especially the views of the lake, so its worth booking the room with the view.

We would like to mention that we had few housekeeping issues that was refered to staff and we are very happy to compliment Mr John Chetty dealt with them in timely manner plus took the second thought form us, he is a great Hotelier and is a the greatest asset to the company.

We will be back to Millennium Rotorua and also looking forward to catch up with John Chetty who made our stay a fantastic one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I'm so pleased you had a pleasant stay and that you found our staff attentive; I will be sure to acknowledge John in particular for his great service. Thank you for posting your feedback, it is always a highlight for the staff to read the positive reviews and we troo look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have to start by saying that the staff at the millennium were fantastic, they were attentive, helpful, flexible, good humoured and generally good people. The hotel and rooms are quite dated, the food was great, the gym needs some help though, if you like to work out this is not the best place. The air con was a little patchy which is not great in humid rotorua. The layout is a little confusing and the only advice I could give is much better sign posting the gym was a nightmare to find including trying to find my room. But not a big deal, it is a great location and great kiwi service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Yes we do have fantastic staff and it was great that you experienced their great Kiwi service. I have noted your comments about signage and in particular the gym as well as the air con in there and will see how we can improve these. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope we see you return in the future. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel whilst attending a weekend conference. I arrived early in the morning and the concierge was very helpful in getting my luggage sorted and pointing out places to visit and lunch at. When I got back from my exploration of the city, my luggage was brought to me in my room. The room was very spacious and there was even a little private spa pool attached to the room! The swimming pool was fantastic and we even had breakfast and dinner by the pool. The buffet breakfast was great with lots of different options to choose from.

The location of the hotel was fantastic - centrally located and only a few minutes walk to the city centre and shops. There was also a Pak n Save just down the road.

Definitely would recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JELGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation to stay here, we do have a fantastic location and it was great to see you had time to enjoy our pools as well as dinner and the many choices on our buffet breakfast. Best Wishes and we hope you return to enjoy in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very nice hotel. Unfortunately, we had two under 5 year old kids with us that made our weekend away 'more stressful' than we would of liked. We stayed in a twin room (2 x double beds) that looked out onto the Lake. A nice room with a nice view but too small for a family of four. The highlights of our stay was definitely the buffet breakfast (huge variety of food to choose from) and the swimming pool which the kids loved. Would stay there again, but without children :-)

Room Tip: Lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TildaSwinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments about enjoying the great variety on our buffet breakfast and that your children enjoyed the swimming pool. I hope you get a weekend away by yourselves at some point and that you get to stay again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I popped down from Auckland for the weekend and really loved staying here. Buffet breakfast well worth. Staff are friendly and helpful. Just need to increase the wifi accessibility and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereforareason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed a lovely weekend away and that you found the buffet breakfast worth it. Wi-fi is accessible throughout the hotel including our accommodation rooms, with 20 mins free access in our lobby area, so I hope you were made aware of this access during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when next travelling to Rotorua. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Four of us just had our weekend getaway and stayed here for a night..very clean and nice view of lake rotorua..we also enjoyed the pool especially its very cold..the only thing were not happy about is that theres no free wifi and we didnt get the room we expected to stay in..were expecting 1king + 2 double beds but we just had their superior lakeside room which are 2double bed only...nevertheless not too bad for an overnight stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on your weekend stay and it was great you enjoyed your lakeview room and the pool. I note you were expecting a different bedding configuration. We do have king bedded rooms and also rooms with two double beds, some also interconnecting, but unfortunately do not have rooms with five beds in. We do have free a 20 minute free Wifi service available so I'm sorry you were not made aware of this during your stay. I hope we see you return for another relaxing weekend in the future. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#40 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing