We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is o. k.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel is o. k.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in a Superior Plus room with two double beds. The room price is o. k. for what you get. In our rate there was no breakfast included. We also booked a Maori Dinner with show. This was cancelled and they brought us to another location together with other guests. The dinner was average but the show was good. The venue is not nice so book another one if possible. Staff is friendly. There are a lot of Asians in this hotel and we felt a little bit out of the place sometimes. If I would return to Rotorua I would choose a nice bed and breakfast instead. The hotel is o. k. and that's it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we hope the Hangi and Concert you attended off site did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    510
    291
    90
    37
See reviews for
242
538
63
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Beds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights on a B&B package, was upgraded to a Club room on the 5th floor, access via The Club but was not granted the use of Club facilities. Our room was everything we needed with a large kingsize bed. Plenty to choose from at the ground floor buffet breakfast.
We ate in the dining room each evening, entertaining a friend on the first night, starters, main courses and dessert were acceptable but spoiled by main courses served on cold plates. My venison was tender but almost cold. My wife had prawns and unfortunately was was quite ill some 5 hours later. The cost of wines was very high.
On the second night it was advertised as Wednesday special Lobster, we were very disappointed with the size and the amount of available lobster meat in the shell. I complained, received many apologies and a 20% reduction of the total cost of the meal. i was amazed that they could advertise this as a "Special" and then produce such poor specimens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you did enjoy the cultural show you attended off site. We hope you do return to our destination in the future and sample more of what our region has to offer. With thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for a night this week on a business trip and was lucky enough to be upgraded to a room on the Club floor at the top of the five floor hotel.

My room was very quiet and the air conditioning was very effective. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom appeared recently refitted. It was clean and nicely appointed with quality toiletries.

There was a pleasant continental buffet breakfast in the club lounge on my floor with a good range of cereals, fruits and even my favourite Vogels bread.

The front desk service was very good with the woman even giving me my room number discretely as I checked in to avoid other guests hearing it. She said she likes to do this for women guests obviously travelling alone.

The hotel is in a good location with a comfortable walk through to Fenton Street and the main restaurant area. Plus the Polynesian Pools are very close by (not that I could enjoy that this time). All in all, a very good night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
A comfortable and restful night is a must when you're away on business, so I am glad we were able to assist. We do have a very convenient location, so hope if you do travel through this way again, that you get to sample the relaxing Polynesian Spa on your next visit.
With Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in November - lovely hotel, our room overlooked Late Rotorua.
Nice full buffet breakfast in the morning and we ate in the restaurant one evening which was also good.
The only draw back was there was a large conference on the weekend we were there which mean the main lobby area was always very crowded and parking was a little limited, once that was finished it was fine.
Recommend you go over to the Polynesian Spa - lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your lakeview room and our in house dining and thank you for taking time out to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I hope the busy lobby wasn't too inconvenient for you and yes the Polynesian Spa is a perfect place for that luxurious soak and is definitely highly recommended.
We hope you get to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

On 17th & 18th November 2012 I stayed at The Millenium Hotel, Rotorua, NZ, with my family ( cousin ).
It was FANTASTIC, RELAXING, and WONDERFUL, and I Highly Recommend it, to other travellers.
The swimming pool was a steady, beautiful, pleasant 29 degrees , no matter what time of day and was a REALLY PLEASANT Experience, and so soothing, relaxing and stress-free. Highly Recommended.
The breakfast buffet was STUPENDOUSLY YUMMY and plenty of variety and yummily tasty and cooked superb, covering evry type of delectable tastebud. Forget the diet, the food is JUST FANTASTIC and LOOKS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Highly Recommended.
My room was absolutely well appointed and very private and blissfully QUIET and DISCREET and PEACEFUL !!!!!!!!! Just what I wanted. Highly recommended.
Very pleasant staff and reception and QUICK, QUIET and FAST SERVICE ! Highly recommended.
Having travelled to USA, and Australia and 5 -star hotels, I found this weekend stay ABSOLUTELY RELAXING, WONDERFUL AND FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!!!!!!! I highly Recommend this hotel and its very USER-Friendly.!!!!!!!!! Cheers, ENJOY, because I did !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alezix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary comments and likwise great recommendations, we do appreciate it. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our facilities so do come back !
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked the Millennium on-line based on its location and star rating. We did get a very good on-line deal.

Location in Rotorura is excellent – only a short walk to most things and Polynesian Spa is immediately behind the Millennium.

We arrived to a very warm and informative welcome which was nice considering we were a little tired from driving for a while. There was a large conference in for the entire duration of our stay and several tour bus groups came and went while we were here.

Our wind was a little old and maintained OK, but a little more attention to detail in the halls would be good, especially vacuuming the edges of the halls as they were just a little dusty. The size, furnishing and cleanliness of the room we had was great. The daily room service was also very good – no complaints there.

I did have an issue with noise: With so many groups coming and going at all hours, many of the guests did talk rather loudly in the halls. Whilst the management can not manage this, they could have better soundproofing around the doors, as our felt/rubber door stop was complete gone/worn out. This also led to the next problem, the automated door closer on each room is too abrupt and slams the doors and you get about two hours or so of slamming doors in the evening and again in the night: Not conducive to restful sleep or sleep in. Having said this, the third night of our stay was not as bad as we noticed not so many tour groups in and our floor was quieter.

We did the Feast and Cultural Performance which we quite enjoyed.

We would consider staying again, but would negotiate a quieter room/location in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abisko_Lodge_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us and pleased you received a great on line deal and subsequent warm welcome on arrival. I am sorry you experienced noise from other guests; we do try to notify others to lower the noise levels if we are aware of it. I have also notified our maintenance team in regard to your comment about the door closers and these will be checked to see if any need re-adjusting to prevent the door slamming.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days for recent conference. The hotel has been the same for many years now and is in need of a revamp. I have stayed there on and off for 20 years now and the place hasn't really changed. Had breakfast the first morning and decided to head into town the remaining 2 mornings. It was cold and poorly cooked, and making your own toast took forever!
The staff are generally very helpful and the bar staff both nights looked after us. The room I had was on the bottom floor and felt a bit like a cave.
Overall, I will opt to stay elsewhere in Rotorua from now on.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs if you can... Better views and better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulaHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with the Executive Chef and apologise if breakfast was not up to standard on the day your dined. I am pleased our staff were helpful and that you were otherwise well looked after. I note your comment in regard to a revamp and can advise we do have plans for refreshing areas in 2013 so hope that we do see you return some time in the future. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing