We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC, RELAXING, WONDERFUL PLACE, Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed November 23, 2012

On 17th & 18th November 2012 I stayed at The Millenium Hotel, Rotorua, NZ, with my family ( cousin ).
It was FANTASTIC, RELAXING, and WONDERFUL, and I Highly Recommend it, to other travellers.
The swimming pool was a steady, beautiful, pleasant 29 degrees , no matter what time of day and was a REALLY PLEASANT Experience, and so soothing, relaxing and stress-free. Highly Recommended.
The breakfast buffet was STUPENDOUSLY YUMMY and plenty of variety and yummily tasty and cooked superb, covering evry type of delectable tastebud. Forget the diet, the food is JUST FANTASTIC and LOOKS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Highly Recommended.
My room was absolutely well appointed and very private and blissfully QUIET and DISCREET and PEACEFUL !!!!!!!!! Just what I wanted. Highly recommended.
Very pleasant staff and reception and QUICK, QUIET and FAST SERVICE ! Highly recommended.
Having travelled to USA, and Australia and 5 -star hotels, I found this weekend stay ABSOLUTELY RELAXING, WONDERFUL AND FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!!!!!!! I highly Recommend this hotel and its very USER-Friendly.!!!!!!!!! Cheers, ENJOY, because I did !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alezix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary comments and likwise great recommendations, we do appreciate it. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our facilities so do come back !
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked the Millennium on-line based on its location and star rating. We did get a very good on-line deal.

Location in Rotorura is excellent – only a short walk to most things and Polynesian Spa is immediately behind the Millennium.

We arrived to a very warm and informative welcome which was nice considering we were a little tired from driving for a while. There was a large conference in for the entire duration of our stay and several tour bus groups came and went while we were here.

Our wind was a little old and maintained OK, but a little more attention to detail in the halls would be good, especially vacuuming the edges of the halls as they were just a little dusty. The size, furnishing and cleanliness of the room we had was great. The daily room service was also very good – no complaints there.

I did have an issue with noise: With so many groups coming and going at all hours, many of the guests did talk rather loudly in the halls. Whilst the management can not manage this, they could have better soundproofing around the doors, as our felt/rubber door stop was complete gone/worn out. This also led to the next problem, the automated door closer on each room is too abrupt and slams the doors and you get about two hours or so of slamming doors in the evening and again in the night: Not conducive to restful sleep or sleep in. Having said this, the third night of our stay was not as bad as we noticed not so many tour groups in and our floor was quieter.

We did the Feast and Cultural Performance which we quite enjoyed.

We would consider staying again, but would negotiate a quieter room/location in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abisko_Lodge_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us and pleased you received a great on line deal and subsequent warm welcome on arrival. I am sorry you experienced noise from other guests; we do try to notify others to lower the noise levels if we are aware of it. I have also notified our maintenance team in regard to your comment about the door closers and these will be checked to see if any need re-adjusting to prevent the door slamming.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days for recent conference. The hotel has been the same for many years now and is in need of a revamp. I have stayed there on and off for 20 years now and the place hasn't really changed. Had breakfast the first morning and decided to head into town the remaining 2 mornings. It was cold and poorly cooked, and making your own toast took forever!
The staff are generally very helpful and the bar staff both nights looked after us. The room I had was on the bottom floor and felt a bit like a cave.
Overall, I will opt to stay elsewhere in Rotorua from now on.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs if you can... Better views and better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulaHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

I have discussed your comments regarding breakfast with the Executive Chef and apologise if breakfast was not up to standard on the day your dined. I am pleased our staff were helpful and that you were otherwise well looked after. I note your comment in regard to a revamp and can advise we do have plans for refreshing areas in 2013 so hope that we do see you return some time in the future. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is one of the best hotel in New Zealand, clean and tidy, location is very central. We had an enjoyable and very pleasant experience with the staff so friendly, helpful and caring. The Nikau Restaurant offers scrumptious meals at a very reasonable and affordable prices. I would not have second thoughts in recommending the hotel with family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed at the second level of the hotel, although there is a bit sulphur smell, it is not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceMonzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary remarks regarding the friendly and caring staff you encountered during your recent stay with us we are fortunate to have a great team on board. I'm glad you also enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Nikau and appreciate you recommending us to your family and friends should they travel this way. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What is it about the New Zealand economy that has transpired into its hotels’ Club Levels becoming so frugal and mean? Having stayed at Club Levels around the world where 4-hour happy hours with enough volume and variety of canapés (that you don’t need to go out for dinner) are commonplace, it seems that’s no longer the case at the the Millennium.

First things first, on checking they had lost our Hotel Club booking and weren’t sure if they could house us. Unfortunately this snafu meant that we were unable to get the Lake View room with balcony on level 5 that we’d been hoping for (these are the best rooms and can be booked with or without Club Level privileges). Word to the wise – reconfirm your booking by email before arriving.

The room we were given for 2 nights (without a balcony) seemed much smaller and closed in. The amenities were fine, exactly what you’d expect of the standard of hotel. The shower was fine but has a water saving head that means you either hardly get wet, or it goes all over the floor drenching the bathroom.

Entry to the Club Level for evening canapés is greeted with a ‘Room Number’ please. If you fail to reply with the correct code then access is denied. And even once you do get access you’re now restricted to two drinks for the two-hour session. The canapés themselves are pretty ordinary: tomato, basil and smoked salmon, a smoked salmon mousse, a couple of cheeses and crackers, some sultanas or grapes, and an array of marinated vegetables (artichoke, sundried tomatoes and olives are pretty much it). There’s the odd bit of salami or prawn cocktail on other nights. It’s pretty light on.

The Club Level is walk through-style, so others can catch a glimpse of what they’re missing (or not in this case) The furnishings are quite nice and there’s a TV with the sound down, coupled with some pleasant music, so it’s a nice place to work on your laptop or read.

Breakfast is a similarly restricted fare: toast and jams, some rather stodgy pastries which were below average, some nice preserved and stewed fruit, some pretty average yoghurt, and a selection of cereals. On one morning there was also a small plate of sliced meats and cheese. And they were kind enough to cater for me with some gluten free bread.

Rex in the Club Level is a bit of a legend having been there for years) and perfectly suited to the more service oriented clientele. But other staff are less diligent - we were even surprised that dishes from our breakfast one morning were still there up until the start of canapés in the evening.

We stay at the Millennium as it’s walking distance to the Polynesian Spa. And there are a lot of sub-average hotels in Rotorua so you could do much worse. But again like my stay in Auckland I’d have to say this Club Level experience was overall disappointing and our stay was generally fairly average. My best tip is to get the Lake View Balcony room without Club Level privileges and hot foot down to the local supermarket and select some snacks, wine and breakfast items to enjoy on your balcony. It will be a lot cheaper and more delicious than the alternative.

Room Tip: Level 5 Lake View room with Balcony is the best - get it without the Club Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SigriddeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I'm sorry you felt the Club lounge offer was not adequate. We do vary the selection of evening snacks to try and accommodate most tastes. Breakfast is a continental selection but should also have included sliced melons and fresh fruit so I apologise if this was not available. Your feedback is important so I will pass your comments on to our Executive Chef. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just spent a couple of nights here attending a conference. Location is good - restaurants etc all within walking distance. Rooms a bit small and dated but clean and well-equipped. Service very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us and we're pleased the hotel met your needs and that our staff looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one of the greatest hotels we have ever stayed in. We could not find anything wrong
with this place. The staff was pleasant and meet us at the front door to take our luggage.
There is a sulphur smell but nothing . I was a little disappointed at the bar. It is a really
nice, quiet place that you can have a drink and converse with friends. When I asked for
a chocolate martini I was told they didn't have them. The bar maid was not really helpful and
wasn't overly friendly. Our room included the buffet breakfast and it was not great. We had
to hunt someone down for coffee, although they all saw us setting there and made no effort
to see if we needed anything. I would stay here again because the good outweighed the
bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the lake. It is worth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipiana W, General Manager at Millennium Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to forward your feedback and I will most certainly follow up your comments regarding service in the bar and the delay with coffee at breakfast. I am pleased that you have chsoen to return again and hope we see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#27 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $99 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing