We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveler rating
352
651
395
113
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
651
395
113
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room polynesian spa lake view large hotel buffet breakfast per day duty manager lobby area new zealand government gardens central location comfortable stay sulphur smell town centre hot pools eat street spa pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Booked as a mystery hotel deal on wotif so was pleased to get a good deal and a lake view.
Can't fault the location as its easy walking to anywhere.
Hotel wise the staff on the desk were friendly and efficient.
The rooms are ok but nothing fancy and a little worn around the edges. Had to twice request a new bath plug as the one in the room simply didn't fit.
The pool was cool but worse still had less than 1 metre visibility. Thick with chemicals presumably. The floor of it was also covered in red grit. Not recommended for swimming. Unfortunately, the spa pools weren't much better as one was out of action and the other had only half the jets working on low power.
Did the job but you would rush back.

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. From the outside it is very attractive and is in a handy location. The lobby area is large and attractive. We had a standard room so no lake views but the view of the courtyard was very nice. It had 2 double beds which were comfortable but the linen quality was average (I always appreciate my own sheets when I get home) and the pillows not great. The bathroom looked great but the shower had very poor water pressure and worst of all the water temperature fluctuated a lot. I was having a shower and no-one else in our room had a tap or anything on when all of a sudden the shower was scalding hot and this happened several times so I ended up having a cold shower as I was too worried it would go hot again. We found the room quite noisy. The air conditioning was quite loud and even when turned off it still made a noise and noise from outside our room was also very noticeable. Another disappointment was the pool. Travelling with young children the pool is always priority for us and despite stating the pool is kept at 29 degrees we found it VERY cold - there is no way the pool was the 29 degrees stated. There are 2 large communal spa pools but sadly these do not overlook the pool so you can not laze away in the spa while watching your children in the pool (if they are brave enough to go in it). We also didn't find the spa pools very warm compared to most spa pools and they were quite shallow so I had to sit on the lower step to keep my shoulders warm. All in all I don't think we would return here due to the pool and the shower.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent Christmas and New Years at the Millenium and as we were having such a long break they gave us a complimentary upgrade in accommodation. We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly and also enjoyed the Spa facilities. They have a gym agreement with a local Gym but that was closed over the break. We would definitely go again.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rendomorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Good value and decent for the money. Bought package with $50 credit towards breakfast yet on check out tried to charge us for breakfast on top. Got sorted out in end but frustrating and breakfast not worth it.

However a solid if uninspiring place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choozelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a high quality motel-style hotel, in a nice location, in an interesting city. Rotorua is full of thermal features; geysers, hot pools, etc. The rooms here were comfortable, good sized, nice furnishings. The styling is fairly unimaginative. The staff was efficient but not particularly friendly. We were "upgraded" to a club floor room, but it turned out that when we went to the club lounge for breakfast, we had to pay for coffee and a continental breakfast; when we went there for the cocktail hour, we had to buy our glass of wine. I'm not sure what the "upgrade" meant? The restaurant looked pretty expensive, but we didn't try it. The hotel is very near a famous spa, and the quite interesting Rotorua museum. Although it lists a fitness center, actually, it gives guests a pass for a center across the street and down the block. It is a decent center, though. Overall, a more than satisfactory experience.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews