We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here for a surprise birthday weekend, and found it very comfortable, and relaxing. We have stayed at many hotels around the world and found the service very good. The rooms we booked were adequate, with a lovely view of the lake. We were surprized that there were no drawers for clothes. The shower water pressure was very uncomfortable, felt like sharp needles. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. The hotel foyer is fabulous, large and very spacious. The receptionist was friendly, smiled alot and was very pleasant. We spent alot of time in the bar, watching the Rugby World Cup games, and the waitress was very attentive, and replaced our drinks, and she didn't mind us yelling out and clapping. Perhaps we should have been told that the gym was out of order when booking, and there is no privacy as the pool was surrounded by guests eating. But we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveroflife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    510
    291
    90
    37
See reviews for
242
538
63
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've stayed at this property about 5-10 times since the mid 1980s and have seen this property transform overtime. It's very central to the Polynesian Spa pools & Government House - walking distance of approx 2-5mins. The room we stayed in was a lakeview room. It was comfortable. Not really 4 star, more like a 3 star. The chairs were worn in and badly needed replacing. The staff at reception were very friendly. We didin't have breakfast there... we checked it out, but for $30pp it was VERY basic, so we went into town and have a very scrummy breakfast for $40 for the both of us. They advertise a fitness centre, but it is not there (no gym equipment what so ever). I used their Internet kisok downstairs.... I would advise no one to use this. I thought the system would be secure, but it appears it wasn't. There seems to be a key logger on their computers, which accessed my email accounts moments after leaving the property... thankfully I wasn't stupid enough to use internet banking there.... I emailed management about this, after a week I received a reply but with no talk of any compensation.... probably wont stay here again due to this...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
269 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stay at this hotel most trips to New Zealand as is very convienient to the Hot Pools, Shops & Restaurants.
Standard is OK for business & holiday, a little run down but staff are friendly and food very good.
Rooms need to be updated, not all rooms have internet facility (ADSL or wireless)which is a problem when doing business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

+ Staff was great
+ Nice local fealing
+ Self service laundry is a plus
+ Breakfast is ok
+ Free parking
+ Polynesian spa is very near, a must see tourist place
- Fitness center is at the basement, old equipment
- Rooms are average at best

Room Tip: Ask for room at the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarmoPulkkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in Millennium for one night for a weekend getaway for the family. We took advantage of the $149 deal with cook breakfast provided and 2 luge passes. Frankly I am a bit disappointed and find it hard that it is classified as a 4 star hotel considering the standard of the room. The presentation of the lobby, reception area and check in check out service was great and professional. However we are fairly disappointed with the standard of the room. They includes: (1) TV reception was poor and not well tuned (2) The sheet didn't look clean with some blood stain on it (3) Size of the room feels small with 2 double beds (4) most equipments such as TV, phones etc all seems a bit dated.

We were expecting slightly better room standard for a four star hotel.

On the other hand, we enjoy the pool and spa facilities. Good setup.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spouse and self booked for 3 x nights on a worthwhile deal of $149 p.n. to include 2 x full breakfasts. Hotel booking confirmation states "Superior Double Beds". In addition, we asked for, and the confirmation refers to, "Separate shower required - not over a spa bath or normal bath". Simple one may think.
Upon arrival the allocated room, sorry cubicle, had two single beds of the 2' 6" variety, air con of which the control was broken and one only dining-type chair. By "Separate shower", we didn't mean a mobility unit.
The Porter was great - parked car in perhaps the only available space, brought bags to cubicle and set about fixing the air con control. How he did this I will not relate but there was afterwards a room across the passage which had a defunct control. The Porter also arranged an alternative room with larger beds but the fixed shower over the bath made this a no-no. So we stayed 3-nights in the cubicle. He also borrowed from some place an additional chair upon request. This Porter was so exceptional he is probably the first ever NZ porter I have tipped.
Being on the same floor as the very grand foyer had advantages. Armchairs and settees are very comfortable with the the large windows providing good sunlight for reading and relaxing while watching the world, and other cubicle dwellers, pass by. Perhaps more importantly, proximity of the foyer to the cubicle allows carriage of filled glasses from one's personal bottle-store to consume alongside the hotel bar - when the latter is open or attended.
Of the 3 x 2 cooked breakfasts we had just 2 and settled for continental the other two mornings. Why?
1. Breakfast starts at 6.30am at which time, I presume, the lamps are lit under the bain- maries. We ate at about 8.30am by which time hot food was no longer hot and, having checked myself, 5 of the lamps were off. Cold scrambled eggs, bacon and bangers are not exactly a divine culinary items - perhaps an acquired taste?
2. The breakfast restaurant is pool-side and mighty cold at an early hour. Certainly the pool has a glass roof over but the cold comes from somewhere.
Had dinner in the main restaurant one evening. $180 for 2. (2 entrees, garlic bread (tops), 2 mains, one dessert, 3 glasses wine).
Strange thing: When leaving I tried to collect a trolley from reception for bags. Was politely approached by another Porter who said I was not allowed to use a trolley it being against Health & Safety Rules - whose he did not relate - but explained that were I to knock a guest with the trolley the hotel would be liable. He collected bags from the cubicle and left them handily near reception desk. When spouse and I were ready to place bags in car there was no sign of said Porter so I pushed bags to car and returned trolley as anyone would. If then, there is only one absent porter, is a departing guest supposedly to await his return under the Rules before loading a car. This must be a porters joke. If hotel management read this, there was just one person at reception so having another handy person do the pushing would not be the answer.
What we enjoyed: Polite and helpful staff. Proximity to town. Great and very comfortable foyer. Cost per night, excluding breakfasts, would be less than many good quality motels in Rotorua though, even management must admit, the cubicle would be a room when in a motel.
Afterthought: If the chambermaid can't find the hotel hair dryer it's in the space above the fridge - along with the packet of tea bags we failed to pack - and didn't need in the first instance.
Thank you Millennium - we would certainly stay again but not in a similar space.

Room Tip: Booking at what you see as a favourable rate may be seen differently by the hotel so you end up in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts, england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and the overwhelming memory of this hotel was how hot it was! I know it was winter in NZ but it was ridiculous! We had to keep the balcony door open most of the night. The air conditioning unit was madly temperamental and so loud.
Other than that, the hotel was fine. Overall quite clean and what you would expect from a 4 star. We had a good view of the lake and the hotel is in an excellent location - close to the shops and restaurants... Only a few minutes walk away.
The pool was very nice but wasn't impressed at having to pay for the internet use in this day and age.
Not a hotel that stands out in the memory but a very pleasant stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel Rotorua

Property: Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Address: Corner Eruera & Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#18 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4.5 star Resort Hotel with unique architectural design, located across from Polynesian Spa, near shores of Lake Rotorua, government gardens & commercial center. Fantastic facilities including gymnasium, inhouse Dayspa, The Spa, for Beauty & Massage, 2 free hot pools and a private for-hire Spa pool, saunas, 15metre heated swimming pool, Bar Zazu, Restaurant Nikau, Magically Maori Hangi & Concert, Rotorua's only Executive Club Floor with hosted Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing