We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a tour group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a tour group”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

First time we have stayed in this facility - a tour group of 25. Staff very responsive and accomodating. Seemed very professionally run. Dinning room a bit crowded but food excellent. Good communication ahead to plan menu. Cudos to Rachel on the front desk! Staff were very quick to move one guest when there was a problem with an overhead fan.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionrotorua, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is a joy to hear such positive feedback about the staff in particular, and this has been passed on to Rachel and the team.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, any problems you had were solved quickly, and we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    152
    69
    30
    13
See reviews for
112
142
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We booked the Family Package in a Deluxe Room online direct which included full breakfast for the 4 of us and late check out of midday.

Kids loved the perfectly heated pool and main spa and it was great to get extra towels for this. We were not too sure about the grottos but thats just our opinion.

Breakfast was fine. There is an extra charge for 'Cafe Style' coffee but signs advise you of this. Filter Coffee was included and was not too bad.

The rooms however were quite hot at night, there is no airconditioning just a ceiling fan.

Curtains made the room nice and dark tho which was great. Good mid range property.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It's really great to hear that the whole family had a good time, and that our staff were helpful in giving you extra towels.

Please accept our apologies on the air-conditioning. We are currently undergoing a massive refurbishment and this takes time and money.

I sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again here at Distinction.

Regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Family room is fantastic, 2 rooms , 2 flat screen Tv's.
Pool area is amazing, couldn't keep the kids out of the pool.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Buffet breakfast was really good.
This will be our hotel of choice from now on for Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_dudeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. With your comments we can continue to review and improve our service to you.

It's great to hear that you and your family had a good time, and we hope that you will consider coming to stay with us again some time.

Regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

great place...family room 2 rooms 2 tv screens dvd player,right by the pool...friendly staff...little bit noisy in the mornings with all the tour groups up early but the pool amazing we could hardly drag the kids away.we had a boat which we put outside reception each night thought it would be a hassle but the staff made it all easy.Breakfast included,fruit mueli etc ok,,,cooked a little tired but kids loved it....couldnt recommend the place highly enough!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Front Office Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Rotorua. We would like to thank you for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. It is quite a joy to read positive feedback from our guests. We are so happy to hear that the whole family enjoyed it here.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.


Regards
Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked a deluxe suite with the skyline luge package after enjoying the package in January where we did the lakeland queen lunch cruise package.
We totally enjoyed the hospitality & the facilities, everything was clean the staff were excellent, the room was ready when we arrived. The pool area is just lovely.
We have another family function next month & have booked the treat the family package & am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Front Office Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
We would like to thank you for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. At Distinction we pride ourselves in delivering good customer service to our guests; it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed some of our packages.

It is only with comments from our guests that we can meet and exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Nice comfortable place to stay in Rotorua. The highlight was the Mr Yakitori restaurant and the décor and ambience of the D bar. Very good service from staff, would recommend for a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Rotorua. We would like to thank you for taking time to comment on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Mr. Yakitori Japanese dining bar and liked the décor and ambience of the D’Bar and most of all the good service from our staffs.

It is only with comments from our guests that we can meet and exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I was disapointed & did follow up our bad stay with a letter of complaint to the General Manager, but have had no reply.
This was a special family weekend for us, as it was our 9th wedding anniversary.
I booked the family room as we have 2 toddlers.
Upon arrival at the right checkin time, we had to wait over an hour in the lobby seating area, for our room to be cleaned & prepared for us. This was hard with two toddlers & frustrating as WE had to continually ask for progress reports. Grumpy start to our stay!
Finally we went to our room, which was nice & presentable. EXCEPT for the leftover soap from the previous person in the shower/bath soap holder, the toothpaste scum on the basin & only having 2 towels, when there was 4 of us. I was so mad, as I had planned this stay for us & expected it to be nice.
Asked for our room to be serviced on the saturday while we were out for the day. Returned saturday afternoon to find the cleaner in our room part way thru her service. I offered to help by putting out our used towels & getting more, plus an extra 2 for the kids.
But I could not believe my eyes when I saw her fill the bathroom basin with water and then start washing our coffee cups & saucers!!!!! I asked her for some new ones, and she just said "oh this is what we usually do". That is just the most nasty & unhygenic thing ever!!!!
The place where we clean our hands after using the toilet was where our cups & glasses were being RINSED. Need I mention that some tourists use the basin to wash personal items?!!

The buffet breakfast was abit of a saving grace for our stay, the morning staff were fabulous & friendly, the food was great!! Also dining at the D Bar was lovely.

So, with all the bad things, plus the fact we heard NOTHING from our letter of complaint, I would not recommend staying at Distinction Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherlockBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Front Office Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor.
Firstly our sincere apologies for not replying to your initial letter of complaint, our normal procedure is to contact you immediately however it appears that this was missed.

We are sorry that your stay with us started off to a bad start. Even though we endeavour to have rooms ready from 2pm onwards we are not always able to meet this deadline (due to late checkouts and/or busy hotel). However even if we can not meet this deadline you should have been updated on the status by the person on duty.

Regarding the standard of our housekeeping which you found on check in and during the servicing of your room – we have implemented changes since you stayed with us and we have retrained our supervisors on the correct procedure for checking the standards of our rooms before they pass them over to front line staff to check in guests.

We appreciate all feedback as this helps us to ensure we are meeting our guest’s expectations. We have on this occasion met this for meals but unfortunately we have let ourselves down as far as the room side.

Regards

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing