We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Rotorua”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Nice comfortable place to stay in Rotorua. The highlight was the Mr Yakitori restaurant and the décor and ambience of the D bar. Very good service from staff, would recommend for a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Rotorua. We would like to thank you for taking time to comment on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Mr. Yakitori Japanese dining bar and liked the décor and ambience of the D’Bar and most of all the good service from our staffs.

It is only with comments from our guests that we can meet and exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Regards

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    157
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
116
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I was disapointed & did follow up our bad stay with a letter of complaint to the General Manager, but have had no reply.
This was a special family weekend for us, as it was our 9th wedding anniversary.
I booked the family room as we have 2 toddlers.
Upon arrival at the right checkin time, we had to wait over an hour in the lobby seating area, for our room to be cleaned & prepared for us. This was hard with two toddlers & frustrating as WE had to continually ask for progress reports. Grumpy start to our stay!
Finally we went to our room, which was nice & presentable. EXCEPT for the leftover soap from the previous person in the shower/bath soap holder, the toothpaste scum on the basin & only having 2 towels, when there was 4 of us. I was so mad, as I had planned this stay for us & expected it to be nice.
Asked for our room to be serviced on the saturday while we were out for the day. Returned saturday afternoon to find the cleaner in our room part way thru her service. I offered to help by putting out our used towels & getting more, plus an extra 2 for the kids.
But I could not believe my eyes when I saw her fill the bathroom basin with water and then start washing our coffee cups & saucers!!!!! I asked her for some new ones, and she just said "oh this is what we usually do". That is just the most nasty & unhygenic thing ever!!!!
The place where we clean our hands after using the toilet was where our cups & glasses were being RINSED. Need I mention that some tourists use the basin to wash personal items?!!

The buffet breakfast was abit of a saving grace for our stay, the morning staff were fabulous & friendly, the food was great!! Also dining at the D Bar was lovely.

So, with all the bad things, plus the fact we heard NOTHING from our letter of complaint, I would not recommend staying at Distinction Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherlockBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Front Office Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor.
Firstly our sincere apologies for not replying to your initial letter of complaint, our normal procedure is to contact you immediately however it appears that this was missed.

We are sorry that your stay with us started off to a bad start. Even though we endeavour to have rooms ready from 2pm onwards we are not always able to meet this deadline (due to late checkouts and/or busy hotel). However even if we can not meet this deadline you should have been updated on the status by the person on duty.

Regarding the standard of our housekeeping which you found on check in and during the servicing of your room – we have implemented changes since you stayed with us and we have retrained our supervisors on the correct procedure for checking the standards of our rooms before they pass them over to front line staff to check in guests.

We appreciate all feedback as this helps us to ensure we are meeting our guest’s expectations. We have on this occasion met this for meals but unfortunately we have let ourselves down as far as the room side.

Regards

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at The Distinction in Rotorua for 3 nights in May as part of a prize package. What a welcoming and friendly hotel, from check in to check out, the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. Extra towels, no problem - want to know a scenic route for a jog - no problem.
Our room was very comfy with 2 queen beds. We were on the go from 8 am to 10 pm, so didn't have much time to spend in the room but my husband and I slept brilliantly (all that fresh air perhaps?). My only quibble, no hair dryer in the room! Otherwise fantastic.
Breakfast buffet was also a highlight with everything you could want to eat and plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, pastries and an ample cooked breakfast.
yes, it is a little out of town, about half an hour walk, but it didn't bother us as we were out and about all day and our transport was organised.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. I would like to thank you for all the positive feedbacks about our team members, the breakfast and the hotel room that you stayed at. I have passed your comments to respective Head of Departments so that they can share this with them. Thank you again for your feedback; it is with feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve our service.

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully will see you again next time you visit New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Enjoyed 2 nights here on a midweek promotional rate, which delivered great value for money. Plus points are cleanliness, good pool facilities, friendly staff and a great little on-site yakitori bar. Only minor downsides are that its location is slightly further out of town (10 mins in a taxi), and a slightly soulless atmosphere (target market seems to primarily be tour groups, conferences and business travellers)

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Rotorua and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. It’s pleasing to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness, good pool facilities, friendly staff and our Mr. Yakitori Restaurant. Our location is not in town centre but is very close to town. I was disappointed to read your comment that the hotel has a slightly soulless atmosphere and that our target market seems to be more towards groups, conferences and business travellers. Our hotel handles different market types. During school holidays we are very busy with families and during the time of your stay we had a big wedding party. Being main tourist destination in the North Island, Rotorua is always busy with tour groups. Hope this will not prevent you from coming back in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Booked this as a last minute break via internet/phone was offered a "deluxe room" discounted including a complimentary breakfast which we were well chuffed about. Staff were excellent very polite and friendly and bags were carried to our room. We had checked in early and reception did their best to ensure room ready a bit earlier which was great. The only small thing was there were no bath towels in our room, (there were hand towels though). When we asked reception they sorted this for us and warm fluffy towels were waiting for us when we got back a while later. Room was immaculate and so was bathroom (and I am very fussy)! The room had everything we needed we were well impressed.! Infact the whole hotel was immaculately presented from what we saw. Pool facilites great and the spa pool was wonderful (really warm and relaxing). Hotel was very quiet and it was great to have Sky TV (home from home). We talked to a few people who thought it was great value for money and have been back 2 or 3 times. It was ideally situated and town is not far down the road with a big Pak N Save supermarket on the doorstep and lots of other shops and restaurants on the doorstep. We ate out at one of the local pubs and the food there was brilliant. The hotels bar was nice and relaxing and the complimentary breakfast was excellent too. We wished we had booked another nights stay.
Will definitely go back again hopefully same time next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymoo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 18, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about having no bath towels in your room upon check in. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. I would also like to thank you for your positive feedback about our team members and the hotel facilities. I have passed your comments onto the Department Heads concerened so that they can share this with our team members.

Thank you again for your feedback; it is with feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regrds

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Renovations haven't reached the room we had, and the lake and mountain view didn't make up for the tired fittings. And one morning we had no hot water in our part of the hotel, and we were told we could use the showers down by the gym - or wait half an hour for maintenance to fix the problem.
The pool, and the outdoor spa pool, were clean and nice - but the hot spas in the basement were unwelcoming and appeared grimy, as well as having the 'Flintstone' shaping another reviewer described.
The bar, with friendly service, and the generous-portioned bar snacks, were good, though.
We also went to the Maori concert and buffet. Performers worked hard and managed to appear fresh, but many dishes in the buffet ran out before we got there, particularly the desserts, which weren't replenished.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Firstly I would like to thank you for such a detailed synopsis of your recent stay, it is only with comments from our guests that we can meet and exceed your expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, our friendly service and the generous-portioned bar snacks. We are busy with a multi million dollar refurbishment program and are continuing the renovations which will cover the next lot accommodation rooms. I was disappointed to read your comments about no hot water. During your stay we had a problem with one of our tank that supplies hot water to the accommodation rooms. And the only parts of the hotel that are not affected are the gym, conference area and restaurants. Because it was going to take 30 minutes to rectify the problem you were offered the gym shower as a solution if you were on a time schedule. Hope this will not prevent you for coming back and looking forward to welcoming you back in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2009

After Google searching accommodation in Rotorua, I came across the Suite Celebrations package at Distinction - one night in a suite, dinner, breakfast and complementary use of all pools/spas for $249 per night; so I booked two nights.
When we arrived staff were polite, professional, fun and chatty; it was the easiest and most hassle-free check in I have ever experienced. They answered all requests promptly and with pleasure. Dinner was simple but tasty; breakfast was AMAZING, and the bedroom, sitting room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and stylish - I felt quite posh!
Every thing on our whole romantic weekend away went perfectly - and I have no doubt it was mainly because of our time at Distinction Hotel, and its staff. I've recommended it to others, who have had the same fantastic experience, and we are going back for two nights on a mini-honeymoon in January. I can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionMgmt, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 18, 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to place your comment on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that the hotel met your expectation during your stay. It is good to hear that you enjoy your romantic weekend. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and your comments are very important to us.

Thank you again for your feedback; it is with feedback such as yours that we are able to continually improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing