We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here recently for 4 nights and enjoyed the spacious room with comfortable beds and sky tv. The private grotto spas were pretty cool and the outdoor heated pool is open to guests until 11pm. The meals were not very generous in the restaurant so we only ate here once but the food was great apart from the portions and the location is very convenient to the city centre and an array of bars and restaurants. We also had room service one night after arriving back to the hotel late. Its a basic menu but the service was promt, the food tasty & very affordable. My only disappointment was the wifi price . . . very expensive! My other recommendation would be to provide rooms with more information regarding the hotel layout, restaurant/bar times, local activities etc. Great stay overall! thanks!

Room Tip: We enjoyed peaceful nights' sleep on the first floor, overlooking the garden. Hope that helps. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShortyMc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Greetings ShortyMC86, so excellent you could join us for 4 nights, did you try our extensive buffet breakfast, there’s nothing small about those meals – great way to start the day. After comparisons around town, our Wi-Fi is priced well as we sell on a data usage basis, not a straight $30 for 12 hours, so you only need to purchase the amount you want to actually use, nothing gets wasted. We do have some great packages that include free Wi-Fi. You must have missed the hotels array of menus in the three fold compendium, I will look into the location of this information within the room, to make sure it’s viewable when searching. We hope you wish us again next time your over this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 439 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was outdated. No free wifi, instead there was a cost of $5 for 200mg. Dirty bedspreads, poor shower, noisy fan. The staff were not particularly helpful or attentive and the hotel food was terrible. Would not recommend, certainly should not be a four star hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello Ashleigh B, our sincere apologies your stay was not to the expected standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed there during Easter weekend for 2 nights on the 17 & 18th April with " Sweet Suite Package". The package comes with breakfast, dinner & a large suite room. The room was just refurbished , you can still smell the new cabinetry work when you walk into the room. The room was large , nice and comfortable with 2 large new LG smart TVs. All you can use wifi was included in the package too, although the reception is not very good in the bedroom especially when you try to watch iPad on the bed. But you get good and fast connection in living room.

We asked for a higher level room during the booking and we had our room on level 4 (RM 414) which is great. Very nice view from our balcony.

We have stayed in this hotel around 10 years ago when it still called Grand Tiara Hotel.

We enjoyed our return at Distinction Rotorua this time , will definitely return & recommend to everyone.

Just realised our bottle of wine which was included in your package never turn up during our stay. But it's ok, still give 10/10 for our stay. Good excuse to come back & grab our bottle on our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool are very noisy if there is a group of teens in it. Pool not close until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petedwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Greetings Petedwina, we are so please you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Sweet Suite package is an excellent way to pamper yourself for a weekend. I hope you got to enjoy a meal in one of our four restaurants and bar outlets aside from the extensive buffet breakfast that was part of your package. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We chose a "Sweet treat" package... dinner, bed, breakfast & bottle of wine.
Great value for money. Lovely spacious suite, which looked out over pool and garden.
Set menu dinner, as part of the deal, but a good choice of entrée, mains an dessert. And
your bottle of wine to compliment it. Breakfast also offered a wide choice, even at 9.15am.
I enjoyed an afternoon by the heated pool, swimming and enjoying the surrounds.

We had booked for 2 nights, but unfortunately my husband was "ill" the morning of the
2nd day. By lunchtime we had decided to return home (we were only an hour away from
where we live) as he did not improve. The staff were extremely caring, helpful and understanding and we had "full support " for our decision, with no problems cancelling the 2nd night..... thankyou again.!
Although this Hotel is a little way from town centre, it is handy to the Golf course and Geyserland
thermal area. Also quiet.


.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAUPOKIWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Warm Greetings TAUPOKIWIS
Glad you did enjoy your time here and we hope you both can come back and finish celebrating your Anniversary at a later date.
Everyone wishes you well and hopes your recovery is going well !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a great time staying one night here.
Clean room, Heated pool, very unique underground private grotto spas.
Buffet Breakfast is one of the best in Rotorua. And very Friendly and active Hotel Concierge.(Amanda L)
One of my favorite hotels in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZYKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hello NZYKC, thanks for taking the time to place your comments, really pleased you enjoyed your stay and tried out our facilities. Wonderful to hear the staff looked after you well !! We hope to see you again for your next breakaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Let's start with Rotorua - personally, I find it hard to love a place that smells like rotten egg gas but hey it is a pretty place and something of an adventure capital!

The Distinction is a spacious, if a little tired hotel on the edge of town. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. Food in the hotel is OK, nothing special.

We were at the hotel for a work conference and it worked well for the purpose. I wouldn't choose to stay here for a personal visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank MrsHuxtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Kia Ora MrsHuxtable,
Rotorua is certainly unique that’s what makes us different to every other city people visit, it does make it all part of the experience, for those that want to experience and try new things.
Yes our foyer & hallway areas are yet to have there make over, however the four restaurant and bar outlets are modern but still with warmth and are a welcoming environment to all.
We hope you enjoyed the conference you were attending.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We enjoyed our one night at Distinction Rotorua - the facilities are somewhat dated but overall the stay was comfortable. The bed was comfy, the shower warm and the breakfast satisfactory. Location is at the opposite end of Fenton St from the lake, a 5 minute drive away if you have a vehicle. The WiFi is not stable and required constant reconnection and moving about the room to get the strength to maintain a connection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navman_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hello Navman_Tom, were pleased you could visit with us and you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel. We understand your comments on the foyer being dated, but do hope you enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms and food & beverage outlets. Very strange about the Wifi signal, we are doing strength checks on it now, which so far have come up very positive but well keep checking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
1,251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $113 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing