We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$155
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$126
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
157
167
96
33
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
167
96
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr yakitorihigh teagrotto spadeluxe roompavilion restaurantkids roombreakfast buffetpool areatop floorfenton streetan upgradestayed here for one nighttown centrehot poolsnew zealandgrottosspas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 470 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were strapped for a place to stay yesterday and rang up Distinction and the lovely woman at the desk gave us a room straight away and bumped us up to a deluxe suite for the same price. Arrived to the lady who was helpful and friendly. Room was very clean with really nice furnishings. Close to town and nice views from the balcony. Only fault would be the rusty fire hose thing in the bathroom on the roof lol. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. Five stars!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kendyll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Glad you called in Kendyll H and enjoyed your quick stay with us. Hope you got to try some of the dining options we have available for you. And the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. We hope to see you again soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It was a spare of the moment trip to Rotorua, to have some R&R. We hadn't stayed at Distintion Hotel before, but thought the reviews looked good and the price was good too. What we liked was that the price was for the room, not based on configuration. At other hotels we were going to have to pay for the 2 adults and then 2 children as extra.
We were pleasantly surprised by the very impressive look and feel of the Hotel, very helpful and friendly staff (especially Victor, Manager at the reception), and central location.
The facilities were fantastic, the kids had a ball in the pools and Jacuzzi - Great for families...and would be just as great for a romantic getaway with the hubby next time! Will definitely be back again!! Thanks so much :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We will look forward to seeing you again Josie W and family. What can I say except thank you!

Thank you for coming to stay with us and thank you for this review !!

Your kind words on our Duty Manager Victor have been passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a great New Years Eve at the Distinction Hotel after a spur of the moment decision to stay in Rotorua. Our room was great, 2 king size beds, very private with a leafy outlook. Large bathroom and small balcony and was in a quiet part of the hotel and had the best black out curtains. Great for those of us who like a really dark room to sleep in. The only small flaw was we couldn't get any cooling to work and it was really hot in the room when we first arrived. We had a really nice dinner outside by the pool on a beautiful sunny evening and the buffet breakfast was extensive and only $10pp. Service was great as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Happy New Year TraceyD, so glad you decided to pop in for a visit and enjoyed your time with us. It’s brilliant being able to relax around the pool having your evening meal, you really feel like you’re on a break. In any hotel you stay in if the temperature in the room is not where you’d like it to be, just contact reception, we can have that sorted for you in no time. Our extensive buffet breakfast would have set you right for your days travels, we hope you used the egg station and the Chef cooked them to your liking!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent one night here during the labour weekend. We took the package deal which included the Skyline and Lug ride. The room has two double beds which can accommodate a couple with two kids comfortably. The hotel itself is not new but I think the room has been refurbished and looked very clean. The bathroom is reasonably sized but there was some difficulties to adjust the hot/cold water in the shower. There is a heated pool and spa an early work out or evening chill out. There are two parking lots on both sides of the hotel but it's more convenient to park on the street in front of the hotel. The hotel is about 10 mins walk or 5 mins drive to town centre. The heater does make some noise at night but it didn't disturb our sleep.

We had to pay for the wifi, which is now free in most hotels around the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Greetings KC K from Auckland. Labour weekend seems so far away now, can I suggest it’s time for another holiday? We have more packages on offer so you could try something new this time?
Don’t forget to view our website for offers on www.distinctionrotorua.co.nz or of course if you want to spread your wings more, Distinction now have nine properties nationwide, you can view all on www.distinctionhotels.co.nz. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were nice, and we liked the new bathrooms. Service was excellent, all the staff were friendly and happy to help. Parking is outside and security cameras only seem to record in the centre lot of the car park between their two main light poles so definitely keep that in mind when parking unattended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Happy New Year Shinkz, were glad you could come for a visit recently. With our four restaurants and bar facilities along with the outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and private grottos, there’s a lot on offer for everyone. We are really pleased to hear the “service was excellent” from our team. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews