We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review on the service at the Distinction.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Review on the service at the Distinction.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent our Honeymoon there two years ago, the Restaurants are good the atmosphere unpretentious, the service polite and prompt. The best place to eat, Japanese food and buffet breakfast. Good specials.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello Mark B, Glad to see you enjoyed your Honeymoon here two years ago. There have been a lot of chances since your visit, we do hope you have visited since to try the different menu’s, BBQ’s and entertainment since. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    157
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
116
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights recently at the Distinction Rotorua and was very surprised by just how big and lovely the suites were at this hotel. Lovely modern decor, very comfortable bed and massive bathroom. Enjoyed drinks both nights in the D Bar, as well as some lovely grazing food. The staff were helpful and the food from the Japanese restaurant onsite was yum. The bar staff very kindly organised to bring the food into the bar area so that we didn't need to go to the restaurant to try the food.

Only downside is that the hotel is about 3 to 4 km's from the centre of town so more than just a short walk if you want to get out and try somewhere else to eat.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fork Talk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us Fork Talk O, it’s brilliant you got to enjoy our newly refurbished suites and some of our facilities here at Distinction Rotorua. There is another restaurant onsite as well – total of four outlets to choose from so something different for each night. I hope you got to relax in the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi in between your daily activities, Rotorua has lot to offer. We hope to see you back again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A wonderful experience. Very friendly staff and the room was very clean, and once the heater was on (only took a few minutes to warm up) very cosy. The bar area was homely and the meals are very moresh. I forgot to take my swimming shorts but a late night or early morning dip in the pool would have been fabulous...next time I shall remember...Thank you To the staff and cleaners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herewini E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
HerewiniE we are pleased you could visit us recently. Shame about the togs, the outdoor heated pool & Jacuzzi are great areas to relax. I know you’ll remember next time but don’t forget The Warehouse & other stores are only 5 minutes’ drive down the road. With 4 food & beverage outlets to choose from you’re never short of options to tantalise your taste buds. We hope to see you again soon – review our website for deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while she was attending a conference on site. The room was comfortable and reasonably spacious although a little dark. No minibar but the fridge could be stocked on request. Very clean & tidy. The corridors are looking tired and in need of upgrade however I understand that is already planned. Nice outdoors area including hot pools etc. The conference facilities are excellent according to my wife.
The only slightly strange experience was not quite being able to find the front door. The signage from the main street which you come along from Rotorua City directs you to reception through the car park. The large doors adjacent to the car park however are not the front entrance but the entrance to the conference facilities. To get to reception you have to walk through the hotel corridors or actually walk to the street on the other side of the car park and along the road 30 meters. Not a major just a surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardioKiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi CardioKiwitraveller, glad you came across this weekend. It seems everyone did enjoy the conference and got a lot of benefit out of the presentations and trade stands. You are correct the reception (located on Trigg Ave) does catch a few people. As Fenton is the main street, we try to direct others round to the other side of the building. We will review our signage to see what we can change to be of more assistance. I hope while you were you got to try out some of the facilities like the outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi or private grotto’s. We hope to see you again soon – maybe this time for a holiday?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while in town for the Tough Guy & Gal Event.
The Hotel is at the quieter end of town so no vehicle/ boy racer noise at night.
On arrival walking through the revolving doors (who can't resist going round at least twice) the staff were very very pleasant and friendly. They took their time to fully explain what was on offer and where everything was located.
We had one of the deluxe rooms on the top floor. Very neat and tidy and had that feel of class to it.
Amazing BIG comfy bed! Big new Television plus 3 armchairs. Bathroom was clean and modern and plenty of towels etc.
Breakfast was plentiful, staff again super friendly.
Only negative if I had to find one, carpark is located around the back, not secure although video monitored. No problems while we were there. Only tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. A microwave would have been handy but I guess it is a Hotel and not a Motel.
Didn't manage to make use of the pool or the spa pool grotto but will next time for sure.

A very nice Hotel with plenty of facilities and easy access to all the major roads and attractions

Room Tip: top floor overlooking the pool area with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hope you enjoyed the Tough Guy & Tough Girl Challenge whilst here kiwiguy39. Very pleased you have enjoyed the services & our team. Maybe on your next visit you could get to relax in the Jacuzzi, or dine in our Mr Yakitori for that something different. There’s another challenge coming up again soon, we hope to see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed at Distinction Hotel a few times now and I will continue to do so every time I travel to Rotorua. The rooms are very spacious and modern with large modern televisions and very comfortable beds. I make use of the gym almost every time I stay, especially after I eat at the absolutely yummy Yakitori Japanese Restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay, whether that be for business or pleasure. Gold Star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kiwisalestar, thank you so much for your continued support. It’s great to hear that our refurbished rooms have been a hit and yes Mr Yakitori is an excellent restaurant. As you know the gym facilities are basic but have what necessary for a work out, away from peoples local gym’s. We hope to welcome you again soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a good hotel. I'm between a 3.5 and a 4. We visited in Feb 2013 and the room was comfortable and well appointed with satellite TV and free WiFi - the latter much appreciated. The room was very clean and the breakfast we had was of a good standard. Indeed, we rolled in a touch late for breakfast and the staff were very gracious in making sure we had what we wanted as they cleared away around us. As we arrived late in the evening, we were not able to make use of the three restaurants on site, but I loved the idea of a Japanese restaurant. There was also a buffet or a la carte dining option. This hotel also has a nightly Maori dinner/show if that kind of thing appeals. We paid £110 for our double room, without breakfast, which was okay value but not great. We also ordered dinner in our room the night we stayed, and that was pretty good - decent portion sizes. Breakfast and room service combined was £45.

Room Tip: We had room 248 - see my photo. We didn't have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Jo64adventures from West London, were pleased you could make it to Rotorua, New Zealand. And by the photo’s we put on some great weather for you also. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were accommodating to your needs. The deluxe rooms you chose to book were recently upgraded so comfort and relaxation during your travels would have been high. We hope you can come visit again next time your over this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing