We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room and Yummy Japanese Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed at Distinction Hotel a few times now and I will continue to do so every time I travel to Rotorua. The rooms are very spacious and modern with large modern televisions and very comfortable beds. I make use of the gym almost every time I stay, especially after I eat at the absolutely yummy Yakitori Japanese Restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay, whether that be for business or pleasure. Gold Star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Kiwisalestar, thank you so much for your continued support. It’s great to hear that our refurbished rooms have been a hit and yes Mr Yakitori is an excellent restaurant. As you know the gym facilities are basic but have what necessary for a work out, away from peoples local gym’s. We hope to welcome you again soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 431 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a good hotel. I'm between a 3.5 and a 4. We visited in Feb 2013 and the room was comfortable and well appointed with satellite TV and free WiFi - the latter much appreciated. The room was very clean and the breakfast we had was of a good standard. Indeed, we rolled in a touch late for breakfast and the staff were very gracious in making sure we had what we wanted as they cleared away around us. As we arrived late in the evening, we were not able to make use of the three restaurants on site, but I loved the idea of a Japanese restaurant. There was also a buffet or a la carte dining option. This hotel also has a nightly Maori dinner/show if that kind of thing appeals. We paid £110 for our double room, without breakfast, which was okay value but not great. We also ordered dinner in our room the night we stayed, and that was pretty good - decent portion sizes. Breakfast and room service combined was £45.

Room Tip: We had room 248 - see my photo. We didn't have a pool view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Jo64adventures from West London, were pleased you could make it to Rotorua, New Zealand. And by the photo’s we put on some great weather for you also. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were accommodating to your needs. The deluxe rooms you chose to book were recently upgraded so comfort and relaxation during your travels would have been high. We hope you can come visit again next time your over this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the hotel again with friends on a Grabone deal which included dinner and breakfast. All areas are still tired and in need of some care. We had different types of room than our previous stay.The covers in two of our rooms again had some stains on them. The food wasn't bad, but nothing to rave about. For us the biggest draw-card was the grotto pools and outdoor heated pool and we had a great time there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Greetings mala1972, were pleased you came and visited us again. Our owner has had a continuous refurbishment program running on this hotel for the last few years, our four restaurants and bars have been completely upgraded, all our superior & deluxe accommodation rooms (124 rooms) have been upgraded with our 9 suites currently being refurbished. I can only assume your comment on being tired, relates to our corridors which still need to be upgraded, they are on the plans but obviously a last priority as we are trying to make the areas our guests spent the most time the priority. The Grabone Grill special has been very popular and enjoyed by many. If you want something more inviting our restaurants & bar menus have a lot to offer and great value. Also you should try Mr Yakitori – that’s something very different and is always raved about. Were pleased you enjoyed the Grotto’s, they are very different and it seems people either like or hate them, but again something a bit different to experience here at Distinction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended the Distiction hotel for a conference of approximate 40 people, we were pretty much the only people in the hotel and staff were sparse. Check in was good, bag in room by the end of first day of conference which was great. The room was clean and tidy but the radiator in the room was stuck on the highest setting and it couldn't be turned off, there was no air con in the room, just a noisy fan and it was the same for most colleagues. There was a strong smell of paint in the hallways also. The food overall was great, however the service on the night of 13th June was quite terrible for some, we were the ONLY people in the dining room and we asked to pull tables together in order to eat as a group, only to be told we couldn't as they didn't have a single water bottle on them. For the amount we paid overall, pushing six tables should not have been a challenge. As the customer, we were not at the heart if service and more an annoyance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RieBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you RieBob for bringing these issues to our attention. I have been working through your comments made. My sincere apologies your stay wasn’t 100%, but we will do everything we can to fix / correct for future. The paint smell is very unfortunate, we are lucky enough to be getting another refurbishment, on the last of our accommodation rooms, our nine suites are being made over at present, and unfortunately even with the airing we did, because of the colder weather about we must have closed up to soon. I hope your able to visit again and see the marked changes at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here in May of this year and had an amazing stay! The staff at this hotel are some of the hardest working I've ever seen! They are real multi-taskers and were all wonderful. We felt they really went above what was necessary to help people and I would stay here again without hesitation. We also felt the price was quite reasonable for what you get. We ate at only one of the restaurants there - the pavilion. The food there was really amazing, very well done and reasonably priced. It is in a nice quiet area and close to other places to eat if you prefer to do a bit more exploring.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Jodenator, thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the team at Distinction Rotorua. We are pleased you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, the Pavilion does have an great garden view to relax and enjoy your dining experience. Maybe on your next visit you could try one of the other restaurants on site like Mr Yakitori Sake Bar, which offers a very different dining experience. We hope to see you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Distinction before and both times it's been amazing.

The motel is a little dated but boasts 5 floors of large rooms.

We were pleased to work with Elle from the front desk and because we were meeting up with relatives; she was able to ensure our rooms were side by side with an inter connecting door.

The pools are fantastic, with a main pool, a very large jaquizzi and several small underground spa pools and sauna.

A perfect 'getaway' weekend.

Room Tip: Could only be better if they came with a kitchenette. Fridge with kettle for coffees/teas only. No...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Neil S from Fielding, glad you came back to visit us again this May. Yes Elle is extremely helpful and will go out of her way to make guests have an enjoyable stay. The hotel has been undergoing a refurbishment over the last 4 years, we have completed all our Superior & deluxe rooms, all restaurants & bars and right now our suites are being upgraded. Just the corridors & reception to go. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My stay was great with one exception. The reception was an unnecessary mess. I got three room keys before I got the right room key. I was not impressed with this. The room was very clean and well presented. The TV reception was cloudy but not really an issue. Perhaps a couple more channels would be appropriate. Plastic water glasses was not appropriate for the Conference I was attending. Great meals which were reasonably priced. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Max L, I trust you enjoyed your conference and it was informative for your needs. I will look into the key issuing at reception. In regards to the plastic glasses, these are used for our water coolers and when conference numbers are large as we make up several water stations for all to be able to reach. I hope you got to use some of the facilities around the hotel and managed to get in some relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $99 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing