We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Scheemda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“nice to stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A very good place to stay with excellent rooms. This is a very big hotel, just like our room. We thought we had a Kingssuite. And that television... a 42 inch widescreen. We joined dinner in the japanese restaurant. Food was good and tasty but is was served a little bit quickly.

Room Tip: we stayed in a twinroom (two kingbeds) 407 ore 409, just ask iff there is a 42 inch tele
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Hi JaapScheemda, so pleased you enjoyed the large flat screens, certainly nice to relax in front off. Thank you for your comments on the foos coming out to quick, I will discuss with our Mr Yakitori team about that, but it’s great you got to experience our Japanese style Sake bar, it’s definitely something a little different. The room you stayed in was a recently refurbished Deluxe, so next time your booking just ask for Deluxe on the 4th, they all have the 42” & you’ll be enjoying the same again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    155
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
113
143
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The only bad thing about this hotel is the location. Unfortunately it is a bit of a distance from the CBD, which is fine if you have a car or are willing to pay for taxis. The room was great - I think we must have been upgraded to a suite as we had a lounge area and kitchenette too! The staff were great, really friendly, it has a guest laundry which is only $2 and free wifi in reception. The thermal swimming pool and spa pool wer also great, as were the private grotto hot pools!
We are going back to Rotorua next week, however this time have chosen to stay in the CBD itself, however I would happily stay at the Distinction again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Greenrobert – glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We often offer complimentary upgrades if we have the suites available and they would suit the requirements. Sorry you feel we are too far from town, it’s about a 3-5 minute drive or a couple of dollars by local bus that passes our reception area. The $2 for washing machine also includes the washing powder which is automatically dispensed into the machines. Our team do try very hard to make all feel welcome during their stay, so it’s always fantastic to hear comments from our guests. I do hope we get to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was our second time to stay here, and we would definitely stay again and recommend others to stay too.

The rooms are not huge, but are big enough for a family of four - with two queen sized beds and a separate bathroom containing a shower over a bath, toilet and handbasin. A small fridge is provided in the room for keeping your drinks chilled. Although they don't have the fridge stocked with minibar items you can order these, which is a great idea after we have had problems in other hotels due to previous guests taking drinks and not telling anyone at check-out! (I wish more hotels would adopt this way of supplying minibar items!)

Our sons loved cooling off in the large outdoor swimming pool. A nearby outdoor spa pool was also great for soaking in. There are three grotto spa pools too, however they are beginning to look a bit run-down, and the bubbles didn't work when the button was pressed (at least that was the case in the pool we went in).

We didn't have breakfast here, but there is a large restaurant on the premises and also an Asian restaurant, and conference facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Hi chynna, Thanks so much for your comments.
Sounds like the family had a great time, having the pool & spa facilities is excellent for relaxation we are pleased you got to enjoy them.
We have a great Treat the Family deal which includes breakfast that may interest you for the next time you visit, check out our website for more information. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Very Friendly, and helpful staff. My wife and I and our 4 yr old stayed. Nice rooms, Everything clean, great breakfast.We loved the pool / spa area.
Special thanks to Victor for showing us round. We checked in here after moving from another hotel we had booked that was of a poor standard. Would definetly recommend this place to others, and will be back to stay in near future. Good value for money. Thanks to the staff for an enjoyable stay. Sean and family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
SeanS & Family,
So pleased the family had a great time here at the hotel. We get a lot of great comments about Victor & our team & are delighted you got to experience their service. Breakfast being the most important meal of the day it is so important, so we are glad you enjoyed our extensive variety as we have so many nationalities & clientele through we try & cater for all. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while attending a business related conference in September, so this hotel was choosen on that basis. Notwithstanding the expectation was that this was a little more up market.

The property does seem dated, both within the reception area and the rooms, probably 15 years behind a refreshment. The staff on reception were polite but I would rate them as friendly, a job was to be done and they were doing it.

I had breakfast both mornings, but found the buffet lacking, I do not know whether that was because both days I entered after a bus load of tourist, but I would not go out of my way to say I would eat there again if other options were nearby.

The hotel is actually quite some distance from the centre of town and there is not alot around the hotel except house (note not the best neighbourhood either). So if you do not want to eat in the hotel, expect a five minute drive back into the city.

The rooms were comfortable, clean and pleasent but also aged. Though they advertise SKY, very limited selection and found the broadband service very poor, actually used my own internet connection.

So though the hotel meet it purpose, I would rate as a very OLD & TIRED 4 star and not the destination you make the trip for!

Room Tip: Car Park is not very secure, do not leave valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimesSkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
SometimesSkiing
Thanks for your comments from your stay back in September. I am pleased to say a lot has changed within this building since then. Our Bar & restaurants were refurbished just over three years ago and are considered by clients very modern & welcoming. We are completing a refurbishment on our standard rooms from next month so will have a better product to offer for those choosing that room type. Most of our Deluxe rooms have already been upgraded in the last three years so are looking good. I hope we get to welcome you back to show the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stay here every time we are in Rotorua and love the place...Mr Yakitori - the Japanese restaurant in house is awesome! The pool & grotto spas are great - kids love the spas! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in Rotorua

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Misshiff
Thanks so much for your comments; I’m pleased our hotel is a destination of choice. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon. The facilities are great for children & adults alike and the grotto spas are something just a bit different. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It may seem a bit strange to describe the hotel a "touristy" in a touristy town but that was the overall impression.
First impressions are good with efficient and very friendly staff at reception. However, the rooms were "tired" though spacious. The hotel is located 2.4km from the town centre which could be an issue if you didnt have a car, though it was within walking distance of a thermal park. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment (we drove into town and went to a very good cafe) but we did go to a "hangi" meal at the hotel and whilst the entertainment was OK, the food was poor.
There were also many coach parties in but facilities did not appear to be overloaded.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike51198092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Hi Mike54498092
Thanks for coming to stay with us while here in NZ. You are correct our standard rooms are looking a bit on the tired side, but I am pleased to advise we are looking at completing a refurbishment on those rooms, next month in April. Our Deluxe rooms were refurbished over the last couple of years and are still looking great. Sorry to hear your thoughts on our Maori Dinner & Show meal, we have tried to base the food groups on what was available in the area many years ago and although we do not cook the food in an actual Hangi, it is all steamed to try & retain some authentication. If your ever back this way I hope you get the chance to try our Buffet Breakfast, it is quite extensive offering something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing