We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of hidden costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Accolade Lodge Motel
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Although this motel was clean and tidy I did not feel it was good value for money. Most motels in Rotorua in a similar price range have business services such as free wireless internet access and free faxes. They also have free use of the Spa pool etc. Not at the Accolade though. Their prices are a total rip off.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breeze005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accolade7, Manager at Accolade Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Guests comments are incorrect and has made an unjustified accusation refering to us as being "Rip Off". Untrue!!!
Fact: All charges for hotel services are not hidden and clearly stated in our room compendiums and is also our policy at point of sale (reception) to reiterate where a charge will occur for any service requested. The 20 pages of two way faxing of a Real-Estate sale contract did involve national Telecom toll charges, paper and ink, which incurs cost to us and passed on to customer who implied this should be free.
Fact: Inhouse Spa charges of $5 are clearly stated in our compendium and also in spa room. Definately not hidden. The spa involves full servicing including fresh water replacement after each guest use.
Fact: We do offer free 1 hour unlimited wireless broardband connection but have a non profit charge for day or weekly connections. Again this Guest sugested this should be free.
I feel this to be an unjustified entry, based on incorrect facts eg. "Hidden Costs" and making derrogatory inuendos. We request this entry be removed with thanks.
Kind Regards...........Robert Treanor - Mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Accolade Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 217 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our apartment. It was spacious and very clean. Two big bedrooms separated by a sizeable living and dining area and kitchen. Apartment was seviced each day of our stay. Our hosts went out of their way to help us whenever we needed anything! The location is perfect, close to town and no sulphur smells for those that may worry about this. Parking in front of hotel units. Highly recommend this hotel to especially families with children!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clogs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Accolade and we cannot fault it. our group were over the moon with the service and the meals . not enough words to describe, go and find out for yourself/selves we can guarantee you will enjoy everything there, shopping dining and sights all within walking distance , good for us golf widows while men playing.we shopped til we dropped, went to markets , had a ball and went back and had lovely spa and granny nap.we have been going to Rotorua for over 20 years and have never had a good place to stay until we came across Accolade and this is where we will be staying from now on.As the organiser I had no problems with communication and everything I asked for was done exactly as I asked, this made it really great for me , it meant I could enjoy my stay just like the rest of the group , nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosannePapatoetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed at the Accolade on 2 occasions in April. The first visit was with 3 friends where we had 2 bedrooms and a lounge room and the second visit was with one friend.
where we had a studio room.
On both occasions we found the rooms spotlessly clean. The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water and very good pressure.
Tea, coffee, sugar and milk were provided in the small galley kitchen. We had one of Denise and Roberts fabulous cooked breakfasts each morning in the dining room and on the second visit my friend and I requested an evening meal which was wonderful. Roast chicken with stuffing, roast potatoes, kumera, pumpkin, peas and carrots. Dessert was the most delicious apple crumble and ice cream.

Denise and Robert made us very welcome and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was happy and I can certainly recommend this lovely motel which is within easy walking distance to the main shopping area and busses to local attractions of Rotorua .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed a week in adjoining rooms which worked out well for family of 5 plenty of space. While units were clean the bathrooms could do with updating - the showers were nothing more than a dribble and the heating was ridiculous - the oil column heaters did nothing. Early nights to electric blankets were the only way to keep warm and one bed didnt have an electric blanket. The internet was expensive and limited. Walking distance to shops was good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

My partner and I decided to head off to Rotorua from Auckland for the weekend on an impulse and what a great decision that turned out to be. We were lucky enough to choose to stay at the Accolade Lodge Motel and what a find it was. From the moment we arrived at the property we felt at home. Rob and Denise would have to be the best Kiwi Hosts we have ever had the pleasure to meet. We were greeted like old friends. Our unit was just as welcoming, cosy, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and very well appointed and the bed was extra comfy, wanted to take it home. But things just got better. The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast cooked by Rob and Denise in their breakfast room, what a treat that was, after which they shared their extensive tourist knowledge to help us plan our day. Even though my partner and I have been to Rotorua before we learnt about all the new attractions and special places we didn't even know existed, invaluable when you only have a short time to cram as much in as possible.

Another great thing about Accolade Lodge Motel is it's proximity to town. We were able to walk a short distance into town for dinner at night which meant we didn't have to worry about taking the car and could therefore enjoy a drink or two with our meal.

Next time we got to Rotorua (hopefully that will be soon) we will be staying here again, we have no doubt about that.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alikatAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Driveway a little narrow for a 8-seater MVP.Walking distance to town.Approachable & friendly hosts.

Although we were greeted by a 'cockroach'(was told by host that it was a harmless bush insect )on our 1st night, the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Well-equipped kitchenette.Vanity shelf in the bathroom was a bit too small.

We had 3 TV sets ,for the 2 units we booked ,which we hardly utilised.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherryto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#7 of 92 in Rotorua
540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#54 of 92 in Rotorua
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accolade Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accolade Lodge Motel

Address: 30-32 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $65 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Accolade Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Accolade Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing