We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned Old Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Old Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My whanau stayed for two nights and were very happy with the rooms, the service and the very welcoming and cheery moteliers. The couple were very obliging and helpful with our questions and requests.
We would definitely stay again and recommend this motel.
The rooms were clean, warm, light and choice

Room Tip: We were in Rm 22, 36, 38 and they were all choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    112
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
89
85
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Michelle was the friendliest host when we arrived at the Alpin Motel and Conference Centre. Melanie and myself had chosen this place on the vicinity to the Mountain bike trails and we were not disappointed! The self contained room was great for putting our bikes together and had a nice little kitchenette to cook a hearty breakfast before hitting the trails. There was a pool and sauna as well and taking a Sauna after a 50k Mountain bike ride was just what the doctor ordered. Your own little plunge pool in the rear of the apartment was a nice treat as well!

I didn't take a Track Pump with me as I was trying to keep down baggage weight and Michelle had one at Reception for guest use. When you return from a day on the trails there is a wash area to clean your bikes with hoses brushes and soapy spray bottles! When done you can lock your bike safely in your little plunge pool area to dry. Plenty of great advice and vouchers available for all the different things to do around town! Easy access straight into your room from the car-park right outside the front door.

If I come back to Rotorua to MTB again, and I will, I will be staying here! To be able to ride (And not have to transport your bikes) about 2klm up the road before hitting the single tracks is a big plus!

Room Tip: All rooms on the same level around a central pool area, I don't think one room would be better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
391 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Alpin Motel is a self-catering accommodation located at the rather busy SH30 road. Nearby you find the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve where you can visit the mud-pools & geyser at the Te Puma site.

The Alpin offers 40 self-contained units with parking in front of the unit and back-gate access to a lawn area with pool and children's playground.

Our unit had a spacous living in seventies style, with table & chairs, couch, TV and well outfitted kitchenette with microwave, fridge & cooking facility; a separate bedroom with an OK double bed & wardrobe and a separate bathroom with washbasin, toilet & shower. Like all other units we had our own thermal water plunge pool in a private courtyard.

The hotel has its own hot spring-water source. Near the source the SulphurDioxide smells rather unpleasantly. A bath in your own thermal water tub however is nice.

The hotel has no restaurant. For tour groups an simple yet adequate breakfast is served: tea, coffee, milk, yoghurt, muesli, fried eggs, cheese, cold-cuts & fruits. Next door you find more than one restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Decor dated but having a private jacuzzi really suited the kids. Accommodating friendly owners rolled in a bed for us on checking in due to unexpected arrival of cousins (although sheets on that bed had obviously not been changed due to fresh blood stains from a blood nose or something). Couldn't work out the Wifi. Didn't get to sort it out because we weren't spending a lot of time there. Could have been my fault, could have been the room (33). Stove top markings had worn off so took some time to work out where to position the knobs to get those bacon and eggs cracking! Would stay again if staying as a family or group of families.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dillydally22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked 2N at Alpin but once inside our unit, decided to stay another night. Reception staff were very friendly on arrival with milk, bubbles for our private pool, wifi code and maps! The 40 units are all 1 level with easy back gate access to a peaceful lawn area with pool, trampoline, swings etc. The pool was being repaired so we couldn't try it but had our own mini private soak. Bliss. Our pool area had space to park our bikes which was a bonus. Our unit was spotless, spacious and every guest amenity taken care of. The kitchen with its 2 hobs, microwave and fridge was perfect. Crockery, cutlery and kitchen utensils etc were all of a high standard. The bathroom was well designed with generous shower and fluffy white towels. There was a TV in the living room AND the bedroom. Good to have comfy chairs to sit on. And always a relief to have plenty of decent pillows available and extra bedding for the cold Rotorua nights. We last came to Rotorua 25 years ago to run the marathon so it was great to return and stay in such a perfect place. We will definitely return again. Thank you to the reception and cleaning staff. You all know how to look after your guests. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had the misfortune of staying here for one night - not sure how they wrangle a 4 start rating but we were vey disappointed. Very dark rooms and furniture and fittings were very tired. One chair in our unit was held together with duct tape - see photos. Also the communal pool was very tired and in need of painting. Not appealing to go swimming in. The private pool in our unit was aged and in need of replacement - also not enticing. Beds were obviously in need of replacement and carpet was very stained. Not worth the money we paid and have paid similar tariffs to stay in much nicer hotels in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fleur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Run down motel photos on website are out of date and don't resemble the crumbled tiles around hot tubs outside. The pool area shabby. Rooms basic they just about get away with staying open... But cheap if that's ok with you....also if you are from out of town be prepared to smell the yucky stink bomb like volcanic sulphur in the air... Apparently you get used to it ....?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaznColl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#45 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Property: Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Address: 16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpin Motel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hot tubs with all 40 one bedroom modern apartments. Sauna, bike hire, BBQs. Thermal heating, garden setting, sustainable environmental policies, guest laundry. Relax in the central garden setting, smell the flowers, whistle with the birds. Ask at reception for free and inexpensive things to do, rainy day activities, and best value for money attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpin Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Motel And Conference Centre Hotel Rotorua
Alpin Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing