We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Spent a delightful weekend at this motel. Own private hot pool in own private courtyard. Very clean and tidy, quiet surroundings, helpful hosts and good value for money. I'll certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in Room 20 on the east side of the complex. No traffic noise. Surrounded by trees and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 281 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

I recently had a week away MountinaBiking in Rotorua, I booked and confirmed with Alpin a few weeks ahead and mentioned I would be there alone for a MTB trip, I was offered a pickup from the airport.
When picked up from the airport i was prompty shown around all the important parts of my trip... Straight to the bike trails, i was shown all the entry points and the quick ways around the place.
They offered a full set of tools if I needed to fix anything and even a bike if anything went wrong with my own.
There is a dedicated bike wash down area (very handy for getting the remains of the Forrest off my bike before packing up to go home)
I was offered a ride to and from the supermarket to get food supplies for the week.
there were good laundry facilities and the swimming pools were great for a wind down
In general the service was amazing and I would highly recommend this venue to anyone heading to Rotorua for a MTB trip or otherwise.
The location is perfect for access to the trailpark and only 15 mins walk from town.

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms are the same some "double" rooms might be nicer for family sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Fantastic motel, great service, fab facilities, loved the thermal swimming pool. Clean and well equipped units.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just returned from a great labour weekend in Roturua which was also a family celebration. We had 13 units booked and the ages ranged from 80+ to our youngest at 10 months old. A great weekend was had by all and everyone was impressed with the standard of the units and the complex as a whole.

Children and adults spent hours in the pool and the kids loved the swings and trampoline. We were lucky enough to be able to use the conference room on Sunday night to watch the Rugby World cup final together after a BBQ outside earlier in the evening. It was great to be able to sit outside and enjoy each others company over a few drinks and be able to watch the children.

Everyone was very impressed by the facilities and vow to return. My husband and I use this as our motel of choice when in Rotorua and have been 4 times from New Years Eve until now and hope to be back again soon.

A special mention of the Manger and his wife over the weekend.- they were great and nothing was to much for them.

If your looking for somewhere for dinner the Holiday Inn Buffet was great. Everyone very impressed with the food. We had to choose somewhere like this to cater for out large group - 40 adults and 8 children from dinner. It catered for all tastes.

Room Tip: Unit 12 nice and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

excellent value for money,spa pool in the courtyard aswell as a thermal pool in the yard-heat pump in the room we had which was great since we were travelling with babies and needed a warm room etc,,, great room layout and modern bathroom.a short trip to town and activities.
highly reccomend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warri0rsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

had an awesome weekend away enhanced by a lovely place to stay. Very welcoming on arrival a given a lovely private unit that was dog friendly for our little Silky. A quiet location that was close to every thing. Would definitely recommend this Motel.
Cheers,
Raewyn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raewynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for your kind words Raewyn. We have 5 pet friendly apartments however in the other 35 we do not allow pets as many guests have allergies to animals. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Steve and Gillian Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our company staff always stay at the Alpin when in Rotorua. It's good sized rooms, comfortable beds and individual spa's for each room make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysteryMan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thanks MysteryMan6,
Our corporate business is very important to us so it is good to hear that our regular corporate customers enjoy our apartments, facilities and service. We look forward to having you back,(whoever you are mysteryMan!)

Regards

Steve and Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.5 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#53 of 92 in Rotorua
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#13 of 92 in Rotorua
640 reviews
1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Address: 16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $82 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpin Motel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hot tubs with all 40 one bedroom modern apartments. Sauna, bike hire, BBQs. Thermal heating, garden setting, sustainable environmental policies, guest laundry. Relax in the central garden setting, smell the flowers, whistle with the birds. Ask at reception for free and inexpensive things to do, rainy day activities, and best value for money attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpin Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Motel And Conference Centre Hotel Rotorua
Alpin Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing