We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our company staff always stay at the Alpin when in Rotorua. It's good sized rooms, comfortable beds and individual spa's for each room make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysteryMan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thanks MysteryMan6,
Our corporate business is very important to us so it is good to hear that our regular corporate customers enjoy our apartments, facilities and service. We look forward to having you back,(whoever you are mysteryMan!)

Regards

Steve and Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

The room was lovely, clean and good value. They all have private hot tubs out side. Absolute bliss. Definitely one of our favourite places to stay in NZ. Even if the whole place (rotorua, not the motel) does smell of sulphur.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleIreland9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thanks Michelle for your kind words.Our unique 'down bore heat exchanger ' provides your thermally heated hot water to the private hot tub and also keeps the outdoor pool at 35c all through the winter months.We trust you also enjoyed the complimentary bubble bath.
Cheers, Steve and Gillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Okay so my opinion might be a little coloured because I grew up coming to this place but it is still every bit as good as I remember!
Steve and Gillian have it looking fabulous. I love it as there is more room than most motels so hubby and I can easily have the same room as our two teenage boys. We hired their mountain bikes this afternoon and had a great great time in the redwoods. There are two supermarkets close and the BBQs are in great order. Kitchen facilities are a little on the small side but we managed. Love the pools too :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RidgwayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Thank you Ridgway Pa.It has been a pleasure bringing the Alpin Motel (ex Puhi Nui) back to its former glory over the last few years. With our unique geothermal hot water system and ongoing programme of modernisation we look forward to your next visit when we hope we can continue to pleasantly suprise you. Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We like it here because: as a family there is more space than just your room, a good outdoor grassed area with trampoline and fantastic heated pool with lovely native gArden and BBQ plus your own plunge pool under the stars. as a couple we liked all the same things with the added bonus of not having the kids with us. Recommend room away from road

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idliketogotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

From the day we entered the reception we were very excited to be staying at the Alpin with it having a review on our New Zealands Television show "Target". We were greeted but did not feel the customer service was there.

The room was great, very modern and tidy and loved the fact that we had two tv's! Rooms and Bathroom was very tidy and clean and had lots of space. Enjoyed the Hot Tub/Plunge Pool and loved the fact that there were many chairs and tables to be able to mix and mingle with other people that are staying at the motel.

We went out for an entire day and got home late at night and found a cockroach on our wall! Wasn't too fazed by it because we were too tired..

The next day was check out day and went to return the key, I was greeted at the reception with a Hi, I greeted good morning, I have our key and end of conversation. There was no question of did we enjoy our stay or did we have a good weekend? Thought that I would have been asked that but wasn't, as part of customer service and/or feedback.

But other than the customer service, our room service was great and I liked the fact that if you have anything specific you can note it down on card. Room was very tidy and clean was impressed with the mordern kitchen and bathroom. Enjoyed that fact there was a Takeaway shop across the road too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sala6, Owner at Alpin Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

We genually apologise for our lack of 'chit chat' with you. In our defence the Alpin had a mix of guests on the weekend you stayed, some attending the Ragamuffin Rock festival and a range of other guests. On the Friday and Saturday nights we spent many hours ensuring the noisy guests did not interfere with the comfort of others. In doing so it appears we have given more attention to the noisy guests and we may have ignored some of the the majority like yourselves. Again we apologise and your comments will help us to be better Kiwi Hosts to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Thank you for your hospitality.
We had a private hot pool and at the center of the motel there's is communal swimming pool. There are some BBQ spread around the pool so we had a romantic dinner there.
The owners are really friendly and they helped us a lot.
Thanks again,
Meital and Sagi.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I thought The Alpin Motel was great. The service was second to none and location was just perfect, just nicely situated and had everything we needed as well as being on the piece of land that fell from Heaven, New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whinhall-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#54 of 92 in Rotorua
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#71 of 92 in Rotorua
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Motel and Conference Centre

Address: 16 Sala Street, Rotorua 6043, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $78 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpin Motel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hot tubs with all 40 one bedroom modern apartments. Sauna, bike hire, BBQs. Thermal heating, garden setting, sustainable environmental policies, guest laundry. Relax in the central garden setting, smell the flowers, whistle with the birds. Ask at reception for free and inexpensive things to do, rainy day activities, and best value for money attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alpin Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Motel And Conference Centre Hotel Rotorua
Alpin Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing