We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
335
163
31
10
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
163
31
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrout streamrainbow springsmini golfbest westernson site restauranttable tennisbeautiful streamsmall streamskyline gondolasprivate spagondola lugegames roomkids playgroundhot tubbedroom unitbig bathroomnew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 539 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We spent a couple of nights at the Best Western Rotorua in mid December 2009. We were welcomed by the warm and knowledgeable managers who helped us schedule our attractions and excursion trips. They were the best part about the motel.

The facilities are essentially a group of little cottages, with a restaurant (we didn’t try it) a small pool and an indoor hot tub.

Rotorua in and of itself isn’t the nicest place we’ve been to, but the geothermal activity is second to none.

The Best Western was safe, conveniently located (we had a rental car) and easily found. Our room was dated and dirty. The windows had cobwebs in them and the sills were covered in dust and dirt.

We used the laundry ($6 NZD for a wash and dry cycle) and while our clothes were clean, the laundry room was filthy.

The bed was a double bed and very uncomfortable. The air conditioner did not work and pumped out hot air.

From what I can tell, however – this seemed to be the best place in town, so take this review for what it’s worth.

In Rotorua, you aren’t going to get a Hilton or even a Ramada…so, be prepared to rough it a little bit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zukolivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed here three nights and were very happy with the motel. It is out of town but across from the Luge/Gondola, Mitai cultural experience, Rainbow Springs and some other attractions. Not much around in walking distance in the way of supplies / shops but the town is only a 5 min drive and we were happy to be out of the rotten smell of Rotorua!

The pool, mini golf, games room and trout stream were all great in-built entertainment for the kids when we needed a little rest. Rooms were pretty good. The walls were a little thin - I could hear our next door neighbour snoring in the night! They were a little noisy with kids playing in the carpark until the late hours but I guess that's summer for you!

The 2 bedroom worked well for a family and the block out curtains were great for the kids to have a sleep-in!

Hosts were obliging and friendly.

Only downfall was the restaurant onsite - we ordered dinner to our room on the last night and it was pretty atrocious. Even the lollies that came with the kids meal had to be thrown out as they were all stuck to the paper! I should have complained but didn't bother. Everything else was well worth the stay - just don't eat there!

Also, I think the motel laundry should be complimentary rather than a coin operated deal but that's a minor suggestion!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
Thank WishIWasATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We spent a night here mainly on the basis of some good Trip Advisor recommendations.

The staff were very friendly but unfortunately the Braeside felt a bit tired - the mini golf and games room were in very poor shape whilst the crockery/cutlery in our room was still dirty - the spa outside our room was also pretty basic and didn't seem to make the most of the charming location.

Nice spot - just needs a bit of tender loving care!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This motel is located opposite the gondolas and luge attraction, so just far enough out of Rotorua to be away from the smell for most of the time.

We had a one bedroom unit with an outdoor spa bath.

We put our two year old son in the big bed in the bedroom, so we didn't have to go to bed at the same time as him and we slept on the sofa bed in the main room - the only downside of our stay as it wasn't that comfortable.

We used the restaurant which was OK, but not ready for us when we arrived at 6pm, the stated opening time.

Facilities are good - we enjoyed a splash in the pool and used the pool side BBQ. Our toddler also used the play park by the entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Cannot express how great this hotel is. Our unti was a three bedded, It had three single beds in one room, a twin bedded room and a double room. A bathroom which was large, a living room very large, dining area, fully fitted kitchen and a private spa in the garden.
The unit was spotless, the surroundings fantastic with a trout stream, quiet and a large bonus being away from the sulphur smell.
Had a meal in the restaurant which was lovely.
It was great we stayed here for 2 nights and could not have stayed at a better place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiflco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews