We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Spacicious cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Spacicious cottage”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

1. Very neat
2.comfy bed with a seperate bed to accomodate 1 child..lots of pillows
3.Kitchen stocked with adequate appliances..u can make ur own b/fast..if needed
4.jUst opposite the Kiwi encounter,Rotorua Gondola ride and supermarkets.
5.fastfood joits are close by.
6.Nice owners
7.a great spa tub in the balcony
4.value for money

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ameetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    148
    26
    10
    0
See reviews for
199
196
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have stayed in many Best Westerns but this was by far the best. The location although a little distance from the centre of Rotorua was very quiet and the rooms were excellent. The lady who greeted us was very welcoming and friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good. Overall it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We were very impressed with our stay at the Best Western Braeside Resort. We had an executive spa suite which had a deck that had a spa and overlooked a stream with trout !! We had gone away for the weekend with friends and completed a half marathon in Rotorua so the spa was just perfect to relax in after the event. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming (including the cat Climber). Definitely recommend to all travellers for a relaxing and comfortable place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numerous
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Really nice little place! We got lucky and had the best unit of all, with a balcony overlooking the trout pond (#20). We had a nice sauna as well, a tiny kitchenette and nice neighbors. It was a good walk or short bus to town but so pretty where we were we stayed entertained! The proprietors still seem to enjoy helping people after all these years... how do they do that? And the restaurant was remarkably good!!! Worth a splurge, especially the desserts.

  • Liked — Balcony over the pond
  • Disliked — The food at the restaurant was too good! Hard not to keep going back for more!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonWasHere2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Nothing fancy but a great little place with all necessary amenities. As others have pointed out, the location is about 5kms NW of Rotorua center so it'll be a slight pain if you don't have a car but otherwise it's not a problem at all + there is the added advantage of no sulphur smells.

Old fashioned place with metal keys to open the doors (no cards!). We were quite late in getting there (10.30pm) so the reception office was closed. With fingers crossed, I buzzed the "night bell". After about 3-5 minutes, a very friendly elderly gentleman came out and immediately knew who we were (the only two rooms unclaimed).

Our units were suites with kitchenettes and a separate bedroom. Old fashioned bathrooms with curtained showers and heated towel stands. No A/C though (I guess it never gets that hot) they do have a heater. Overall we were very impressed. The price was also quite lower than other hotels in the town center. Wireless internet was free which was quite a rarity (all the other places we stayed in Australia / New Zealand charged hefty fees).

Will definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Great price and lots of amenities
  • Disliked — A bit old fashioned but that probably adds to the charm
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We loved this little motel. We stayed for 9 nights and were made very welcome. The hotel went out of their way to email me to find out when I would arrive and they had the room ready and waiting, even though we arrived early.
It was exactly as described in earlier reviews. It is a five minute drive from the town centre and well positioned for the luge (my kids favourite activity) and the Mitae Maori village tour. Also a short drive to the Zorb. There is a bus stop nearbye but buses are about every half hour until 6pm, then no service.
The owners were fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to help us and make sure we had a great holiday. I wish more hotels were that friendly when I am far away from home.
The room, 9B, was very well priced (about NZ $ 130 per night) and it was spacious and well equiped. Very clean and had everything we needed, even cozy electric heated bed pads.The bedroom was upstairs with a double and single bed, TV and nice bathroom with the best power shower I had in a long time. Downstairs had a small kitchen area with large fridge/freezer, microwave, stove top heater (no oven) and a dining table, sofa and another TV and a bathroom. Also a double murphy bed in the wall. A small deck with its own hot tub which you empty and fill each time. This is very relaxing and private. This backed onto the farm so sheep, rabbits and other animals to look at. However the farm animal noise can waken you early each day but that did not bother us at all.
The trout stream is nice and the kids loved the mini golf and the heated pool.
I would highly recommend this place. It was perfect for us. If you like a warm welcome and a small friendly place with great facilities you will love it here!
Note; I booked on Best Western web site but when I contacted the hotel to check suitability of kitchen facilities for 9 night stay I was able to upgrade to this room for a very small increase in cost from the room I had originally booked, as this room was not available to book on the website, only smaller rooms. It was worth the small extra cost, in my opinion.

  • Liked — Friedly staff and great accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank boubouqVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I have stayed at this motel quite a few times now and would recommend to anybody.The staff are friendly and accomodating and the place is very clean.The kids loved it esp the bedroom they had upstairs with 3 beds and their own bathroom in the family unit.And it was kewl to have the animals in the back esp the friendly donkey. who came to visit.I would never go to any other motel in Rotorua,the accomodation is also reasonable.We were able to cook the BBQ whilst the kids were swimming in the "heated pool". I have stayed at other motels,but this is the best by far. I do not think it is too far from town, only a few minutes drive in a car.And very quiet.AAAAAAAAA+++++++++++++++

  • Liked — Great service,cleanliness,lots of room for the kids,pool close by,big BBQ,private spa that you can refill
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwitripperAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.4 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Braeside Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Braeside Rotorua

Property: Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Address: 4 Barnard Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braeside Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Braeside Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Braeside Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braeside Hotel Rotorua
Best Western Rotorua
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing