We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terry & Karen spoil their guests:)”
Review of Fenton Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fenton Court Motel
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It had been a while since we had stayed. With new owners like Terry & Karen we’ll be back and will be telling our friends & family to book ahead.

Great weekend treat – we love the spa pool units in a private outdoor courtyard that you fill yourself (clean, able to adjust temp to suit with relaxing surrounds). A special was running at the time that included breakie with 2 nights stay.

Quiet, warm and well appointed we had a very relaxing stay made all the more enjoyable by such accommodating hosts.

Room Tip: Book a spa pool unit - you won't want to leave the motel but Rotorua is worth exploring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Five 'GoldCard' oldies stayed at the Fenton Court motel in August 2013 and we would all honestly say that this would be THE BEST motel we have stayed in NZ for the price charged. We were able to get early access to our unit and had a cooked breakfast for each day included with our deal. Karen, the manager, kindly drove us to and from a restaurant to celebrate our aunt's 83rd birthday so we could all have some special drinks! The spa pool in our 2 bedroom unit was marvellous, clean with fresh water set to our own temperature requirements, and the broadband internet was amazingly fast and easy to access. The motel cat was lovely as well!! We can't think of anything that wasn't 100% for the reasonable rate charged.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom unit for 5 adults and had plenty of space in warm friendly accommodation with amp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen and Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stay regularly in Rotorua as we live only 1 hour away, and thought we'd try this Motel as the reviews were good and we were able to use our Flybuys to stay - so it seemed a perfect and obvious choice!

The room was comfortably big with a sofa bed and a single bed in the "lounge" with a good sized flat screen tv (my husband was impressed with the number of SKY channels available!). There was a well equipped kitchen, with a clean bathroom beside it (toilet & shower in one room).

There was a bedroom at the end with a queen sized bed, and another flat screen tv. This bedroom opened onto a small courtyard which had a self-filling spa pool, and was nicely decorated with garden ornaments and bushes, and had a small table with two chairs. There were several extra towels rolled up on the ledge of the spa, which were a really nice touch as most places never provide extra spa towels unless asked!

The man on reception was one of the friendliest I have met too. Checking in and out was a breeze thanks to him!

I would recommend this as a great place to stay for solo travellers, those on business, couples and families. We have definitely put Fenton Court Motel on our "must stay again" list!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked one night for myself and my partner, who turned 50 the day we stayed so it was a special day.
Karen one of our hosts was so good, she had a bottle of wine in our room on arrival and drove us to Skyline Restaurant and returned for us later. We were given a late check out the next day. The room was clean and quite comfortable. Only down side was that there was no kitchen sink to wash any dishes,glasses but then on saying that we had a lovely private spa out the back of our unit.This unit was clean and the bath towels fluffy and sheets good.(I am a cleaner at a motel so know what to look for.)
I would recommend Fenton Court to anyone and we would go back again. Terry our other host was just as helpful on the phone when ringing to book.Thankyou for your friendly service and been so helpful with directions especially when i got lost!

Room Tip: This room was quiet as it was down the back off the road.One of the ones behind the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is the second time, ive stayed at fenton court, and no way will it be the last!!
The motel is spick and span, warm rooms, comfortable beds, lovely modern linen with plush soft towels.
Each room has its own spa. Plus the 1 bedroom units are a good size. (We purchased a 1bedroom unit)

The Fenton Court is relaxing from as soon as you walk into the office, its a great place for a weekend, or longer. (Would recommend the mini golf beside the gondolas.)

Karen and Terry have 18 rooms in their complex, each room is quiet and they have wifi the guests can use.

Karen is the van driver for the motel, so if your heading out for a meal, just give Karen a call. :-)



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSmithNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved the giant spa bath in our upstairs unit. Nice decor and great coffee in the room. Very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our two night stay. They even have a courtesy van available if you need one. I asked for extra milk right in the middle of the netball game on telly and she was very polite and obliging! We definately recommend fenton court as a great place to stay, friendly, good value for money, warm room , comfy bed, excellent Internet access too, unlimited.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

what a awesome motel Karen n Terry were awesome hosts very friendly and gave us some great ideas of what to see n do , also recommended some very nice n affordable restaurants to dine at , on top of this they have a courtesy van to pick us up in , awesome service ,
The studio we had was large n spacous , super clean n fully serviced each day , the spa pool was large n private n was a great way to unwind from a busy day sight seeing with a glass of red wine .
we are already arranging anther trip in august so we differnately will be staying at the fenton court motel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Birchwood Spa Motel
Birchwood Spa Motel
#85 of 92 in Rotorua
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#23 of 92 in Rotorua
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenton Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenton Court Motel

Address: 305-307 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $74 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenton Court Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 Modern units, serviced daily: 8 studio; 8 x 1 Brm; 2 x 2 Brm; 2 with access facilities. 2 X 2 Brm units with fully equipped kitchen, 8 studio units with breakfast making facilities; all with microwave, fridge, hair dryer, queen And King size beds, phone, FREE WIFI 9-channel Sky Digital TV (2 TVs in 1 & 2 Brm units), heating, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Private spa in 8 units, individually filled/controlled; double spa bath in 10 units. Cot and highchair available. Cooked/continental breakfast available served to unit, laundry service, off-street parking with security lighting. Secure storage for bikes. Tariff (2 persons): studio and 1 brm unit $120.00 - $150.00 Extra person $20; corporate rates available; minimum unit rate may apply; 2 brm unit rates on application; peak or seasonal rates may apply. Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Eftpos. Member MANZ, Rotorua Assn of Motels. Hosts: Lin & Yong. Qualmark 4-star Self-contained & Serviced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Fenton Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing