We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience with Fenton Court”
Review of Fenton Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenton Court Motel
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our experience with Fenton Court”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Fenton Court Motel in November in their mediocre room with a roll together bed!! Not the most comfortable two nights. On 20 December we discovered that they had charged our Visa twice for the visit. I emailed them and got a reply stating that Yes they had realised on 25 November that we had been charged twice, but that they had done nothing about it. I emailed our bank details to them. Three emails later, I finally got payment on 28 December in my bank. Why could they have not : reversed our visa immediately, telephoned us, written to us, sent a cheque to us - why did we have to wait over a month for this payment. There was no apology just a promise of a free breakfast next time we stayed with them. Do they not realise that there are plenty of other motels in Rotorua - we wont be staying with them again and we will be telling people why. This is appalling treatment of customers - you need to get your act together Fenton Court Motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    73
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
69
92
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in a downstairs studio room.
Good bed.
Spacious ensuite bathroom and there were plenty of towels.
A nice surprise was the private undercover spa out the back.
The TV reception was excellent and the TV was a good quality unit (not a generic "hotel brand").
Tea facilities were good and included biscuits.
Overall very neat, clean and tidy.
Great for a self-drive holiday in an easy location to reach all the main attractions in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirnach, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Caren and Terry run an excellent motel in a very friendly way. The room is spacious, tha private spa in a covered courtyard beautiful after a days visits of the many attractions of the region. And the price is very fair, especially if you consider that it includes wifi, newspaper and - complementary shuttle to dinner in town and shuttle back on phone call!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juerg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our first trip to Rotorua and we really found the Fenton Court to be a very convenient base from which to explore. The rooms were not flash but very clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed. The rooms were warm and the beds were comfortable. My daughter and I had great fun in the spa pool. A friend joined us for a night and the staff were very friendly and accomodating. All in all a relaxing place place to stay. Would do it again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked in here on the advice of the ladies in the Tourism office, the people were lovely, but the actual facilities/rooms are a little basic. I like a good bed and good pillow, I don't want to be rolling into the middle of the bed nor rolling off because that's just what the bed does. I also didn't like having to climb into the shower which was part of the spa bath, a little to high to safely step in and out of. It was clean but there are better choices out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GManNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Having left the Red Rock Thermal (see review) we were worried that all of Rotorua would be a bit of a dump but the Fenton Court is wonderful. Despite being on a main road there is no traffic noise and the rooms are spotless, obviously refurbished recently although the spa bath does look a bit tired. Not great cooking facilities but enough to rustle up a reasonable meal. The manager is very helpful and will advise which attractions to go for and book them too - he even went the extra mile to get us a discount for our evening out.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the rear of the car park have their own spa bath and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Friendly hosts, clean and tidy rooms, big spa tub in the private courtyard was fun after lots of walking and looking at thermal springs.

The detractors of this motel for us were the noisy guests in the room above (sounded like they were dancing in clogs on a timber floor when they left early one morning), and a stale drain odor that tended to emanate from the bathroom during the night. (not the sulphur smell from outside, the air outside was refreshing by comparison).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#23 of 92 in Rotorua
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.3 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenton Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenton Court Motel

Property: Fenton Court Motel
Address: 305-307 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenton Court Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 Modern units, serviced daily: 8 studio; 8 x 1 Brm; 2 x 2 Brm; 2 with access facilities. 2 X 2 Brm units with fully equipped kitchen, 8 studio units with breakfast making facilities; all with microwave, fridge, hair dryer, queen And King size beds, phone, FREE WIFI 9-channel Sky Digital TV (2 TVs in 1 & 2 Brm units), heating, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Private spa in 8 units, individually filled/controlled; double spa bath in 10 units. Cot and highchair available. Cooked/continental breakfast available served to unit, laundry service, off-street parking with security lighting. Secure storage for bikes. Tariff (2 persons): studio and 1 brm unit $120.00 - $150.00 Extra person $20; corporate rates available; minimum unit rate may apply; 2 brm unit rates on application; peak or seasonal rates may apply. Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Eftpos. Member MANZ, Rotorua Assn of Motels. Hosts: Lin & Yong. Qualmark 4-star Self-contained & Serviced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fenton Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing