We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a money making venture”
Review of Midway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Midway Motel
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Just a money making venture”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed here before at a reasonable cost and have been satisfied, so this time bought our children to stay. The room was terribly dated, the paint was peeling, there were rust stains on the carpet, the toilet was cracked, no cold water in the kitchen and worst of all no smoke alarms anywhere in the room. The neighbors could be heard through the wall and the spa was 'Luke' warm. When confronted the hotel owner didn't seem at all concerned about the lack I'd smoke alarms. Clearly the only interest here was about making $$. The room was horrendously over priced.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midway05, Owner at Midway Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your comments.
As for a "money making venture", to make a public statement like this is totally arrogant as anybody with a little basic knowledge of business practice or even household budgeting knows there are always costs associated with income. We would happily produce a balance sheet. I explained to you at the time the motel is currently being upgraded. The block of six units was completed Xmas eve 2013. New regulations require electronic smoke detection and emergency lighting. The other block is to be completed in 2014. It seems a pity that some people have lost the art of verbal communication and have to resort to expressing their dissatisfaction by hiding behind their computers and the like.
Regards
Ross and Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This motel has seen better days. The managers are friendly and helpful but the quality of the rooms is poor. The bathroom at the back of the unit was quite dirty in the corners and all the fittings were very dated. It is a budget motel and for the price you would be better looking at one of the newer motels. We booked this motel as we wanted a kitchen and ended up eating out both nights due to the age / cleanliness of the facilities. There was no table in the family unit and very little space to sit and eat. The upstairs room received a lot of road noise. Overall very average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbrokenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at Midway for two nights while visiting Rotorua tourist sites.
We were two friends traveling New Zealand in rental car. We booked this to get separate bedrooms. One upstairs (which holds 3 beds) and one down stairs. For this configuration, only (small) drawback is that one has to pass (and stumble into) the down stairs bed on ones way to a night time visit to the bathroom.
Room was in good condition.
Staff (the oweners) was very friendly and helpful.

However though room-walls seems very thick, if your neighbours stay up late and talk and laugh, you will definatley hear it. Had to use ear-plugs one of the nights. Even though many people finds such signs boring, a "quiet after 10pm, please" sign in every rooms would unfortunately not be completely out of place.

Free WiFi was, what we found out during the trip, very common Zenbu for hotels and such. Free WiFi was indeed free, but limited to 200 MB.

Down town Rotorua is within (european :-) ) walking distance.

Would I stay there again? - yes, definately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LabanTheGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Plenty of space for 2 couples and two small children in the larger 2 storey units (a novelty for my Kiwi grandaughter). Agree with other reviews regarding the owners and the well equipped units but the units are starting to show their age. We all enjoyed the thermal pool with its constant supply of hot water. So much better than a spa bath. There is a hinged cover so safe for the children when not in use.

It was also nice and warm with the thermal spring water powering the central heating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked this Motel at an I~site miles away and were so pleased when we arrived! We were greeted warmly at the desk and taken to our room by Jenni (the owner/manager). The room was clean, large and had a kitchenette as well as it's own thermal soaking pool! We were only there one night, and my husband and I both wished we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable room with parking at our door. We met Ross (Jenni's husband) later, and he, too, was kind, friendly, and helpful. Rotorua has many places to stay, but this is where we would stay if we ever were able to come back!

Room Tip: Go to the I~sites (in most towns of New Zealand) and they will help you book a room in any location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

In Feb 2012 we stayed for three days in this motel and received a 1st class welcome from the owners. We had travelled all day to get there and submerging ourselves in the room spa was wonderful. The accommodation was spotless and well equipped and the service impecable, including easily obtainable free wifi, huge room on two levels, and even a free morning paper delivered to the door each day. It was an excellently situated motel with only a 15 minute walk to the i Site and bus terminal. (the owner even offered to take us down there in his car) Would thoroughly recommend this establishment and have done to friends visiting next year. Complaints, none at all, well I did have to bend down to pick the paper up though!!!! Thanks Midway, well done. - Julie & Steve

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Jenni and Ross for our stay at Midway Motel. Our kids really enjoyed the spa pool, being able to wake up and have a dip straight away was amazing!
From the very moment we stepped in we felt welcomes, with a great - nothing is too much attitude - thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, especially as they have pools in them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#80 of 92 in Rotorua
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#54 of 92 in Rotorua
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Property: Midway Motel
Address: 293 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway Motel is situated in central Rotorua opposite Rydges Hotel Rotorua on Fenton Street Rotorua, Central North Island New Zealand within easy drive of many of New Zealand Tourist attractions. Midway motel is in walking distance of shops, the markets, restaurants and cafes, the Conference Centre and Lake Rotorua, making our location ideal for those who want to enjoy city conveniences without cars. Midway Motel is the perfect accommodation choice for couples weekends, family vacations and holidays, Rotorua Conferences, large groups and Sports teams. We have plenty of parking for trailers, second car or large vehicles and boats. Midway Motel units and Apartments are large and spacious with our Apartments on 2 levels - ideal for families or groups where some members want to stay up later than others. Every Apartment and unit has a Hot pool, Sky TV and free Wifi Internet. Explore Rotorua's scenic beauty spots, a geothermal wonderland with the Rotorua Geysers and Hot pools. Experience Rotorua's and New Zealand's unique Maori cultural heritage and many fun family and sports activities in and around Rotorua. All of this is made easy at Midway Motel. Our friendly and helpful staff are more than willing to provide information about the many tourist attractions located in close proximity to Midway Motel. Visitors vouchers and bookings are available at reception any time. So just ask away. We look forward to having you stay with us. See you when you get here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing