We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased to have stayed in this gracious character filled hotel”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Arriving at the hotel on a rainy evening I was very impressed to have the manager greet me and accompany me to the car to collect my bag and carry it to my upstairs room. One rarely experiences such lovely service these days.I stayed two nights while attending a conference acros the road at the conference centre. The location was ideal, I loved the "old world" decor of this charming historic hotel and the warmth and friendliness of the staff. When we needed photocopies for the conference the staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and I appreciated the comfortable bed.
The only thing I would have liked was free internet access for my computer. There was a small fee for this but good to have wi-fi in room. Would definitely stay again if visiting Rotorua

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geranium_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

Thank-you for your positive feedback. Our staff go out of their way for our guests and something like carrying a guests bags from their car to their room is all part of our expected standard of service. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your life easier and provide warmth and friendliness as we strive to do for all our guests. As for the internet, we do provide both wi-fi and broadband in all our Hotel rooms for a small fee in-line with many other Hotels around New Zealand. Regards, Brett Marvelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 806 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

I'd looked at this hotel for years and wondered because I admired the colonial style building- then when we saw it had been upgraded, we decided to visit. The rooms are stylish and comfortable with everything one could want. The dinner we had was excellent and the service was friendly and first rate. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dsmdgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

We really appreciate your wonderful comments. As your comment states we have recently upgraded our rooms and they are really wonderful and comfortable while still staying true to the aesthetic of the Princes Gate Hotel. We hope to see you again and that your next stay with us is not another few years away. Regards, Brett Marvelly (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We made the big mistake of going for the High Tea at the Princes Gate. As previous reviewers have stated the website presents a wonderful picture of the hotel and of a high tea on the usual three tiered stand with a great selection of sandwiches and cakes. What you get however is a miniature version with a mini scone which was about the size of an old 50 cent piece was accompanied by two huge bowls of cream and jam which took up most of the plate and were totally out of proportion to the size of the scone. The waitress offered a top up but before we could say anything made the point that it was only for the tea. A real rip off, I complained to the hotel but the hotel management don't seem interested in listening and addressing problems. We paid 100 dollars for two small plates of food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HIghteafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

As to your feedback, please find the following explanation. I leave this up to Tripadvisor readers to make up their own opinions. Firstly high tea is a very old tradition dating back over 100 years. The concept of high tea was never to be had as a meal. It was designed as something fine for the ladies to have prior to dinner. I make this point so as people can know that it is not a substitute for lunch or dinner. In regards to the comment that the high tea at the Princes Gate Hotel is expensive, it certainly isn't and I will break down the cost so as to leave for future reference, the quality and value of our high tea. Having partaken in high tea at the likes of Claridges in london which equated to something around $90NZpp and the Plaza in New York at around $80NZpp, it certainly puts our price in a league of it's own. We at the Princes Gate Hotel serve approximately 10,000 high teas a year, and to be honest, probably 99% of those people are extremely happy with not only the food but the surroundings and service, which, as what high tea is all about, is the overall experience. In regards to our costings, $22.00 includes GST (15% or $3.30). We offer a selection of tea which is an endless pot. We look at this as $4.00. The high tea has a selection of 4 sandwiches @ $1.50 each. Take off the scone, the butterfly cake and 1 other chefs selection and you cost these at $3.00 each we are in debit by $0.30. I trust the above explains not only the concept, but the value of our high tea and also the overriding picture of high tea in general.

Kind regards, Brett Marvelly (Owner 25 years).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

The is a beautiful hotel and location however the double bed in the 2 bedroom apartment was very small and extremely uncomfortable. The windows were very small which opened outwards and this only let in a limited amount of air. There were no fans in the apartment. The bedrooms were a good size and the lounge and kitchen facilities were good. The decor was nice. Great hot pools. Parking was also limited with two spaces for the apartments. First in best dressed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boonatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Thank-you for positive comments. In regards to your other comments, there is free parking all around the hotel and the apartments. The two parks you talked about, are our drop off bays. There is also off-street parking available which is a security car-park. In respect to the windows, yes they do open out which is, I think, quite normal. In respect to the fan, we normally do have fans in the rooms so I do not know what went wrong there, but our guest services folder does alert the guest to being able to contact our 24 hour desk for any assistance during your stay.
We do again thank-you for your lovely comments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We picked this place due to a Lonely Planet entry and a wotif special price. The atmosphere of the place is great - really charming old hotel: lots of old pictures everywhere; lounging room with leather couches; cute rooms; balcony to sit on. Also has a little pool with 2 warmer pools to the side. Staff was very efficient on check-in/out. We stayed in a "classic room" - a bit squished/small - but had DB, decent size bathroom, mini-fridge/kettle and balcony access, as well as great armchair to lounge in. We were happy until we went to bed - we had the worst night on our whole trip thanks to a terrible mattress that was hard on the edges and soft in the middle, meaning me and my husband rolled into the middle of the bed and could never be even/straight. Things might be better in their more expensive rooms, but considering their classic room is not exactly cheap, I was disappointed. We were in Rotorua for another night, but moved to a different hotel because of the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2010

Dear Alexia, i have mentioned before that it is a great help to a hotel if when a guest does find something they don't like, to inform them so they can do something about it. It is therefore frustrating for a hotel that hasn't had an opportunity to rectify this, but instead to hear it through the social pages of the internet. We do however thankyou for your wonderful comments about the Princes Gate Hotel. I can assure guests that we have a continual upgrading policy in all our rooms and now that Alexia has brought this bed to our attention it will be replaced.
Regards, Brett Marvelly, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night in 2 rooms, we were given a choice of a rooms but it was really the choice of taking the best of a bad bunch. The exterior entrances to the room, need some serious work and when you get inside the room, the furniture and decoration are a complete mismatch of colours. One of the bathroom doors did not lock and don't make a cup of tea in your room - the kettle was disgusting! At 1am, we got woken up to some serious noise issues at the front of the property and were kept awake for some time.

When we arrived, the staff did not bother to show us around, nor did they give us any information about the restaurant or breakfast times. The staff here have a look and attitude of ''This is the last place I want to be right now'' and to be honest after a short time of being there, it was the last place we wanted to stay and would definitely never return again.

What is really shocking on this site, is the management at Princes Gate clearly have little training in customer service, perhaps rather than insulting previous guests who leave feedback here, a simple acknowledgement that their feedback will be taken into consideration would be far better for future business.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyMay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I have no idea how this hotel got a 5* rating! My husband and I travel allot and our room was no more than a 2* - which was very disappointing considering we travelled from Auckland for his 40th birthday. Downstairs reception area looked lovely but the rooms are disgusting! The carpets etc look original which means they are at least 40 years old! There are holes in the carpets and walls!!! The bed spread was dirty so we didn't want to touch it! The under bedding was of very poor quality - bright colored children's designs from the warehouse. None of the linen was ironed and crumpled. The shower curtain was broken and held together with tape. Everything in the rooms is of cheap quality and poor standard. There was absolutely no attention to detail as you would expect in a real boutique hotel. The TV only had 'free to air' channels and the reception was barely watchable! There were cords and cables hanging out everywhere. The kettle was an old plastic one that didn't even turn itself off - 80's? I don't think you can even buy them anymore. The room just felt dirty and old! As a result we didn't ant to risk the restaurant or eat any food! Having said all of that the staff were lovely and very helpful and professional. Except - we were quoted $185 per night and charged $215 as they neglected to tell us that it was not including GST. I am disgusted having paid over $400.00 for 2 nights in this run-down dump!! Never ever ever stay there!! K.F. - Auckland.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KF-Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

I wish people would put their name to a review. TripAdvisor is though, a wonderful site. I can only surmise that the people in question were staying in the Graham Hall Room and were travelling with a baby. These people forgot to mention that prior to checking in we rang them realising they were travelling with a baby and asked if they would like an upgrade to a 1 bdrm suite that had lounge and kitchen facilities. The gentleman stated that they only wanted to stay in the hotel itself. We were of course extremely busy over the Labour Weekend Holiday and were 100% full, and thought we had done the right thing in pre-identifying the guests needs. The hotel being 113 years old, is one of those unique hotels, that a person either appreciates or doesn't. The carpet in question, that we have had comment of before, is one of the most expensive axeminsters in New Zealand called Summer Boquet. The Princes Gate Hotels design concept is to try and keep the hotel in the period that it was built. All our facilities are no more than one or 2 years old including our flat screen tvs etc. The TVs all receive Sky Sport , Movies and News. Certainly we completely do not accept any mentions of our rooms being either old or dirty. The other very important thing that when people write a review, is to ask whether they commented on any of the negatives during their stay, that they only too happily wrote about. All hotels do have a policy of doing their utmost to offer guest satisfaction and is therefore very difficult to accept any criticism when the hotel has not had the opportunity to rectify the problem. The above guests fall into this category and in fact it is very frustrating to know that we anticipated that though this is a beautiful hotel room with views overlooking the Government Gardens, it was certanly not ideal as family accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $81 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing