We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotorua
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveler rating
411
333
207
87
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
411
333
207
87
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews government gardens historic hotel designer room high tea hot pools main building new zealand polynesian spa central location lounge area centre of town eat street suite yesteryear fireplace nz furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great location in the city of Rotorua, just outside the Government Gardens, across the street from the Visitor Center, and in front of Eat Streat. Free parking on site was very convenient. There are actually 3 small geo-thermally-heated pools on site, a private pool (which unfortunately was too hot for us to swim in), and a sauna as amenities at the hotel. The front-desk staff were very helpful, even helped us make dinner/excursion reservations.

Slightly difficult to shower without a complete shower door/wall.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laagan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriPGH, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lagaan85

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your experience with us and found our staff very helpful. We aim to be the friendliest Hotel in Rotorua with staff doing exactly what you mentioned. Help you out where possible. We hope to see you again soon

Yours sincerely

Yuri Ponstijn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Shiny and bright bells and whistles hotel this is not but we loved the historic feel and very helpful and welcoming staff. We stayed in a 2-bed annex which was spacious with modern bathroom and well equipped kitchenette. Yes it is all a bit dated but good value and a great location. Restaurant service can be a little slow but we appreciated the vegan options. Parking a little problematic but not an issue which cannot be overcome. Only real complaint is the hot pools on site were luke cold.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWilkinson1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriPGH, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rob Wilkinson

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is with comments such as yours that we can ascertain our levels of comfort and service. We really appreciate your feedback and we will use this to make decisions for our upcoming refurbishments. I am glad to read our staff were helpful and welcoming as that is exactly what we are here for. I apologise for the issues with the pools, we encounter some geothermal issues every now and then but I can tell you the pools are nice and warm again. We hope to see you again and have you experience a warm and comfortable stay with us

Yours sincerely

Yuri Ponstijn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

So, first and foremost, this hotel looks like The Shining. The hallways are deeply carpeted and it just looks...creepy. As others have sent, they really really need an update. The parking situation is less than desired, as the parking in front is bus parking? But only sometimes? And the parking lot around back is extremely tight and with visitors who are having trouble driving on the wrong side of the road, our car almost got hit twice. The rest of the parking is by a large park so it is constantly full.

The location is convenient around town, but it didn't make up for the poor service and out of date facilities. The bathroom is in need of a longer door (water everywhere), the windows are very rickety, and there's a warning about bugs that you might see that are "harmless" but the picture is so gross that we had to cover it up each day. There's a "daily newsletter" that gets delivered to your room each day that it is literally exactly the same each day. Such a waste of paper.

On our first night, the fire alarm started going off around 11:00pm. We went downstairs and told the front desk and the guy sitting there basically said there was nothing they could do... They didn't offer us an idea of how long it would be, whether or not they called the fire department, or even an apology for the inconvenience. So... we waited, along with the other guests. Finally they said they were going to call a technician, which they did, but he was unavailable because it was nighttime... After about an hour and a half, it just stopped, thank goodness.

But, as the last stop on our honeymoon, with Rotorua being such a glorious place to visit, this hotel was subpar, to say the least. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apairofskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriPGH, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Dear apairofskis

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is with comments such as yours that we can ascertain our levels of comfort and service. You have given us some good honest feedback to work with and we will learn from this and use your feedback to improve our services and products. I apologise for the fire alarm going off and the lack of care shown by the staff member involved. I have spoken to the staff member and rest assured this will not happen again.
I do sincerely hope you had a great honeymoon in New Zealand and that you have lots of great memories to look back on

Yours Sincerely

Yuri Ponstijn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Not as nice as expected. You can tell this was a great hotel probably 50 years ago but it seems they havent updated their rooms, decor or facilities in that time. The hotel has all the things, equipment or services you expect from a 4-star hotel, its just everything felt old. The kinda place where the light switch fittings have turned that yellow/beige colour. I guess thats why they call it a 'boutique' hotel. Dont be fooled by the happy hour either, its only $2 off tap beer meaning they're still $10!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathlete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriPGH, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mathlete19

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry read we have not been able to exceed let alone meet your expectations for your experience with us. We are working hard to upgrade all the Hotels facilities and rooms and we have done a lot of work since the Hotel changed owners in 2016. We have started work on the rooms and the comments that you made about the light fittings are being addressed. We hope to see you again so we can show you some of the improvements we have made to the rooms

Yours sincerely

Yuri Ponstijn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We paid $120.00 for a room and it was worth it. We just had a queen bed, shower toilet etc, but that was all we needed. We didn't book, as we only came to Rotorua for the day, but decided to spend a night instead of driving back home.

We had an upstairs room, with a nice view.

The showers were good, and the A/C did the trick on a hot summer's night.

It's walking distance to the Polynesian Spa, and the centre of town

Will stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MurphyandMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YuriPGH, General Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Dear MurphyandMocha

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed your experience with us and we would like to see you again soon. You can book direct on our website if you like using the promocode 'stayagain' and get a 20% discount on our best available rate

Kind regards

Yuri Ponstijn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews