We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing piece of history”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Goa, India
Level Contributor
397 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“An amazing piece of history”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

After visiting the famous Roturoa bath house, we had a wonderful lunch buffet at the hotel and were received personally by the owner, Brett Marvelly. After giving us a bit of history he led us to a nice buffet of salads and cold cuts, followed by a live BBQ and an amazing buffet of desserts where large bowls of Creme Chantilly were poured on delicious cakes and pastries.
We had time to roam around the place, see the lounges and common areas and visit a room. A charming place for lunch and I am sure as good for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: We only had lunch so didn't stay at the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent dining experience at the Princes Gate Hotel. As you noted, the owner Brett, is very passionate about the hotel and likes to engage with our guests when he can. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and would hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    221
    139
    64
    51
See reviews for
125
411
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed heads South
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful old hotel, staffed by people who really care and do a fantastic job. The lounge area is delightful-as is the restaurant. There were a few minor quibbles with the room (fittings that didn't go with the decor for example), but overall it was a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IanTweedheadsSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and try to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for. We take on board your comments regarding some of the fittings and decor not tying in together as well as they could and will look to include these items on our ongoing refurbishment programme.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fabulous location. Fantastic old hotel that is of a bygone era ... but my word that bed needed replacing about 10 years ago. I don't expect to start my day needing anti-inflammatorys to function. My colleagues said theirs was fine, so don't write them off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamBick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our wonderful historic hotel. To address your comments regarding the bedding, we have inspected the bed in the room you stayed in and it was replaced relatively recently. We do have feather toppers on the beds which can make the beds a bit soft for those of us who prefer a firmer bed.
we look forward to being able to welcome you back at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

When we first walked in to check-in we had a 15 minute wait before we even saw a member of staff and the one we saw wasn't that excited to see us. We were immediately made to feel like we were wasting her time and that we were an inconvenience so after the check in another staff member took us to our room (again an inconvenience)
The room it's self was a bit dusty, the bathroom grimy and was so overwhelmingly hot and stuffy, it wasn't made better by the abundance of decoration that cluttered the tiny room (which after an "upgrade" I'd hate to see what the original room was like), above the bed alone was a huge heavy looking mirror and two chandeliers that looked ready to fall at any minute. We had one window and two thick curtains on the door and windows which both need to be closed if you want to sleep in the dark as the balcony lights are left on until late, with both curtains being closed and an already stuffy room we both had two sleepless nights as we were almost melting away, which is hard to do in New Zealand in autumn, our only option was to open up the windows which they advise against doing at night time due to some lake flies being attracted to the light (and with the curtains closed to block out the light not much fresh air was coming in).
One reason we chose this place was the wifi which we need because we are travelling all over and need access to the internet to book our next accommodation and activities plus keep in touch with family etc. When the internet failed to work was asked reception about it and got told that it should be working and they'll try to reset it. After that failed to work and another phone call we had to walk down to reception whenever we needed internet access. Check out wasn't as painful as check in but that's just about the only possitive feedback we have. Between all mentioned plus the shower that only someone shorter then 5 foot would be comfortable under, stairs that felt they were on an angle or nearly rotten, I wouldn't recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tessaatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Princes Gate Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience you had on this occasion. Unfortunately the delay in check-in and your feeling of being an inconvenience is not an example of our expected level of service. We have discussed this with the team member concerned and reiterated our expectations of service.
In regards to the room, we recognise that as a Heritage property, there will be some instances where the room’s individuality may not appeal to all that stay with us. I can assure you that our property and its fixtures and fittings are all of a safe working order.
Autumn, as such, has been quite warm in Rotorua. Each room is able to control its own heating and we do provide fans in the rooms to mitigate any residual issues with heat. Unfortunately due to the nature of Rotorua, there can be an issue with trout flies, which can affect the ability to keep the windows open after dark.
We also would like to apologise for the issues with WIFI, this is beyond our control and we are currently working with our provider to ensure a better level of service for our guests.
I trust the above address's your concerns. If you wish to discuss the matter further, we would welcome you contacting the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the Rotorua Marathon weekend (May 1-4) and couldn't have been more pleased, given our expectations. Our room was large, lack of airconditioning was countered by opening the window(!), bathroom was substantial and bath long enough to take my 187cm frame. Given this is a 117 year old timber hotel I was not surprised with some external noise filtering through but the overall experience was terrific. Club-like lounge atmosphere in the bar gave a yesteryear luxury and service levels throughout we're high and personable. Thermal pools on the premises were a bonus as was the proximity to the Gardens, the start and finish of the Marathon. I've been lucky enough to travel the world and stay at top end hotels and we'll be back at Princes Gate again next year, legs willing!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and try to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for.
We appreciate your feedback, particularly on our high standard of service. It is always nice to be able to pass on specific positive comments to our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for next years marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is an older property with lots of charm. It is in across the street from the Government Gardens and the Rotorua Museum. The room that I had was large with a large bathroom. The view wasn't the best and there is no air conditioning, so it was a little hot and stuffy. With the sulfur smell an AC would have been great. Overall, I would stay again. The main part of the hotel may not be suitable for families with young children. Great for mature couples or families with adult children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JessicaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at The Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of our Heritage property and its central location within Rotorua. The Hotel does suit couples and guests travelling with friends, however we do also have suites adjacent to the Hotel which would be suitable for families travelling. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Loved the old world charm of this place. Even though we were staying the suites next to the main building, they had continued the Victorian theme with chandeliers, furniture and elegant fixtures. The one negative was the bed was a little soft for our liking and we rolled to the middle a bit. When I stay again, I will book a room in the main hotel to experience the 'real deal' of the Victorian charm. Everyone was helpful and friendly- especially our check-in guy. All in all, a lovely stay- I wish we had been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lise99nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Princes Gate Hotel. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing