We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Five Star!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Five Star!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked this on the internet for one night, so we are not sure if this is why we were given a small, airless, shabby room! The room next door was much larger and brighter! Although the hotel itself has character, it certainly needs some maintenance and redecoration. Our room was very small, dark and depressing and the shower was old and useless! There was also no air conditioning and apart from a door that opened onto the communal balcony, we couldn't let any air into the room. The TV was also situated badly, which couldn't be seen from the bed. To top all this free wifi was only available in the lobby and not in the rooms - not very good for a five star hotel!

Room Tip: Don't book online.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. In answer to your opening comment; Firstly, we are 5 Star 'Guest and Hosted' property graded by Qualmark (NZ Government organisation). This takes into account the privately owned and operated nature of the Hotel. Also; location, restaurants and guest facilities. It was a category that was created some 5 years ago to recognise the personal flavour that these hotels can offer to the guest looking for something different.
In our case, we offer 117 years of history with a wonderful location, individually decorated rooms, with a high emphasis on personal service, fine food and wine.
Specifically to the room type we have three categories of rooms in the hotel. Classic rooms are our lead in room type which is priced accordingly. Our next category is an Estate room, which is a bigger room and then we have our Designer rooms and Suites. I can only imagine that the writer has come in on a classic room type. I can assure other readers that this would have been priced accordingly. The Hotel is an historic building, which has a historic places trust category A, meaning it has been recognised as a building that is part of NZ's history and cannot be replaced. This is a positive to most guests who are staying because of its Character and Special Qualities. However for others that may not appreciated the historic Nature of the hotel, this can be a negative.
I trust the above offers an insight to the above review and we certainly look forward to welcoming all future Guests to our wonderful world of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    216
    137
    64
    51
See reviews for
124
402
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I took 36 experienced (and hungry!) Canadian and American Road Scholars to Princes Gate for lunch last Saturday. We drew up outside a delightful Victorian Hotel and were met on the verandah by the proprietor, Brett Marvelley, who ushered us inside, introduced us to the Maitre D' and from then on, Brett, Rudi and the cooking and table staff managed to serve us 37 hot, perfect mains, followed by wonderful desserts and cheese boards.

Coffee and tea was served in lovely China crockery, napkins starched and gleaming white, beautiful cutlery, impeccable surroundings, what more could a bunch of travelers ask for?

We were on time, the meals come out soon after our arrival, the service was excellent and the meals so good, our group asked for the chef and burst into a spontaneous round of applause.

Thoroughly recommended. We gave Princes Gate 5 STARS!

Room Tip: We were there for lunch, but several of the group asked to see rooms and pronounced them of excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent dining experience at Princes Gate Hotel. We appreciate your feedback, particularly on Rudi and our other staff members. It is always nice to pass on positive comments to our team members

We are pleased that your guests took the time to view the property during their visit as we are very proud of the Hotels history and love to show people the heritage decor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A lovely old building, with much more soul and character than the generic modern chain hotels.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Perfectly located in the heart of the city, and adjacent to Government Gardens/Polynesian Spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel.
We appreciate your feedback, particularly on our Staff members and the service provided to you during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Good accommodation with comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dining facilities were excellent with great menu selections for evening meal and options for breakfast - cooked or continental.

Room Tip: Look at hotel website which provides great overview of what rooms are on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyJohn1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and Dining experiences. We aim to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era were known for.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, particularly on our Staff members. It is always nice to be able to pass on positive comments to our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had two reasons to return to New Zealand after visiting here fifteen months ago. One was to be in attendance at the annual "Art Deco" weekend in Napier, with the other being to stay at the "Princes Gate Hotel" in Rotorua, which we had happened upon during our previous visit. We were certainly not disappointed with all energies, efforts and monies expended to stay at, and experience, this wonderfully historic hotel, from seemingly a long forgotten, and possibly now ignored, old world.
The hotel is a sheer delight, steeped in old world charm. All of the personnel were also well aware of the gentility of their surrounds and acted accordingly. The attendant from a part of Europe added a superb aura of graciousness to all of his dealings and was a delight with whom to converse.
Another allure for us was the dinner and show, which was to be convened during the Saturday evening and to which we obviously attended. The idyllic surrounds, reminiscent of a beautiful long gone era, were ideal for the serving of, and consumption of a delectably delicious three course meal. The professional entertainment was ideally superb and made for a most memorable night, the memories of which we will always cherish.
In attendance at breakfast the ensuing morning, in yet another gorgeous room, there was a slight misunderstanding over payment but this concern was quickly assuaged by the owner/manager.
The Princes Gate is a delight to behold and actually beckoned to us from Australia. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, albeit oh! so brief.

Room Tip: To us, they all gave the appearance of being "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests to our wonderful world of glamour and sophistication who really appreciate the old style and attention to detail, not just in the building, but to service and the true word of hospitality.
In a world that is becoming more and more the same, I feel it is refreshing to have a hotel so distinctive as the Princes Gate Hotel. As this guest has mentioned, our dinner shows are a wonderful experience and as i have said before, you can dine at a restaurant anytime, but to be entertained while you dine, is another one of the unique experiences you can capture at the Hotel.
Than you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great old fashioned service. Rooms well appointed for the price, interesting history, not many of these beautiful old buildings left. Also has some art deco style appartments. Handy to to the shopping centre, theatre and events centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyHuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and try to ensure that each guest experiences the service that we would all like to receive when staying away from home.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Generally exceeded our expectations. Service was consistently excellent. It is an older style hotel, however, we found the room was comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. Floor boards squeak a bit-if you stay in 100+ year old hotels-almost to be expected.Dinner and breakfast was first class.Enjoyed the occasion & will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and try to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for.
We appreciate your feedback, particularly on our Cabaret Show and your 5 point service rating. It is always nice to be able to pass on guests positive comments to our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing