We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous trip down memory lane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous trip down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Princes Gate only for one Saturday night but would love to have stayed longer. We had a gorgeous room on the ground floor opening out to the balcony. It felt a bit like Downton Abbey, upstairs! The dreamy feather and down pillows were wonderful and beds super comfortable. We started with a soak in the hot pools late afternoon, followed by cocktails in the chandelier lit lounge, sunk into leather couches. Changed for dinner and the cabaret which was great, very professional entertainment, nicely paced between courses.
This was good value for dinner and show. The staff were really engaging and friendly throughout, thank you Brett for finding such a wonderful room for us. The hotel location is wonderful opposite the botanic gardens and for a special weekend, dripping with atmosphere and ambience, Princes Gate is a special place. Hope we will be able to enjoy it again.

Room Tip: the designer rooms with 'names' seem to be particularly large and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you very much. The writer has certainly understood what we have tried to create. The Hotel is all about character and offering something that is special. That is why we have our shows and are very focussed on the guest. Once again thank you for taking the time to tell others of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on some future occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    212
    135
    62
    51
See reviews for
119
399
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Princes Gate Hotel for 3 nights recently and had a wonderful time. We loved the Victorian era décor through out the hotel. We had a room on the second floor which was beautifully decorated and had a balcony looking out onto the botanic gardens which was lovely. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful, particularly Jan on reception and Ian the Manger. The first night at the hotel we had tapas and wine by the fire in the lobby/lounge area, the food was great and lovely ambiance for a late supper. Breakfast at the hotel exceptional and very good value. The hotel has three hot pools which we soaked in every night - just loved them and ensured wonderful nights sleep! This hotel is situated in a superb location within walking distance of the town and many tourist attractions.
We hired mountain bikes for half day during our stay in Rotorua and rode around the lake and then back to the hotel for a soak in hot pools - wonderful!
Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMarieLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write experience our world. As everyone will agree, the hotel has wonderful location and Rotorua of course has so much to offer. We are certainly seeing a lot more people experiencing the mountain bike trails which incidentally Rotorua has been named in the top 8 in the world. We note that guests arrive back from their rides to the hotel ready to enjoy the hot pools. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night recently. Fabulous old Hotel, really friendly staff, from Ian who showed us rooms and surrounds to Janet who was on reception. We relaxed on big leather sofas by the fireplace, enjoyed a glass of wine and then had a lovely dinner. We were upgraded, and had a room with French Door access to the large verandah, the room and hotel were lovely and clean,
Thankyou Princes Gate Hotel,
Joan Johnson

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs with access to verandah, table and chairs, very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Yes the verandahs are lovely and for those who haven't experienced the hotel, they wrap around both floors and we have outside the rooms lovely sitting areas where guests can experience the world passing by over a glass of wine. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

From time to time one has an unexpected and great experience. The Princes Gate Dinner and Cabaret Show is one.
My wife booked us in and despite my apprehension it far exceeded my expectation.
The food was great and the show very slick and professional. For$89 per person for meal and show this was terrific value
Craig and his company were surprisingly very good; their introductory Phantom bracket had me wondering if they were miming - not so.
Highly recommended for night out in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Book early as show is limited to about 50.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. Yes we believe our shows are extremely special and you have focussed on a couple of very relative points. One is the value, this at $89 per person which includes GST of 15% is extremely good value. When we created the dinner shows some 25 years ago, we realised how important it was to ensure that the food was at equal standard to the show. The atmosphere of the restaurant, lighting and music in the restaurant is also extremely important. The other point that the writer has made is the fact that his wife made the reservation. This happens so often with the lady looking for that "something different" that has a romantic feel. The rooms have been tastefully decorated and unlike other chain hotels, they all have their own personlised character just like we all do. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked online. Five stars and a good price. We were upgraded when we arrived. The staff were delightful. We had a room on the balcony. The decor throughout the hotel was lovely, full of period pieces.

We didn't dine in for dinner but if the eggs florentine I had for breakfast were anything to go by you won't be disappointed. We did, however, settle in by the fire in the cosy lounge for a nightcap.

The room was clean and well appointed. Overall we couldn't speak highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 82plwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Just a small note to thank you for your comments made in relation to your recent experience at the Princes Gate Hotel. We sincerely appreciate receiving such great feedback. It’s valuable to us in our efforts to constantly improve the level of service and overall experience to valued guests such as yourself .

We will also be sure to raise the contents of your letter and extend your compliments to our breakfast Chef.

Hopefully we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was skeptical about this old hotel, and the location with sulphur smell, potential noise issues, etc., but I was 100 % pleased. Beginning with the reservation process with Thomas, who puts in long hours, I appreciated the friendly service and helpful suggestions, since I was not expecting to enjoy my stay in "touristy" Rotorua, as my previous stays have been downtown with a little too much road noise, people noise, and not relaxing.

At Princes we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, plus being next to city park space and good jogging trails by the water, yet off the busy roads. The room was a little tired in the carpet area, not especially large, but artistically decorated, so much so that I took artsy photos. Will try to attach a few.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, so check out the room first, make sure it appeals to you, and I prefer 2nd fl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Time and time again, guests remark on our location and thank you to the writer articulating this. It is so special being able to take an evening stroll or morning jog, walking distance to the cosmopolitan area, bars and restaurants. The other very interesting point that the writer has highlighted is the fact that even though we are down town at what we consider to be the best street address in Rotorua, we are not on a street thoroughfare which does mean that we don't have to put up with a lot of those street noise as you do in other areas in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

it locates close to I-site, easily to find supermarket and other restaurants.cuisine here are excellent, we strongly recommend bread with hummers and chutney, and grilled salmon. fireplace and classical decoration make PG special. we love ppl here,feeling at home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minerva820827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank-you for your comments regarding your enjoyable experience at our hotel and restaurant. We have a beautiful a la carte menu, guest bar and fine dining restaurant with all the class and ambience you would expect from a five star guest and hosted property. We pride ourselves on our high standard of food and service and are extremely glad we met those expectations. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing