We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Prince's Gate Hotel - an essential delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prince's Gate Hotel
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I returned to my home town on the occasion of my niece’s wedding and decided to stay at the Prince’s Gate Hotel as a change from corporate hotels. It was a landmark from my childhood and as such part of the essential memories of my roots. So big expectations. We were not disappointed! The Johnson Room with the enormous stud (I guess at a good 14ft) was opulently appointed with full length drapes in elegant shades of silver and mauve and with all the conveniences of a top class hotel. The bathroom spacious and light and the queen sized bed gloriously comfortable. The staff were all genuinely friendly, charming and helpful from the front desk on our arrival to the dining room waiters and the household staff like Alice. The beautifully restored bar and dining rooms evoked a time of gracious dining and indeed the menu didn’t disappoint. The only criticism was that the oysters were unavailable and so I was unable to order the carpetbag steak (a favourite of my late Dad’s). The proximity to the local cafes and Govt Gardens is excellent and we walked through those splendid grounds a number of times with a new appreciation of all that has to offer – including the wonder of the Polynesian Spa. We have already determined to return to the Princes Gate and next time catch the show and order the carpetbag! The chance to stayand relax in this privately owned beautifully restored historic part of Rotorua is a treasure not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Johnson Room was on the corner - ground floor - and got sun from the morning through to late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Princes Gate - we're your return to your hometown of Rotorua was a cherished memory.

As you've already noted, being a boutique Hotel which enjoys a proud history, Princes Gate is a return to yesteryear boasting high stud ceilings, exquisite full length drapes, and each room is individually designed and tells its own unique story.

We're pleased you found our staff to be genuine friendly and helpful throughout the time of your stay, as we're especially proud of our team.

We look forward to hosting you again when you return to enjoy a "Carpetbag Steak". Be sure to book well in advance if you took a special liking to the Johnson Room so we can ensure its available and ready for your arrival.

Again, many thanks, and we hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,

PGH team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 864 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

I am from the US this is my second trip to rotorua and second time at princes gate. This historic hotel is in a great location in central Rotorua...easy to get to all attractions. The restaurant offered delicious meals....not inexpensive, but worth the splurge. The service here is outstanding. The staff is knowledgable, attentive, and gracious. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable.....highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback, and it is especially great to hear you have visited with us for the second time. We're thrilled to hear our Hotel, food, and overall service experience met with your expectation. We pride ourselves on having a great team and it's always appreciated when the effort each of our staff members infuses into their respective roles is recognised and well received.

It was our pleasure to host you and your family and we do hope we will have the privilege of your company again when you're next visiting New Zealand.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We only had one night at this hotel, and we wished we were staying longer. The hotel is old leather, afternoon teas, and impeccable service. When we were there, a cabaret dinner was the order of the evening and we were able to join in the fun. Dinner was superb with excellent wines on offer. The entertainment was first class. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to furnish your comments regarding your recent stay at our boutique Hotel.

We, like you, believe Princes Gate affords the discerning traveller an experience quite unique to our Hotel peers in the industry - specifically a yesteryear feel in a modern day setting.

We're really glad to hear that your overall experience with regard to our service delivery met with your approval, and that you enjoyed the Cabaret evening's entertainment and the accompanying wine selection.

Again, many thanks for your recommendation, and we do hope you'll consider staying longer with us when you next venture to our beautiful City of Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Recommend hotel rooms, decor, pools, and restaurant

Room Tip: Sir Howard Morrison Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

We very much value your comments and thank you for investing your time in furnishing us with such a positive recommendation.

We, like you, agree that our iconic Hotel in the heart of Rotorua benefits greatly from its convenient location to many of the our most notable visitor attractions.

You are right, given the Hotel's age, some of our rooms are more cozy than others, however, when you're next visiting with us please do ask about our fabulously furnished Designer Rooms which are more spacious with each Designer Room having been uniquely furnished.

We're also pleased to hear that your experience with our staff and your overall experience regarding the level of service you received met with your expectation.

We'd love to have the pleasure of your company again when you're next staying in Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Princes Gate is a historic over 100 year old independent hotel in Rotorua. Very handy to the central city, lakefront, museum and the fabulous Polynesian hot pools. My wife and I stayed just the one night and found friendly competent staff at reception, the bar and dining room. The rooms are fairly small as is the bathroom but everything worked perfectly. Befitting the character of the place, the room entrances are from the outside. Floors are not that level in places and creak when you walk around. We loved it. The bar service was excellent as were the evening meals and breakfast. Street noise levels in our room settled down after 10pm and inter-room noise was surprisingly low. The room did have problems with the TV reception; all the digital Freeview programmes were constantly pixellating and the sound was chopping up. It wasn't a concern to us because we didn't go there to watch TV after all. We recommend this hotel as a great experience and which offers a refreshing change to to the normal chain hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Lots of history in this well kept old lady and plenty of antiques to ponder and remember. Rooms are comfortable if small, recalling this is a vintage hotel when those were considered huge. (She's old, and so creaks and cracks a bit at night.) Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good -- a nice collection of offerings. In room internet access problematic for me, but resolved through free access in the public areas. Great location in center city and next to the museum; block plus to information center and the bus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our boutique Hotel. Like you, we love the charm and character Princes Gate affords travellers seeking an experience that's "off the beaten track"as Hotels go.

Our Hotel is an iconic piece of Rotorua's history and as you've rightly pointed out, while some of our rooms may seems a wee bit more intimate than our peers, it's important to remember ours is a vintage Hotel. The creaks of our antique main Kauri staircase are very much part and parcel of the Hotel and add a fabulous flavour of authenticity.

We're very pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us and hope that you will visit with us again when you're next in our beautiful City of Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on a Saturday evening recently at this quite incredible old Hotel, and a couple of days later we returned there for a really lovely `High Tea` .. on both visits the food was excellent, and the service also very good indeed. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed visiting this lovely old Hotel in the very centre of Rotorua, and we found the attending staff both friendly and very efficient on both occasions. Full marks all round to the Princes Gate for making our recent visit to Rotorua so memorable .. next time we would hope to stay at your lovely establishment ! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Public Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Warmest thanks for your comments regarding your two visits to our Hotel. We're thrilled you found the atmosphere, food, and service of a high standard. Many guests especially choose Princes Gate Hotel because it embodies old world charm and enjoys a colourful history. It's modern amenities, uniquely designed rooms, and convenient location in the heart of Rotorua, within easy walking distance of some of the City's most renowned attractions also make it a popular choice with visitors.

We do hope you will stay with us when you're next in Rotorua.

Warmest regards,
PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince's Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $115 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prince's Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing