We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We went to Rotorua for a show at the convention centre which was directly across the road & our main reason for staying here. We found the place to be beautiful...old kauri staircases & high ceilings! Our kids liked it but I think it is more suited to older couples or maybe a group. We will be going back to see the dinner & show. The food was absolutely outstanding! melt in the mouth steak & as stated by our 14yr old...'the best calamari he has tasted in his life'!! The only thing we found was the beds were small. i am sure if you stipulated this then they would accommodate.

Room Tip: Stipulate bigger beds if needed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great comments.
We offer a beautiful Hotel with top guest facilities including our lovely restaurant, hot pools, wireless internet, bar etc. We are extremely accessible as well to many of Rotorua's attractions and amenities such as the Bath House Museum, Convention Centre, Events Centre, Polynesian Spa and Information Centre among others.
As you have stated we do offer a range of rooms with different size beds from our lead-in Classic Rooms with double beds, to our Estate, Designer or Suites that offer both Queen and King Beds up to our Premium Rooms that have Super Kings, so we have a range to suit everyone.
Also, while our main clientele are more mature, couples and groups, we are perfectly suited for the younger kids as well with our 2 Bedroom Suites ideal for families and our hot pools and Kids Menu in our restaurant are great for kids.
Again thank you for your wonderful comments and suggestions and we would love to host you again and have you attend one of our Show evenings.
Regards,
Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    216
    137
    64
    51
See reviews for
124
402
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kawakawa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Old wood Hotel with 12ft Kauri Stud ceiling rooms in the old section. Reasonably appointed, basic bathroom, very comfortable bed.
All in all very good value for money. I would stay there any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapperseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments, we would love to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. We have a whole range of beautiful rooms, from our more budget oriented Classic Rooms all the way up to our newly refurbished and upgraded Designer Rooms and Premium Suites. Our location is also great as we are centrally located to many of Rotoruas attractions, and facilities such as the central city, government gardens, Events Centre, Information Centre and Convention Centre among others.
We are extremely happy to have provided you with such a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Princes Gate Boutique Hotel perfect for a special occasion.
Service excellent, just right.
Marvelly Suite Awesome just blew us away,we didn't want to out it was that great !
Location & amenities ex. close to Govt.Gardens so plenty to see & do.
My fav. had to be the thermal heating and the hot pools all in house as was the great
Cabaret Dinner and Show night ,the food & presentation delicious all in all we had an awesome time in Rotorua @ this 110 yr. old beautiful Historical Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. It is a real pleasure to have guests such as yourselves for who we can provide a top quality experience in all aspects of our service and facilities.
Our Marvelly Suite is our exclusive One Bedroom Premium Suite and is beautifully designed and is ideal as a romantic room for wedding couples, honeymooners or just for a top of the range room.
Our cabaret show and dinner is a wonderful nights dining and entertainment and great value too, and we are glad you enjoyed the girls.
Once again thanks for your comments and we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed 2 nights, paid for a cheap 'classic' room got one. The room was small, smelly and the decor tired. The place seemed quiet - why put people in a room that you know is shabby?
The bathroom was not cleaned properly - other peoples hair when I got there - yuk.
Nor was it well cleaned on the day I stayed.
Other issues relating to basic standards I would expect from 5 star included no full length mirror, no coffee plunger, poor documentation to orient travellers ie. no map of facilities, instructions on room service.
I did detail these issues in a feedback card and left my email address, but received no follow up response either. So no 5 star experience or 5 star service follow up - odd. I certainly expected better.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished 'classic' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank surprised02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Dear TripAdvisor guest. Firstly I must apologise for not personally writing to you in response to your initial Guest Comment Card given to us. Our policy is to write to anyone who leaves an address on these, whether good or bad. We obviously fell down in this instance so apologies again. On to the actual complaints, once again without a name it is give a specific reply. I can advise that all our Classic Rooms, 10 in total, have been completely refurbished including new bathrooms completed on May 20th. Once again Thank-you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated however if only the individuals could bring the problems to the attention of our team while staying, then the problem could be rectified immediately as opposed to trial by social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

I recently won a wonderful prize package which included a 2 night stay at The Princes Gate Hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were wonderful. We stayed on the ground floor in the Johnson Suite, which was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The service from all the staff was second to none. It is centrally located with the Government Gardens and the Polynesian Pools just a short walk away. All the staff were extremely helpful, courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them, very friendly and attentive, and always with a smile on their face. Our dining experience was first class, the food was to "die for" and the desserts divine! I would personally like to thank all the staff and the owner Brett Marvelly for the wonderful stay that my husband and I enjoyed and would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a quality stay in a wonderful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel had charm but not our room!
We were really dissapointed with our night away. We were going to give my parents the accomadation expecting it to be lovely but were very thankful we did not!
The rooms decor was very ugly, bathroom wes very average, the bed was so uncomfortable and the room very small. The room was extremely hot, maybe it was to do with the geo thermal activity? There was no air conditioning or even a fan in the room.
i wish we had not wasted our money and had just stayed somewhere else, you need more than just charm!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenkiwipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
I refer,

It is unfortunate that the writer does not give their name as without this we cannot comment on the room type or rate paid. Did they advise reception, for instance, that they were unhappy? Did they advise reception, for instance, that the room was hot and could we turn the heating off? We are sorry that the guest did not enjoy their stay but when the guest has not given you the opportunity to make their stay happy, it is difficult being tried through the social media pages.

Sincerely

Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked online to stay in one of the Designer Rooms (supposed to be top of the range) and were very disappointed and ended up leaving. We didn't even stay the night and left after about 1 hour.

The temperature in the room was extremely hot, no phone line (internal or external), no air con.

When we enquired about the temperature we were told to open up the door to the shared balcony as it would be cooling down soon. We wanted privacy and were told not to worry about it as no one other than guests from the last 2 rooms would go past! A fan was brought up but not good enough I'm afraid.

After paying nearly $300 to stay here we were expecting a lot more than what we got.

I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here under the pretence of it being 5 star because you definitely won't get 5 star service.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank footiesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. The actual sequence of events is completely different to what you have written however. Please find the following.

Your partner and yourself checked into the Hotel and had been in your room for a couple of hours when you rang down to reception. You advised that it was hot in your room and could you have a fan. You were advised that we would bring one up immediately however, for immediate relief from the heat you could open the French doors in your room which open out onto the balcony. A few minutes later, you stormed down to reception stating that I had been rude to you at which stage, I apologised and assured you by mentioning the French doors I was showing my concern for your immediate comfort and was in no way being rude to you. The receptionist who was present when you called down to reception also assured you that I had not been rude. It was then, I said, let’s not argue, let’s fix the problem. At this, you stormed back to your room.

Our Manager followed you up with the fan, turned off the heater that was going in the room and explained that your balcony was not a thoroughfare and there was only one other room that could walk by. It was at this stage you asked whether we could refund your prepaid internet booking and we advised that we certainly would not be charging if you decided to leave. You then rang the internet provider who clarified the situation with you at which stage, you left.

In regard to your sweeping statement of us not being 5 Star, I trust the reader can understand our frustration when someone can make this statement when they went no further than this room. I write, knowing we could not have handled the situation any better but also under the realisation that you cannot please everyone.

Sincerely,

Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing