We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never ever ever stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would never ever ever stay here again”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The beds sketched me out, as did the cleanliness of the rooms. The walls and floors seemed like they were dirty. Found a large cockroach-like beetle in the main bedroom. No heat! The radiator DID NOT WORK! Too far outside of town to be able to walk anywhere in a quick amount of time. Could be worse, BUT IF I COULD I WOULD CHOOSE SOMEWHERE ELSE. Renovate your rooms so that it doesn't feel dirty!

Room Tip: They all look the same and they all are subpar, but if you HAVE to stay here, make sure you get a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattybest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I do hope you were aware that the Te Puia Thermal Reserve is just a 2 minute walk away, and the Rotorua Golf Course is less than a minute, and there is a beautiful Rose Garden directly across the road one block back.

The Thermal heating does not provide instant heat, you do need to give them 5 minutes to heat up, but we will certainly get this checked.

We have requested our maintenance person to check the room you were in and to paint touch any marks on the walls.

We thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    63
    51
    51
    160
See reviews for
176
78
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night to prove a point when my partner tried to convince me there's basically no difference between 4-5 star and cheap. Not sure I convinced either of us: the owner was friendly and provided maps etc, room was very basic but clean and warm, bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket, there was plenty of parking and while its not in the centre of town, its amongst many other hotels. There is a heated pool and ancient putt putt course which suggests this hotel once enjoyed better days.

$73 included something called a 'light Continental breakfast for two' which means abundant cornflakes, weetbix, muesli, tinned and dried fruits with toast and toppings. Coffee was undrinkable but not sure if the hotel can be blamed for that - made an honest attempt but couldn't find a good coffee in the entire city.

As everyone else has said, it's old and tired but very great value if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SplashyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

I am disappointed that you could not find a great coffee in Rotorua, we will have to try and source the best coffee in Rotorua, and let guests know.

We do appreciate your comments, but we are continually upgrading the property, and do look forward to seeing you on a return visit.

Kind Regards
Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Under new management, John Chetty was friendly & accommodating. Renovations saw the gym unavailable, but the outdoor pool was wonderful! As always our welcoming receptionist was lovely, really genuine & helpful; as busy as she got, professional & accommodating. Thankyou, it made an otherwise stressful leadup to a Under 14 league game at Puketewhero Park an enjoyable, relaxing experience. Look forward to convincing the rest of the team to stay before the next game. Spacious rooms, awesome kitchen, clean linen & lovely showers. We'll be back :)

Room Tip: Add your preferences when you book. Management & staff go out of their way to accommodate you if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaukurafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Fantastic to hear you had a relaxing stay, and we look forward to seeing the whole team stay with us next time.

Great to hear that John Chetty, our Manager, look after you. He does go the extra mile for our guests, and I think that has become his catch phrase.

John does keep the pool sparkling clean, and at this time of year, our 30 degree outdoor pool is a fun place to be

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The great service here has made all the difference to this hotel - John Chetty is a wonderful, accommodating and welcoming host. The rooms are spacious and warm, the Wi-Fi really good and the heated pool tops it all off for a great all-round stay. Well done John, you have gained very satisfied customers who will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our Hotel Team, headed by John Chetty, are dedicated to providing good service, and this feedback gives them great motivation.

Thank you

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

we stayed for 3 nights and the staff were very friendly. WiFi was good. It has car parking if your renting a car. Its a 15 minute walk from lake and city center. The only negative thing is the stink. Its not the hotel, its the place Rotorua itself that stinks due to the geothermal activity(main attraction in rotorua) and since this hotel is closer to the geothermal sites the smell of sulphur and hydrogen sulfide is stronger.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subhapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the SilverOaks Resort Heritage.

We agree with your comment, we do offer a great location, with just a short walk to Te Puia home of the famous Pohutu Geyser, and a short walk ti the City Centre.

Rotorua does have a smell, but you diofind that after a couple of hours you do get used to it.

Have a safe trip, and we look forward to you staying with us again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The best value for money accommodation I've ever had and wonderful service. I was upgraded to a better room without asking simply because it was available. Superb private spa and huge outdoor heated pool - everything I wanted, in fact, at a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade (you might not even have to!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWDH299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are always happy to upgrade our guests, if we have the availability. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Rotorua

Kind Regards
Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I work in the Travel and Tourism industry, so great customer service is very important to me. We called John Chetty to organise a room when we were leaving Wellington, with a long drive ahead of us. I usually, (like most people) ring around to get the best deal. John was polite, courteous and matched a very good price I had seen on a booking website. His service was great and we booked with him immediately as we felt he earned our business. On arrival in Rotorua, we were shattered and John was friendly and knew we were tired, so he made a few arrangements to ensure we were well looked after. The room was clean, spacious and we even had our own private spa pool! Overall, we had a wonderful stay and John's service was absolutely outstanding. Not only will we be back, we will be recommending this place to anyone and everyone travelling to Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELC-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your Wondeful comments

Our Manager, John Chetty, highly appreciates your comments, after a long trip you do need to rest and relax, and it is great to hear that John looked after you to a high level.

We look forward to you staying with us again

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Property: SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing