We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid at all costs - shockingly bad with dishonest service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked online via wotif for 2 nights - 3 adults and 2 children. We arrived to find there was no room available but there was space in the sister hotel down the road - there wasn't. Next we were told there was accommodation available, manager gave us key and we went over to find a room looking like a pig sty. Back to manager who said he would get it cleaned immediately so if we went and got something to eat it would be ready on return. Went back to find another family in the room who'd been there for the last few days. By this time it was 9pm and with 2 under 5s needing bed we ended up sharing a 1 bed room in the sister hotel. It would be a bit like an episode of fawlty towers if it wasn't so bad. Manager said he would refund the second night. He lied and we are now persuing legal action through credit card company.

We weren't the only ones with problems either - another couple had been double booked, one family had sat it the dark for over an hour with no power to their room and one who they were trying to charge double.

Room Tip: Choose a different motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest during your recent visit to Rotorua.

I regret to learn that your stay was not as per your expectation, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvienance caused.

Please let me assure you that we are committed to providing the best accomodation and serrvice to our guests, and as Silveroaks team we will continously strive to deliver teh service excellence

We look forward to welcoming you to witness the comfort and enjoyment in our newely renovated rooms in near future

Kind regards

John Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went to Rotorua for a N Z Touch torn over Akld Ann weekend. We had stayed at the Silver Oaks for this torn for the last 3 years. This time around the we felt the resort is in dire straights of a full refurbishment and a complete tidy up. However all that aside we found the manager John Chetty to be an awesome host and looked after our team very well. Hopefully next year when we are coming down again to the torn that the have had a refurb and tidy up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedack

We are refurshing the Hotel at present, and we look forward to a future review if the property

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

The manager here is the most accommodating hotel manager I have ever met! He went beyond and above for everyone who came through the door and was still helping me after 10pm when the office was meant to close. Rooms a bit dated but big and comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Bridget Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments

We appreciate the feedback on our service and facilities

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Dilapidated room -- chairs broken, lumpy sofa, "gym" that serves as storage for the other broken appliances. I guess whoever owns this place just doesn't want to bother. Too bad though because it is in the quiet portion of Fenton street and a walk away from the golf course and some interesting park.

The lady at the reception we talked to was as in a worst shape than the hotel. She was just mouthing off and not caring about customer satisfaction. It like she is just waiting for the hotel to close down. The only positive side is the night manager -- he seems to be the only one who cares that people actually paid to stay in that dump and tried his best to make things work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lipoahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

The Hotel is in a great location and we do care

Since your feedback we have put a maintenance program to ensure all rooms are fullly maintained, we have replaced the couches with new couches and beds

PLUS we have refurbished the spa complex.

Thank you for your feedback, and we believe we have made some great improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I'm going to keep this short and bitter. First room we went into was the wrong size, we paid for a 2 bedroom, but given a 1 bed, so the hotel manager moved us to another room. 2nd room was filthy dirty, rundown and the furniture (Soda) was ripped, so I refused to stay in this room. So the manager moved us to a 3rd room. Although this room looked fairly clean, (Still rundown), when I opened the cupboard, the bowls still had soggy noodles in them and cereal. I went straight back to reception and told the manager enough was enough and my family and I would not be staying in this dirty hotel. I asked the manager to make sure no charges were charged to my credit card for this room, and he informed me NO charges would be charged. Yet when I checked my credit card statement, they have charged me for 1 nights stay and I'm now fighting to get that money back - the assistant manager states this is their policy? (Not a bad way to make money for a service you haven't provided)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I'm sorry to say, but all the "poor" reviews are true. We spent 3 nights there and we were so happy when we left. For a hotel that has the potential to be a top hotel, it is in a poor shape. The room was outdated and gave you that "sticky feel", with moss and algae growing in the jetted tub room...even on the inside of the roof. The area at the back of the jetted tub rooms is being used to dump rubbish...terrible! A handyman and a high pressure cleaner will work wonders to change the image. The pool and pool area is in urgent need of restoration, as well as the barbecue area. To complain will add no value as you can see from the reviews...there is always an answer. No thank you, but we could never return to this hotel or any hotel that belongs to this hotel chain again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We do thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Nothing positive to say about this run down, outdated and dirty motel that a bulldozer wouldn't fix!

Started with the lack of any greeting by the receptionist who should consider a career in the police, she was luke warm and very matter of fact!

The room was appalling and the spas are now not operating and disregarded, I'm sure we had fleas in our bed and the sheets were stained it was a nightmare! The owners should remove the travel advisor sticker from the front door, they just aren't worthy!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your valueable feedback

Since your review we have completely renovated the spa complex, and have moved to Linen Apparel so that all our sheets are hired linen, hence they are fresh and pressed

We would love to welcome you back to show the improvements

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#50 of 92 in Rotorua
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
467 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $110 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing