We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$143
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$166
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$126
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,062
$849
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$485
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
35
63
53
52
166
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
63
53
52
166
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 369 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Kitchen – the fridge leaked and this was evident by the rotting boards that the fridge was sitting on
Unit reeked/smelt of curry - yuk
The wine glasses had finger prints all over them, so we washed every dish and wiped down all the surfaces
The table in the dining room had food around the perimeter – disgusting
Lampshade over the dining room table – when was that dusted last
Cover on lounge suite/pull out bed stunk/felt really dirty
Bedding not that clean – doubt that the duvets had been laundered
Spare pillow I grabbed from wardrobe in twin room, discovered long black hairs on my sheets the next morning, my hair is short and brown !!
Ants everywhere in the kitchen
Our feet were black from walking on the kitchen floor – a steam mop over them would help !
All carpets are filthy/very stained – disgusting
The radiator in the twin room has had some fluids or something thrown at it/ spilt on it – has now gone black, I wiped part of it off with a tissue – disgusting
As for the bathroom, yuk black rings around the plug chain and tap, scraped some of it off with my fingernail
Toilet – cracked toilet bowl and when one closed the door – dust, filth and scraps of toilet paper gathered the corner – disgusting
Swimming pool, filthy
Spa not working
BBQ’s not cleaned
Borrowed a sink plug from another unit as one we had had a hole in it and filthy black

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback.

We do hope you enjoyed your tournament in Rotorua, as you are aware one of your party was due to check out on the Sunday but left for the tournament and did not return until 4.30pm and wanted to check out at that time and did not want to pay for the day room charge.

The team members were able to return and shower prior to their travels.

As a result of the Hotel requiring payment for the day charge, that does appear to have upset you, we certainly did not intend to upset you but we do hope you appreciate there is a charge for a late check out, particularly when it is 4.30pm.

We do appreciate your comments, and we will certainly have our housekeeping department follow up on all your comments to improve the service we provide.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and property.

We look forward to you staying with us again, when your tournament plays again in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location is ideal for Rotorua. The facilities could be ideal with a lot of renovation. Some work has been undertaken and our unit was in reasonable condition and spacious. However, some of the facilities in the unit needed to be replaces because the wear and tear was obvious. The swimming pool was fine, but it needed some repairs around the outside rim of the pool and there was no railing to help people with a walk problem to enter the pool. The children's play area needed a complete renewal. Although, the hotel info book told us that there was a restaurant and bar plus a spar on site, no there is not they were closed. I AM SURPRISED IT IS PART OF THE GOLDEN CHAIN hotels. No wonder the prices were deeply discounted as their rack rate is laughable considering the condition of the resort. Do the place up Silver Oaks and you will be able to compete with your neighbours

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank johnamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer your valuable feedback.

We are pleased that you recognised that we are in the process of making improvements to the property.

We appreciate your comments.

We do hope you look out for our announcements of completed refurbishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed there numerous times but not in the last 3 yrs! Outside looked ok! Then went entering the room smelt old. Wot was nice! Nothing, the pool was dirty and cold and in major need of a paint! Pool area looked unloved broken trellis broken pool tiles and pool furiture broken and not even placed nicely! Our rooms cobwebs everywhere, cigarette butts still in ashtray, weeds and mould and broken framing in spa pool area. Pull out beds that looked like hadn't been changed in yrs and smelt even the blanket had a square cutout hole, curtains fell off track, wine glasses really dirty, holes in wall that had just been tapped and repainted, tiles broken, vanity dirty and the put out couch had two major stains my kids wouldn't sit on them, the carpet looked even dirtier and had heaps of stains! I could keep on going! Didn't say anything as just wanted too get out if there! Conference centre and bar didn't even looked like it was opened again and had missing letters! Tennis court looked like no one had used in yrs!!! Totally disappointed for what we paid!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Hotel is very much loved.

I am surprised you felt the pool was not clean as we have maintained it to a sparkling blue, it has been extremely well used recently and we currently have the pool cleaned twice a week.

I do appreciate the pool furniture seems to unevenly placed, I do personally move the furniture back every morning, but guests do move it to suit their own needs.

The tennis courts are also well used, I do appreciate there are leaves on the court, but these are regularly swept up.

We do appreciate the pool fence needs to be updated and we are currently getting quotes to have this carried out, we will be making an announcement in the next few weeks to let guests know when it is completed.

We are currently moving to replace the pull out couches with divan beds.

As the walls are painted, we do of course touch up any repairs or damage to walls. We can not prevent damage to walls and as you can see we have repaired damage to a wall and repainted the wall.

We appreciate the housekeeping issues you ahve raised and we will be addressing those issues with our housekeeping department.

Once again thank you for your comments and feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was the firs motel we stayed in at the start of our road trip and so far the worst! Upon first inspection it looked OK and we thought it would be comfortable enough for a night. However we later discovered that the floor, including the carpet was sticky, the glasses etc had a funny smell to them and worst of all the bed, pillows and linen smelt as though they had not been aired in years. The young lady on reception was rather aloof. When we asked if we could only stay one night she asked if it was because she had opened the door to our room by mistake as she thought the unit was vacant - we pitied the people that she disturbed! The phone in the room did not work, when we checked out we had to pay cash as the machine did not work. All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

We do appreciate your feedback

We do apologise for our eftpos machine not working, whilst we were processing manual forms, some customers did prefer to settle the account in cash.

The machine is now operating perfectly.

We do use a lemon air freshner in the rooms, and the hired linen also has a lemon smell, so we are not quite certain as to what you are referring to.

We will certainly raise your comments with our housekeeping department to see what improvements we can make.

We do wish you a pleasant stay for the remainder of your trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I arranged this hotel for my daughters when they were visiting Rotorua for 3 nights. The room is of fair size, beds and amenities were fine. Pool is great with hot water spa. The decor is a bit old, might come through during the refurbishment. Free breakfast is alright @NZ standards. Very convenient with good car parking space. All staff at Front desk and Room service/maintenance were very courteous and helpful.

Unfortunately they had to return early due to an accident involving a member of our family and the Reception staff advised them to call Hotel Club and a refund was arranged immediately, which is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with views; they are awesome
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews